Social Media and Peers

15 41
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Almost all of us here I guess have their social media accounts. Others may have more than one account, say for example Facebook, Twitter or Instagram.

How long have you been using one of these? How was your experience so far?

https://unsplash.com/photos/gPet7PdxI1Q

Honestly speaking I have created five Facebook dummy accounts. The first and original account was created 2009 and deactivated 2012. Then for some reason I created a new one for my personal account in 2012 and finally decided to leave Facebook completely only in December 2020. Yes, it’s been six months now that I no longer use it and have no more connections with my personal friends on Facebook or even my relatives. I just want to vanish myself on such toxic social media these days. I just get tired of my old schoolmates posting rants. Then another would post hatred to a friend we both know. The rest would post their grievances and some would brag of their wealth. What really annoys me was the post of my high school schoolmate who is now a priest. He would post his luxury car and dirt bike. I was kind of, what duff! Seriously, are those really necessary, as a priest?! 

I only have Instagram and Twitter but I rarely visit them.

Facebook Noob

Back in 2009 when I was just new to FB, I was kind of active during those days. My friends and I at work have found ways to browse the internet for free. Those are the days when Nokia phones were dominating but were dying. It was killed by android smartphones.

https://unsplash.com/photos/28S1UBUM7aQ

So what I did with FB was to post nonsense things as other users do. Then I tend to bully my FB friends but I only do that to my real close friends. You know if you have close friends with you it’s normal that you’ll be doing things like teasing and bullying each other. The “Poke” feature was kind of cute on FB at that time.

As years went by with Facebook, cyber bullying became trending.  So, I don’t normally post photos of myself because I don’t want to be bashed or bullied by my friends. I also stopped teasing my friends when they would upload photos of themselves or change their profile picture.

You know some people, even our friends, have the habit of criticizing others or dislike whenever they see something new to us. Often they would disagree whenever we tell them something good. Or tell promising things like business opportunities or sources of income.

Always on the loop

For example, in my previous work place, we have a coworker who tends to disagree with everything we tell him. He will insist on what he knows. Like when I say something, “Hey, check this out I have a new server for my free internet on my phone.” Then he will respond like, “Yeah, I already know that. I have read in some forums. It’s kind of slow but I have not tested it yet.

https://unsplash.com/photos/sibVwORYqs0

He was like everything that you know, he already knew it before you could share it with him. You know, like a person who doesn’t seem to want to leave behind the trend. He was always up to date. Sometimes we argue but we don’t fight.

There were also times when my friend would ask me about updates of a certain app, I would tell him to go ask our friend instead, for sure he always has an answer. He was always on the loop.

People like him was helpful sometimes. You know he was like a journalist that he knew even the love stories of famous local actors.

Sometimes it is not bad to disagree or to contradict. We just have to show it at the right moment and at the right place.

Going back on a Facebook post for example, even if the person is your close friend you can’t just make a comment on his post that would make him feel uneasy. Remember that most of our friends on social media don’t know each other and the worst was that we don’t even know some of our friends on FB. Particularly the teenage kids these days. They tend to compete with each other’s number of FB friends. Unless you are making your account secure then you will never have to worry about harsh comments or jokes on your post.

Giving and receiving criticism

https://unsplash.com/photos/2oUiUu5QAys

If we are in a certain group of people, it is also not good to just show our dislike to our friend.  We will just humiliate him in front of other people.

We may be playful sometimes but making fun of someone's photo is not a laughing matter. Let's have some respect. Even if you feel like having a dislike, don't show it in a harmful manner.

On the other hand if we are the ones receiving the negative feedback. We can just ignore them. Or show kindness in return.

I, for example, am very sensitive to criticism. I tend to easily raise my adrenaline if I receive destructive criticism. I am a short-tempered person. 

I know that some of my readers would tend to disagree with some of the things I said in my posts. I am not saying that you should always agree. We always have the right to express our own understanding to anything.

Whether we give or receive criticism, we should treat each other as what we ought to be. We should always be looking at our attitude and don’t let somebody choose it for us.

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

You may want to support me with my journey here at read.cash, I will highly appreciate it. 

I will also appreciate your generosity and donations please visit me at Cointr.ee 

When you do please leave a message so I can extend my gratitude.

●▬▬▬▬▬๑⇩⇩๑▬▬▬▬▬●

Feel free to check my previous posts:

The Path That Leads Me Through

I Know What You Did

Ode To A Smart Kid

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Special mention to my sponsors:

Cineholic JonicaBradley 

 Pantera  immaryandmerry 

Bloghound

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Lead image source

Photo Credits:

dole777

Timothy Eberly

Ayo Ogunseinde

JD Mason

10
$ 18.79
$ 18.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 4
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Only created 1 account for Facebook (2009) and Instagram (2016). Late bloomer on Instagram. Didn't do poking on Facebook. Hehe. Wala din ata nagpoke sa akin or deadma lang ako. Naalala ko si Mhean doon sa negative comment sa photo. Shinare niya sa article niya, Social media detox, ata na title.

I am not that active on Facebook anymore. I would just post photos on special occasions because our relatives would want to see what's happening to us all. Yesterday I posted photos during my mom's birthday celebration. And I just noticed that I did not reply to the people who commented on my post during my dad's birthday. But before I can relate with the number of likes and comments in a post. Hahaha. The more the merrier. I know all the people on my friends list. Though there are some that I cannot remember like the accounts of an acquaintance's business/shop.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

halos same year lang pala tayo nag start sa FB. pero did you know that ang twitter account ko now at active na ginagamit ko ay ginawa ko rin noong 2009 haha. tanda na natin sa social media world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala oo nga 12years na. From Friendster to Facebook real quick. Hahaha. Hindi ako nagTwitter. Muntikan na ako magregister nung mga March kasi yung may pa tip noon si noise.cash sa mga magTtweet about BCH. Gumawa pa nga ako nung link para sa BCH wallet. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it depends on how we use our social media account. While others use it for fun or just like you said, bully others, it can be useful in some other things too. For instance, I found out about noise cash through a post by a "social media friend" on FB. I also first learned about cryptocurrency many years back through posts on FB and Twitter. So it really depends on how we use these mediums.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes you are right, at first I find Facebook very useful but things change eventually until I find it very toxic lately. But as you have said it really depends on the user. Thanks for the read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's quite true though, becoming toxic. So I only spend a few minutes on them just checking on our family group chat and some other things important :)

You're welcome :) and thank you for the sponsorship, GBU more :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I use Facebook because I watch funny videos there. Hahah. But now I rarely visit it. Likewise with Twitter and Instagram. I only visit when I am really free. I think read.cash helped me reduce time om socmed and make the time.more productive.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I admit that when FB became a thing, I used it for games most of the time (Farmville, Mafia Wars, etc) and most of my friends are from those and then photo-sharing groups when DSLR was a trend. I easily tire of things so I just left my account as is. I don't even add any friend request anymore unless I have to. I do have IG and Twitter but I don't use them much. If someone in FB is toxic, I just unfollow him/her. I think facing the computer all day is a good thin because at the end of day, I don't want to look at any monitor/screen anymore.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Before anything, thanks for upvoting my article, and the sponsorship. Appreciate it very much!

Social media has, in the last several years, been used as a tool to sow hatred, fear, and dissent. And that's not utilizing these many platforms for good... and that is so very sad. FB in particular has become notorious, being used by trolls and bullies. I guess that's the appeal of noise.cash and I appreciate it very much.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Currently I only use Facebook to keep up with social events, so mostly news and groups. Critique doesn't feel to be an appropriate use for Facebook, whereas critique on read.cash on perhaps content would make more sense, since it fosters a discussion, rather than bullying on personality.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I made an account on Facebook in 2011 I think and have the same account till now. I used multiple social media platforms and concluded the the people who use Instagram and twitter is much more mature than the ones who use Facebook. There are much more keyboard warriors on Facebook in comparison to other.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Social medias have pros and cons so we should know what are the nettiquettes that can we follow. ☺️ Only then, crimes such as cyberbullying wouldn't exist.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They are the people who have a poor self-image themselves. Criticizing others to a level below where they perceive their level to be, provides them a temporary boost kinda. Overall, humans like them should just get their heads checked.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omsim! If human brain could be like CPUs, you know, kind of reformatting the hard drive. (laughs)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naman, kuya hehe. Kaso tao lang tayo, nakakaramdam din. Naks. Good evening, kuya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago