Learning To Say No

9 41
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

“Can I have more candy?” 

“No!”

“Can I play outside?”

“No!”

“Can I have a pet rabbit?”

“No!”

The questions above are just examples of kids being rejected by parents with their request. 

It appears that some parents can easily answer a big “NO” to their kids with no other supporting reasons.

What if the person who requested for something is your girlfriend, wife or your boss? Will you say “NO” if you don’t want to respond to the request?

What if a pauper asks you something, will you just say no? If a police officer asks you a request but it’s against your will would you say directly no?

Today I will be tackling the “No” answer based on my own experience with different people I met.

The yes and no answer is kind of hard to say depending on who is asking. But in the first three questions in my intro, it seems that parents can easily just say NO to their kids (including me) without any hesitation. You know we, as parents, have the nature of being authoritative when dealing with our kids requests. Perhaps of course every parent wants their kids to obey and follow house rules. 

Let’s forget about answering our kids first with the big NO

When was the last time you rejected a request from someone? Are you the person who just can’t say no to people?

Firstly, why do we have to say no to a request? 

For example, in my current job I am receiving requests daily. From replying to email, to tickets up to approval of change of workday schedules and leaves. As much as possible I don’t want to reject a request or disapprove something because I don't want to be in trouble with other employees.

I will share a story about an incident in the office where a supervisor was agitated with me because I rejected his request.

The accounting department endorsed a task to our department and it was handed to me from a resigning employee. The task was mainly responding to requests but in accordance with the company's policy. So I have to familiarize myself with the policy and be very careful in dealing with employees who are violating the rules.

One request was from a supervisor. It appears that his request has violated one company policy so I have to reject it even if he is a tenured supervisor. It was when I was just one year as a regular employee when it happened. 

The next day he went to our department and was looking for me. My colleagues told me about the reaction of the supervisor and that he had raised his voice. He is on night shift and I am on day shift so we are not seeing each other in the office premises.

The issue had escalated and reached the upper management of both departments. 

When the task was endorsed to me, I was instructed to stick with the policy and that I should stand my ground. 

The incident was investigated and found out that he was doing it for a long time. The previous employee handling the task was just approving the request even if it had violated the company’s policy.

https://unsplash.com/photos/0d3sN22lH0c

It appears that the previous employee was not doing his task properly or that maybe he was just avoiding trouble. He was afraid to say NO or reject a request for fear of losing a job or having an argument with another employee especially if the person is in a higher position.

So if you find it hard to deal with people's requests that your answer should be no, you have to learn how to say it or do it. If you are in the position of rejecting a request then you should be direct. 

You have to concentrate on the request, not the person. Nothing personal. You don’t have to be accountable for other people's feelings.

So the next time you have to respond to a request do not hesitate to say no if you have a valid reason to reject or disapprove.

People are hard to please and there are also dangers in trying to please.

If the person doesn't want the rejection but it was a rightful decision for you then it’s up to him at least you are sincere. 

We don’t want to create conflicts so to deal with people who don’t want to accept rejection we should just let go and move on.

When was the last time you rejected a persons request and said No? Share it in the comment.

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

Feel free to check my previous posts:

Sign Up, Post, Interact, Deactivate

Names And Labels Are Nothing But Interpretation

Falls Are Am

Transceiver Devices

Hard Habit To Break

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

To all those who support, Thank you!

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

Lead image source

Photo credits:

Charl Folscher

Obie Fernandez

7
$ 7.75
$ 7.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.10 from @Meyzee
+ 4
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Ahhh. When I turned down my brother in being their store supervisor. I did not actually say NO but my actions speak for itself and also my reasons. Happy New Year Kuya Lars. 😊

I noticed that a few of your articles have already been noticed by our dear friend. I still rarely pass that $15 mark. I really miss it.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Happy New!!

haha napansin mo din pala, inoobserbahan ko a rin hanggang ngayon, hinahanap an kiliti nya haha..

pansin ko lng mas nagugusthan nya mga post about business at mga post na medyo religious. pero not sure haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ko pa pinapansin kung anong magpapakilig sa kanya. Pero kung about business, may article ako about business ideas kaso di naman niya ako pinakilig. 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nowadays, I learned how to say No because I realized I am slowly losing myself by saying yes to others. 🤧 I'm too available for them all the time but they aren't when I need them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been saying yes all the time for a reason that I wanted to fit in and please others. But I realized I am not happy with what I am doing. That's when I learned how to say no. A friend inviting me for a beach or travel, a said no. Not because I do not want their company but I just do not feel on going out. One time they told me I am killjoy by not going out with them. I am not, I just do not feel like going to. I do not want to force myself doing things I do not feel like doing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you know our friends will just say like we are KJ. I guess it is all about respecting boundaries. If my friend would invite me but i don't feel like joining, I said it directly that I don't want to and a short reason why.

During my colleges days we are always having an outing, one of our friends will always say yes but he is always not around during the event. It's just the reverse of it. Better say no right away than saying yes and yet can't can't show sincerity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree. There's no wrong on saying no as long it will not do any harm to anybody. Just be sincere and be true. Maybe they will understand that as well in no time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So many people are afraid to say no even when the request is destroying their peace. They want to please other people but it is causing more harm to them than good. When we don't learn how to say no when we ought to, we will find ourselves blaming the action we took. We all have our choices and feelings, when we aren't comfortable to do the task or request given to us, then let's not ruin our happiness because of that.

I have always been in this shoe and when I just keep saying yes instead of no, I found out that it was killing me gradually and the earlier the better for me. I had to stop and consider my peace and happiness in it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The more we please people and say yes to them them more we say no to ourselves. Yes, in due time you will just realized that you have rejected so many things to yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago