Over Time Thank You (OTTY)

14 622
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Hey there people. How have you been? Did you miss me? Of course not, I am nobody.

Anyway, I wasn’t able to post an update for the past few days because I've been busy with my current job. You know the company I am connected with is still surviving and even getting bigger despite the challenges. It is a small company with just a thousand employees.

In the past years working for the company, I was able to accomplish my daily task with a nine hours shift including breaks. But recently I just realized that I am still working even though my shift has ended. Those exceeding hours are not paid or even considered as overtime. Sometimes I have to do a work task even if I am on rest day so as not to have an overload task when I return.

Additional task additional knowledge

https://unsplash.com/photos/CPs2X8JYmS8

Recently, the department I am with right now has just been divided into three groups. We now have a resource group and I was transferred there. Meaning more tasks had been added. So now I am not just handling tasks for the PH site but for the two sites outside the country, more like working globally. I don’t think of it as a burden. I just consider it as an additional challenge and opportunity. Because I know that I can learn and accumulate knowledge and experience with this.

Yesterday another task was just added although it has not been endorsed to anyone from the team yet. However, my colleagues have set their mind that the task would be assigned to me. I was a bit surprised although I should not because I am already loaded with tasks that can’t even be accomplished within my shift. I am not complaining to my colleagues whose position is higher than mine. I just explain to her that even if I can do the task, I can no longer give time due to my current duties which include sites outside PH.

I remember when I had a conversation with the HR manager two years ago. She asks me of my duties in the department I am with. Then I told her that my task is like this when I signed the contract, and then they gave me another, after a couple of years they added another task. She didn’t expect that there would be several duties under my permission. She told me that I should only have one. But the tasks are already there and I have been doing it for several years until today.

So far I have received two memos in my entire life with the company. That’s normal, we all make mistakes but at least we try to be perfect.

Martyr or procrastinator?

https://unsplash.com/photos/WrvKaKkDzW4

Overtime thank you. Yes, most people with the department I am with are working OTTY. Not unless your task is urgent that really needs overtime then that it should be filed as overtime work. Anyway our bosses are used to that set up where they are working more than the allotted time. They are so hard working you can’t imagine. You may wonder if they still have time for themselves or family.

Working overtime is good if it’s compensated. Sometimes I wonder why some people have to work overtime without pay. Is it that they have a lot of tasks or just that they procrastinate?

In previous years, I could finish my 9 hour shift without extension. But this time I am exceeding 30 minutes to one hour just to finish a task. Take note that I am working from home and honestly I don’t waste time because if I do I’ll be screwed. But somehow I am trying not to work overtime-thankyou. It is only a matter of time management.

You know our life is not getting any younger and every year it just increases our age. Meaning our life is getting shorter to live. When you are older you will just realize that time is just like a split second.

So if you are lucky enough to stay with your current employer. Don’t stress yourself too much by working more hours after your shift. You will not inherit their wealth if they die. Giving a little favor to finish a task after your shift should only be done for gratification not a solution to any dysfunction.

Remember that you did not sign up for always working overtime-thankyou. If that is always the case, there must be something wrong. It’s either that you need to change your own process or there must be something wrong with the system that you are following.

Do you always OTTY too? Share your insight in the comment below.

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

Feel free to check my previous posts:

I Can Hear Your Thoughts

Thank You For Your Service

Another Not Perfect Perfectionism Post

Inks And Skin

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

To all those who support, Thank you!

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

Lead image source

Photo Credits:

Tim van der Kuip

ABDULLA M

10
$ 7.75
$ 7.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @marblely
$ 0.05 from @Judith1969
+ 3
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

OTTY

this part i think happened more because of the wfh setup for me. Though I do manage from time to time not to anymore unless there is an urgent thing to do and I need to wait for a counterpart with a different time zone to talk about some things.

You're right we're not their heirs anyway! haha and besides, we will be the only one paying for the time we've missed out taking care of our own health, and time we've missed out spending with other people in our lives.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly. I even do some task even on my rest days just to lessen the task when I get back to work. That was very generous of me. LOL!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OTTY has been part of my tasks ever since our department was changed into a shared service. I head the AP section of all affiliates (4 big companies and 12 smaller ones). 😁 I am not complaining though. I just kept in mind to thank God that I still have a job especially amidst the current situation we are in.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed, we should be thankful. Good thing we are working from home so it's okay to extend hours sometimes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ano po bang trabaho niyo Sir? Medyo curious lang po ako. Siguro po related sa blogging ang work niyo hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sa BPO dude.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup always.... at the beginning, it was for learning which I didn't mind but after many years of that, it was time to say sorry, no. Work is work and you are right, we will not inherit their wealth after all the work that we do. In fact, they can get rid of us at anytime they please.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, I know some people in my previous employer who's kind of wise, we called them "honda". You know employees who always punch out at exact time (on the dot). I sometimes do that. LOL!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have not heard of the term "honda" before but punching out on the dot sounds good! Do that more often! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course u're not a nobody. And there's always a time when we have to take a break. But does that mean your break time has reduced totally or is it just for a while.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it has been reduced totally and I hope it's only temporary.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I worked in a bpo company before and being a newbie there, I can't really finish everything within the shift while the rest can since they are already tenured. Haha! I guess that's my responsibility to finish so I worked OTTY.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess every newbie can't make it to finish on time for whatever task. There should be an exemption to this. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha yeah, I'm so dumb to include this here. Just sharing 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago