Dealing With Opportunities

6 38
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

I remember a high school teacher said to me once, “opportunity knocks only once.”

That was just one of the phrases that I kept reminding myself whenever an opportunity comes to me.  I have learned my lesson from it back in the past. A great opportunity once came to me but then I just let it pass.  I end up with disappointment and regrets.

https://unsplash.com/photos/U-axb2IWo-k

Sometimes even for a very small opportunity that comes to us, we ignore it because we think that it is not that important. But then when we saw that the opportunity we just neglected was grabbed by someone else and has a good outcome, we feel wasted.

Today I’m going to share with you a motivational story about opportunities. Sometimes this can happen in real life or even if you have already experienced this situation in the past.

Should you stay or should you go

There was an extreme storm that happened. Strong winds hit the houses and trees. Water level rises and floods are all over the city.

Houses have been washed away by floods because the water has reached the rooftop. Emergency rescuers could almost die saving people that have been trapped on top of the houses.

A man was stuck on a tall tree because his house was carried away by the flood. He kept on praying to God for his salvation.

A neighbor passed by him on an improvised float and asked the man to join him so they could go somewhere safe. But the man refuses and he says that God will save him.

https://unsplash.com/photos/FfRv5kuMmH8

After a while another neighbor came and offered the man to join him on the boat because the flood was getting worse and he might drown if he stayed at the tree for long. However, the man on the tree refuses again a chance for him to be rescued. He told his neighbor the same reason as the first one.

The man continued praying to God to save him.

After another hour, the rescuers came on a chopper. They throw rope to the man so he can grab it and be rescued. But then again, the man refused for the third time. He told the rescuers that God will save him. The rescuers insisted but the man was determined about his prayers.

https://unsplash.com/photos/R9_cs4T-j_E

The rescuers could do nothing but to leave because the strong wind was making the chopper wobble. The pilot was having a hard time controlling it and if they did not leave the chopper’s engine might fail.

The storm was persistent with strong wind and rain so the flood water continues to rise.

The man on the tree kept praying until he could no longer hold on. He let go of the tree and he was carried away by the strong current of the flood until he drowned and died.

https://unsplash.com/photos/yJr1rbbrAGw

 When the spirit of the man was entering heaven, he then asked God.

“Why did you not save me? I prayed and prayed for your help but you just let me drown.”

Then God replied,Son, I have sent someone to rescue you three times but you refused all of them.

As you can see in the story above, the man was given opportunity not only once but thrice. What does he expect that God would literally go down from above and extend His hands to lift him?

If only he grabbed the opportunity for the last time, he could be saved. He wasn’t thinking that God already answered his prayers from the first time someone offered him assistance.

Sometimes during hard times we might not see the things that give us hope. Our mind is focused on the current situation that we don’t see the answers are already in front of us.

Ten years ago I was offered a government position but I neglected it. The offer was given to my friend and now his current status in life is far from what I am now. Yes, I regretted it but I think I was not destined to be connected to some government service.

So the next time the opportunity came to me, I did not let it go. The result was good. However some opportunities could be deceiving.   That was when I was deceived by the networking scheme.

I tried to be a risk taker somehow and the result was lessons learned from past experiences.

Now I am one with thousands of read.cash users who are grabbing the opportunity with Bitcoin Cash and I can see the potential it will bring to the people.

Today Bitcoin Cash continues to go down since last week and some new BCH holders are a bit worried because their asset went down to almost a half.

BCH chart since May 17, 2021

I do not hold coins or trade for it because what I earned for this platform is really for financial assistance but somehow the bearish market also affects me. This means that earnings are lower while in a bear market.

However, that should not mean I will stop from writing.  We should understand that this is only temporary and just a normal up and down of the market chart.

As far as opportunity is concerned, we should always grab the opportunity that is freely given to us.

 Thanks for reading. Ciao!

You may want to support me with my journey here at read.cash, I will highly appreciate it. 

I will also appreciate your generosity please visit me at Cointr.ee When you do please leave a message so I can extend my gratitude.

●▬▬▬▬▬๑⇩⇩๑▬▬▬▬▬●

Feel free to check my previous posts:

Melodrama

No Excuses

Checkpoint

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Special mention to my sponsors:

@Cineholic @CryptoBabe @CryptoMax 

@scottcbusiness @FrieLincs @JonicaBradley 

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Lead image source

Photo Credits:

Dylan McLeod

Rish Agarwal

Jack B

Gabriel Lamza

13
$ 24.67
$ 24.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.10 from @Glez
+ 6
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Hi! Bjorn. This is what I can say, though, if the opportunity slips through your hand then its not for you.

I have tried to decline an opportunity but i dont regret declining one not because the outcome isnt good but because I always believe something is better than that.

So way before, I applied to a certain call center company and was up for job offer but the job offer is scheduled 12 midnight and my mom doesnt want me to go there coz its a wee hour already and crime is high on that time... But then I got hired to a different company which was one of the biggest cc company way back. The first company where i applied and was supposed to get a job offer is a small cc company which just started. When it rains it pours but theres always a rainbow after a rain :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hi Glez, Those were the times that I was so innocent about things (laughs)

When I applied to a BPO I have already set my mind to whatever circumstances despite high or low offer. I also conditioned myself to working during the night although it was really different and hard than working on day time.

However things will always change I was transferred to WF department from being a CSR and I was quite satisfied with that opportunity. Been 5 years now as an analyst.

Thanks for sharing your experiences... Keep safe always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pumower power ka din pala. POOOOWEEEER! Hahahaha. Nung binabasa ko naisip ko yung time na nag $1600 si BCH. Hindi pa ako nagconvert. May pambayad na sana ako ng bills ko. Inisip ko kasi baka tumaas pa tsaka bago magkatapusan pa naman bayarN ko. Ayan bukas magbabayad na ako pero di ko pa din nabubuo ang ipambabayad ko.

Bakit mo pala di pinansin yung inoffer sayo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

masyado pa ako inosente sa mga bagay bagay noon haha.. kaya ayun slip away.. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Back then, I was too naive to determine if an opportunity knocks onto my door. I neglected it all. If I just grab one of those back then maybe I was studying in a good school right now or even graduated already this year, but I was too dumb to realize what I have done. It was just then when I saw my classmates posting their achievements in college, that makes me realize how pathetic I had been. But past is past, let bygones be gone, I just shrugged it all off and make a better plan to pave the way towards success.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also a person who is hesitant to take on new opportunities with the fear of messing it up. But yeah, like you said, regret will always be there. This time, read.cash is one of the oportunities I don't regret grabbing, and I am as happy as ever. This is a good read. Good evening. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago