The crying Rose

31 45
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Sometime in the year 2020.....

After about a 10 minutes wait that seemed like 3ominutes , I was able to secure an old tricycle that was going my way. There was already two passengers in it, a male and a female. The man had to briefly step down from the tricycle so that I could sit near to the woman at the other end, then he hopped in again. Due to religious inclinations in the northern part of the country, It was prohibited for a male to sit between two female passengers in a public transport, likewise a female. So I was at the middle of my two passengers.

A short while after the tricycle began to move, the man got to his destination and I was left with the other female passenger. I shifted to the farther end of the seat so that I could be comfortable, leaving a considerable space between us.

Few minutes later, I heard a sniffing sound from the other woman. Strangely enough, I hadn't looked at her since the beginning of the trip. Something on her face caught attention that I immediately turned to look at her again. That was when I saw the streams of tears .I observed her closely for a while and saw that she was a very beautiful woman . She was Light in complexion and about five years older than I am.

She was now aware that I was staring at her and in the resulting embarrassment, she brought out a handkerchief in a desperate effort to wipe her tears . But as soon as the hanky touched her face, she burst into an agonizing sob that caused her body to convulse painfully.

My throat immediately went dry and I turned to look at the other side of the road. Different thoughts kept racing through my mind and I felt a wetness on my forehead. " ... Perhaps it was a heartbreak.... Maybe she had just been told about the death of a friend or sibling...", I kept thinking about all the possible reasons for such sadness.

Moments later, I turned to look at her once more and saw that she had snapped out of it, but her eyes were still filled with alot of grief. Suddenly, I didn't care anymore about the kind of hole she had found herself ,I only wanted to hold her hands and tell her everything would be alright.

But words failed me. I continued to stare like a dummy , even though I was dying to say one or two soothing words to her. Each time I looked at her and tried to say something, it would seem as if my tongue was firmly tied to my lower lip anf my heart kept pounding against my ribs.

The harsh tone of the driver's voice abruptly brought me back to reality. He repeated once more that we have arrived at my destination. I muttered an apology and slowly got out of the tricycle. The driver took off immediately before I could have one last look at the crying lady. As I watched the tricycle disappear farther along the winding road, I instinctively knew that I would never set my eyes on the crying lady again.

After taking a shower, I settled down on my bed and began to review what has transpired earlier and I came to the inevitable conclusion that I had behaved stupidly. Reaching out and interacting with someone in such a depressive mood could be the kindest thing you could ever do. Words of encouragement and comfort could go a long way in improving the person's mood and lighten the burdened heart.

Countless times I have met alot of people in commercial transport and we had talked and laughed as if we had been friends for years. Sometimes I would even be the one to initiate a conversation. In some few cases, we might even get to talk or see each other again after exchanging numbers and that would be the beginning of a beautiful friendship.

Honestly I can't just understand what came over me on that day that I couldn't move closer, hold her and comfort her. It was totally unlike me. The face of the crying woman haunted me for days that Mom had to ask me wether everything was ok.

Since then, I made a promise to myself never to walk away or hesitate to talk whenever I see someone crying in public, wether on the roadside or in any other places. I wouldn't care about their gender niether would I care about the age. .

What about you, Have you ever seen some one crying in a public transport before?

Thanks fir reading. Thank you sponsors 🙏 🙏

Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty

20
$ 2.56
$ 1.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 20
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Comments

I would have done the same thing as you did in that situation. I see it as intrusive and I feel like I am bothering the person if I go to ask them what's wrong, at least that's what I will feel if I was the person crying and a stranger tries to ask what's wrong

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never encountered someone crying in public transport but I would probably have acted like that for I don't know how to act in most situations. I would be too embarrassed to ask and would rather give that person the space he/she needs because if it was for me, I'd rather be left alone. But then again, maybe I'd be able to approach and ask politely what's the matter.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hmmm, I really saw alot of wisdom in your reply. Maybe she might not even be comfortable if I had asked her what the matter was. I just thought now that if I were in such a situation, I d rather prefer to be left alone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have not seen someone but I remember it personally happened to me one day some memories reminded me an incident of my life on that day I was sitting in cafe with my friend and I was unable to control so I just burst in tears and she keep asking me what happened..? and when I told her everything her words just healed me, her words were soo soothing and motivational that I forgot my pain. Soo words have great power but I love that you are soo kindhearted, I'm also unable to speak in front of outsiders, stay blessed and happy that lady would be fine.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks summy. Crying out loud in public means that she was in a kind of deep pain. Above all, she would be alright

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sighs... Only God knows what would have been going on in the mind of that lady, you should have prolly followed your instincts... But either ways Bilqees, you have such a kind heart. I love you more for this, I can't even start up a conversation with a person, talk more of in a commercial bus. I'm just this shy and scared type. And also, I've never really seen a person crying in a bus, but I've cried in a bus before though. Lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol. It's just natural to feel someone else's pains especially when you are close to them. I wish I had ceased the opportunity to get to know her better. I have also cried in a bus too, long time ago when I lost my school fees 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hummm, i cannot blame you for what happened, you could probably find it hard to move closer to her because of the tragic situation that you met her. Sometimes, some situation will leave us with no words , and might even be confused on what to do, you don't have to blame yourself.

I don't know the kind of dilemma that the woman is be passing through that made her to cry inside a public trasport, this kind of thing need someone that will console her, i believe she will feel relieved.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sure. Above all, she would definitely be fine, but I just wished I got to know her better

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure, she will get over it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A different experience but one that makes you look and feel human in front of people, maybe you couldn't get closer but I'm sure that life and the universe at that moment realized your bi goodness:)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I suppose you were in shock at that moment. There are times that words will fail us. In public transport, if I am commuting alone, I am usually quiet and rarely speak unless spoken to. Don't think I have even seen anyone crying in a bus.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That was the second time i saw someone crying on a bus. The first time I was much younger and Mom and the other passengers were trying to console the woman

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all cry but surprisingly, I have never seen people who cry in public.. but if I see one, I would definitely ask if they need anything that I could do.. because I'm an empath like that

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sure. Crying in public simply means that the pain is unbearable and such a person needs a shoulder to lean on

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We write articles on that we are there for those types of people but when met in a condition like that, we act stupid. I had once and it was a woman, I was watching her for a minute. Then my friend came and I got busy in his chatting, and when I tried to look for her again I didn't found her. I was very sad that day almost like I have failed my purpose to help someone which most of the times I write in my post. I know I am a very shy guy. But seeing people crying automatically removes that side of mine. I hope in future I will never leave an opportunity like this. Be able to help or not but I will at least talk about it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true. And I'm quite sure that such a person would never forget your kindness

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've seen a lot of people crying in a public places, but I have never experience to comfort them. Though I can feel their sorrow and pain, it's just that I have no guts to talk to them. I'm just praying to God that whatever the reason for their cries, may God hug them and make them feel better and realize that everything will be fine soon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true dear. We could only pray for them since there's nothing much we could do

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, not yet for now. But I'm thinking of something like this happens in the future. I better speak up, maybe i become a person from whom her/his problem sort out.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true Bibi. Kind words don't cost much, but they could definitely go a long way in touching lives

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay, maybe you hesitated when you saw her tears or did not help words to calm her, in fact this happens to me sometimes and other times when I see someone crying, I wrap my arms around her and ask her why she is crying and try to calm her. I didn't have many friends on transportation, because I often put my headphones on so no one would talk to me lol.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I always have my headphones plugged in whenever I'm in a public transport. But on that fateful day, I didn't have any. That's the more reason why I had felt bad. I heard her cries but couldn't do anything to comfort her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't be hard on yourself, you're just very friendly, you don't know her reaction in the end, maybe she wouldn't like your intervention, don't think about it too much, you are nice all the time it's okay to miss one ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People we have met everywhere and eventually we have a short conversation to them, we don't know really if his or her life is okay or not. So, smiling at them could somehow lessen their burden in life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true. We could also encourage them to smile too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For her to be crying like that in the Taxi, it meant she was passing through something very hard which propelled tear from her eyes. I can't blame you for this, though you should have maybe said "hello madam, why the tears? Hope no problem?", but nonetheless, it's gone. Any other day when we encounter people in such weeping condition, we should try our best if there are ways we could comfort them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's what I should have done. God knows I wanted to, but can't just explain what held me back

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never seen anyone cry on public transport. But when I see someone crying and upset, I become like this, suddenly my mouth closes and I don't know what to say to save her from this state.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I understand the feeling Ellen. Even though you feel very sorry for the person, you wouldn't just know what to do about them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago