Thank You For Your Service

11 1471
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Few days ago, I posted the article Inks And Skin, where I talked about tattoos.

Upon reading the comments, a user with the name of Edystringz commented and shared about a movie relating to tattoos.

The title of the movie was “Nobody”. I commented back and said that I think it is a good movie so I’m going to search for it.

I love watching films so when I read her comment like she was suggesting it to me. I quickly searched for the trailer on YouTube. There will always be a trailer of a Hollywood movie on YT.

YouTube Screengrab

It gave me a result but I’m not sure if it is the movie she was referring to. The official trailer was posted by Universal Pictures eight months ago and I found out thru Wikipedia that it was released only this year last March 26, 2021.

After watching the three-minute trailer I found nothing that relates to any tattoo. So I scrolled down to the comments and it appeared that it was a good action movie. You know you can easily determine a good movie by just reading the comments on the trailer.

So even if I found nothing about a tattoo on the trailer I went to my favorite site to download it and watch. One thing that urges me to watch the film is that the producer was David Leitch who also produced the John Wick trilogy.

I downloaded the film four days ago and I only watched it last night. I almost forget about until @Cineholic posted about the part 2 of “The Suicide Squad” which I downloaded too along with “Nobody” film. Well thanks to him for the reminder.

It’s funny that right at the start of watching it, my mind was set to looking for a tattoo from the main character Hutch Mansell (Bob Odenkirk). Finally, after five minutes the tattoo revealed while Hutch was holding up his hands because burglars sneaked into their house.

Screengrab from the film showing Hutch's tattoo

So I sat back and continued watching to satisfy my curiosity of how good the movie was.

We know that tattoos are not just body drawings. They have meanings and by nature are symbolic.

Symbols have been part of human history. Archeologists and some treasure hunters have discovered artifacts with symbols engraved on it. Ancient civilization has been using symbols as their language. They even painted their body with symbols before they learned to put it on their skin permanently.

Symbols are sometimes magical or powerful.

For example, in Christianity they use a cross to symbolize faith in God thru Jesus Christ. Some catholic may use a cross to have it tattooed in their body. Devotees of Jesus Christ will even have paid reverence if they saw a cross anywhere because they also see salvation in that symbol.

Some Christian denominations have different interpretations about the cross and they even don’t do the signing of the cross before and after praying.

I was baptized in the Catholic church and all my life as a kid was centered on this religion. But as we grow older and wiser we tend to doubt some beliefs we are told to believe.

Anyway I hope I am not making this a debate because I don’t intend to. We have our own beliefs and that we should respect others' religious affiliation.

Going back to symbols which became part of body art, there is some sense of bravery and intimidation for whatever symbol we have used as a tattoo.

For example, in the movie Nobody, Hutch was trying to find the burglars who he believed had stolen his daughter’s bracelet. He identifies the tattoo of the burglar on his wrist and he looked for similar symbols in every tattoo shop.

clear Screengrab of Hutch's tattoo

In one of the shops he had searched he seemed to be in trouble but when an old man inside the shop identified the tattoo on his left hand, the old man stood and said, “Thank you for your service”. Then the old man leaves as if he doesn’t want to be part of something he will regret for the rest of his life.

It appears that the old man knew something about the symbol and it has something to do with military service. Not just a military service but some elite special forces you don’t want to mess with.

As time flies by, people have been associating their lives with symbols. Corporate businesses have been using logos as symbols to have a unique identity. Over time these symbols become powerful because they have established good reputation and integrity so people will trust them.

In the same manner when you see a car with the logo symbol of your local police department in your area, you feel safe and at the same time feel fear. Safe for security reasons and fear for human casualties or collateral damage.

Anyway this post is supposed to be part 2 of Inks And Skin post but I just decided to relate it with symbolism and it is pretty much a similar thing. Thanks to @Edystringz for movie recommendations. It was a very good movie. I enjoyed the action. I recommend you should watch it too.

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

Feel free to check my previous posts:

Another Not Perfect Perfectionism Post

Inks And Skin

Learning To Say No

Sign Up, Post, Interact, Deactivate

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

To all those who support, Thank you!

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

*All photos used are screengrab and for information purposes only.

7
$ 4.88
$ 4.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Meyzee
+ 2
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Hello po sir. ☺️ Ano po yung site na ginagamit nyo para mag download ng movies? Free lang po ba yun?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hello... Link sent to twitter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you po sir. ☺️ Tingnan ko po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my! I can't believe you related everything I have known to a single movie recommendation.

I am happy that you found the movie and you liked it. Do you know, you paid attention to all the details that I didn't? I was mostly concerned about the fact that the man was trying to live an honest life, and never paid attention to the tattoo meanings and all

I only remembered the tattoo because you wrote about it in that article of yours.....it was never my main focus when I watched that movie

But you took a step back, and watched the movie with the intention of finding a tattoo, and you found a lot more

You have highlighted the various essence of tattoo, and even moved into religion, brandings and labels.... Gosh... You are good with movie reviews.... I give it to you

Thanks for the mention, and for keeping to your words(looking the movie up)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for the wonderful remarks.

Actually i thought that the movie you were suggesting was kind of old movie and I was surprised that it was just released recently.

I really looked in movie recommendations because I know for sure that the movie is good to watch. 😉

You are welcome dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your article information is really an interesting one, I love to watch movies done by John wick

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Panoorin ko pa lang yan SS 2, kuya. Teka, parang gusto ko ulet patatoo. Temptations temptations...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Highly recommended movie.

A Nobody inspired tattoo I guess. That would be real tough.. 😁👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right that tattoos are symbolised certain things. I remember our lesson back then in history wherein people in certain tribes puts tattoo in their skin if they killed there enemies. The more tattoos in your skin means you're brave and you're in the highest rank and have killed lots of enemies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes in some primitive community I think the more a person have tattooed their killing that more they earn respect.

You know Maui from Moana movie? He earned his tattoos thru his great accomplishments.

$ 0.00
2 years ago