Melodrama

9 35
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

While almost everyone is busy creating articles about crypto and other blockchain related stories, let me share some of my own personal stories. I know some people can relate to this particular of my fellow Pinoys on this platform. 

https://unsplash.com/photos/u03noDEn2Dk

Yours truly was not born rich. I always mention it in my previous post because it is where I came from and I don’t regret it. 

My parents never owned land to build a house for us. We have been staying in a rented house and moving places after places when my parents could no longer pay the rent.

Sometimes my father would build a nipa hut on a vacant land but then we were forced to leave when the land owner found out that his lot was filled with illegal settlers.

Life back then was tough, the difficulties we have had did not escape my eyes even at a young age. Although it was visible I could not understand why. All I knew was that we are not rich.

https://unsplash.com/photos/7I1wrtRz5QQ

There were times that I woke up in the middle of the night then saw my mother silently crying. Then father was sitting looking outside the window in the stillness of the night. Then when I woke up in the morning there were paper bills torn into pieces. 

Then I realized that mother had a fight with father over finances again. It happens very often.

We were five kids, my father was self-employed and mother was a plain housewife. However, my mother was finding ways for an additional income.

Despite the difficulties in life, my parents had only one goal, to have all their children educated. So my parents send all of their kids to school, even though they would perspire blood for work they will do so just to give us a good future.

However no matter how hard my parents tried, fate didn't seem to side with them. Sometimes I think life would really test us even if we are already crawling to survive.

https://unsplash.com/photos/cV1kLJdQvAo

My eldest sibling dropped out of college when it was her last semester to graduate. She was supposed to be our saving grace. But things didn’t go as planned. Every child has its own destiny. 

When you have set your expectations to what was planned and then suddenly it fails you will end up with regrets and disappointments and even blame yourself.

Those times my mother was weeping and crying. She didn’t know what to do. She could have killed her daughter for a great humiliation and disappointment my sister did. 

I couldn’t help it, I was only 10. 

Where did my parents go wrong? I saw how they struggled for us, for my siblings but why? Why does it have to be this way?

https://unsplash.com/photos/jGEsapFCLgw

That was the hardest disappointment I have seen with my mother. Father is a silent person, I never saw him disappointed or felt angry with my sister. Perhaps he was just controlling his emotions and did not want to let us see him in despair. 

From then on, my mother lost her interest in sending us to school. It was like she was just betting. She will let us go to school but it’s up to us if we will continue or not. We already have an example, we saw how it went.

Nevertheless my parents did not give up. My father became a motorcycle mechanic from a tricycle driver. My mother was engaged in some selling business. They still manage to let us pursue our careers in college. 

https://unsplash.com/photos/c_rnPbSYVFM

I already have my own family now. You know when we become parents we will remember what our parents told us. We will realize that they were right. It was like repeating their story but with a different version.

Somehow I learned a lot about life from being born poor. I am not saying that rich kids don’t experience hardships and struggles in life. We all do no matter the status in life.

One of the lessons that has taught me from past experience in life was that we should not expect too much. Sometimes great expectations lead to frustrations. 

We also need to let loose sometimes, because when we get to hold on to something we really want and then suddenly fail we end up hurting our own feelings.

Anyway let me end this melodrama, I don’t intend to awaken your sleeping empathy. Somehow it makes me feel better writing stuff like this.  It’s kind of a great relief. 

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

You may want to support me with my journey here at read.cash, I will highly appreciate it. 

I will also appreciate your generosity please visit me at Cointr.ee When you do please leave a message so I can extend my gratitude.

●▬▬▬▬▬๑⇩⇩๑▬▬▬▬▬●

Feel free to check my previous posts:

No Excuses

Checkpoint

There Is Good In All Of Us

Your Stories Are Just Around The Corner

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Special mention to my sponsors:

@Cineholic @CryptoBabe @CryptoMax 

@scottcbusiness @FrieLincs @JonicaBradley 

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Lead image source

Photo Credits:

Larm Rmah

Kat J

Isabela Kronemberger

brut carniollus

Ann Danilina

7
$ 22.50
$ 22.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
$ 0.05 from @Jnavedan
+ 2
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Interesting article about your family experience. Yes, when finances are scarce, it is usually a reason for arguments between couples. Good parents also leave their children on the sidelines. In the end, things are resolved on the fly when operating from love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes and to note that Filipinos gives more priorities to their family although some, adopted western culture style of living, indeed it's love that binds us no matter what.

Thanks for visiting...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes and to note that Filipinos gives more priorities to their family although some, adopted western culture style of living, indeed it's love that binds us no matter what.

Thanks for visiting...

You're welcome! Have a great day and be happy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate with you sir. We also don't have land that we really owned until now. But our house was our owned but the land wasn't. We still need to pay my mother's cousin for it. Hoping that I'll be able to give my parents a good life in the future.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

everything's going to be alright soon. Don't give up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sir. I will continue til I reach all my goals here in read.cash ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hirap po talaga ng buhay no? Sipag, Tsaga at Dasal talaga: - )

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hanggat kayang tiisin ang hirap.... magiging maayos din ang lahat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama po

$ 0.00
2 years ago