Another Not Perfect Perfectionism Post

18 40
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

After writing my article to google docs, I will do proof reading for two times. Then after pasting it to read.cash article editor, I will re-read it again one time before publishing.

Do I sound like I'm making it perfect? Do you do the same too? Are you a perfectionist?

This is what I normally do when creating my articles not only on this platform but in some other blog sites too.

I also do this habit in my job when sending emails or doing internal reports. I always double check for some errors to correct and things that I might have missed before submission.

I think almost all of us are doing this because we don’t want to commit mistakes or failure for any undertaking.

However, we failed to notice that by doing so we tend to be perfectionists.

Is being a perfectionist good or bad?

There are people who would want anything to always be perfect. I just don’t know if successful people are perfectionists.

There is always a mistake

https://unsplash.com/photos/u_3rD02dmkw

In my introduction it appears to me that I am showing perfectionism. For example, in writing articles for this platform, even if I have reviewed it several times before publishing there are still errors when I read it after publishing. The funny thing is the errors are visible when I try reading it on my smartphone. So whenever I have published a post using my laptop, I will read the post on my mobile device after a few minutes. This way I can easily identify grammatical errors or misspellings.

We have different styles of constructing English particularly for those people that English is a secondary language. I know my English is not good to some of you but at least I am trying my best to be comprehensive.

Who else here wanted to submit a work with a lot of errors? Of course we don’t want to do that because we don’t want to be embarrassed. Besides, it will only cause low quality content.

You is not me or either way

Sometimes when I want to teach someone something I tend to expect that they will comprehend easily. I want them to become like me or at least do as exactly as I say. But I think that is wrong because people don’t have the same capability as ours and sometimes we don’t know that they are smarter than us.

I also have the habit of correcting others in the past. But in my current job my task is about calling the attention of those who are violating the policy or do not follow the rules and guidelines. Thus more likely correcting other employees.

However, I don’t think that is about perfectionism. I think it is more of doing what appears to be right and according to some set of rules or our own set of standards.

In a sense I want all things in my life to be perfect but it is only my assumption. Nobody is perfect and even the most perfect person we seem to know still has flaws. But at least we should try to make everything almost perfect.

Failure and success are only two sides of one coin

https://unsplash.com/photos/UJLbMuWgq5E

There are good effects and bad effects of being a perfectionist. For example some perfectionists would hate themselves if they fail. They would even punish themselves even for a small mistake. That’s kind of bad for a person because he is harming himself. So the effect is not good in a sense.

We must also learn to determine between healthy and unhealthy perfectionists. If you hated yourself for some failure of perfecting something, then that will be more likely an unhealthy perfectionism. So we have to focus on learning from our failures. We have to remember that we cannot understand failure if we don’t know the meaning of success. So that’s making more of being a perfectionist without negative connotation.

In life all we want is to live with a purpose and that is to live with direction. We always wanted to live in a righteous way. No one wanted to live a life in anguish or live a life being bad forever. It is only a matter of wrong decisions or the choices we make and for once we want to correct it, it becomes like a series of unfortunate events.

In the event that we achieve success or like to make life free of struggles we think of it like we have done it almost perfectly.

It is okay to make mistakes but doing the same mistake over and over without learning from the previous one is kind of stupidity.

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

Feel free to check my previous posts:

Inks And Skin

Learning To Say No

Sign Up, Post, Interact, Deactivate

Related article:

I'm Not Perfect But I Keep Trying

Mistakes And Misery

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

To all those who support, Thank you!

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

*Lead image is mine. A macro shot of a water droplet. This has been posted in my other social media account. I have captured it before it fall off. Isn't it perfect?

Photo credits:

Daniela Holzer

Saikat Das

10
$ 5.45
$ 5.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Judith1969
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 3
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I do also have this habit po of re-reading my article or even essays in schools. Sometimes I reread the already published article when a notification popped up about it then I make some edits on it. I guess I am not a perfectionist, I am just paranoid about thinking someone might correct me if I did some mistake. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, don't be too concern of what others will think dear. People will always see mistakes in us even if we do good things almost perfectly. Thanks for the read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True po. I will take your advice and apply it in my future endeavors. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also included in this too. I always re read my article before I publish to be sure I didn't make any mistakes. But do you know even after reading all over again and hit the publish button, I still find myself editing some errors I spot again. This shows that we aren't perfect and we can only try our best to improve so we don't keep making same mistakes all over again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes exactly. It is good practice to always correct ourselves than other people would correct us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe most writers have this inescapable habit of yours. You are not alone! We aren't alone hahaha. Perhaps we can consider it a blessing and a curse.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think so and yes maybe it is, more important is our writings should communicate with the readers. Thanks for the read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I made a draft in word and copy paste all to read. And then I re-read, not to check on the grammar but to add a word or two more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I always do that too, you know just to add more meaning to what we wrote.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

As for me I do proofread once. Hehe! Kasi pag inulit ulit ko pa baka baguhin ko na talaga lahat. Diko alam bakit pero pag binasa ko ng pa ulit2 feel ko maraming mali. Hahaha! Kaya once lang para di sayang oras

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh.. iba ka rin, better maintain it that way. hehe...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being healthy perfectionist is good then 😜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

definitely!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all may time magdraft at magproof read. Diretso type talaga ako, kuya. Masyadong madaming churvaness pa pag idadraft at kung anu ano pa jan hehe. Unless cguro if its a technical subject. Pag personal lang naman, diretso type na sakin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe, wala e.. perfectionist LOL!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Type > Submit > Continuous proofread after hahahahahhaha !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

there is no problem with that, we are not into competition here or something anyway. (laughs)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree to that sir! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago