Anhedonia!

31 41
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Some couple of weeks ago, I came across a WhatsApp status posted by an old friend :

" For months now, I don't feel anything, I don't feel love or loved. I never get angry and hardly happy. Don't feel sympathy or guilt or remorse no matter the situation... Totally feel nothing, nothing at all"!

I thought she was just being flippant just like the youths in my parts of the world do on the internet, although she was not the kinda person that kids alot.

Maybe it's depression,I considered. But she insisted that she wasn't depressed. She claimed she was "fine but not OK". This was getting me more confused, but nonetheless I found it interesting since I was quite sure that she wasn't bluffing.

So, I asked her if anything terrible had happened to her in recent time that had led to the development of this odd frame of mind. Maybe an heartbreak, lose of a loved one or an addiction were responsible for this, I suspected.

But she again insisted they none of this had happened. She also mentioned that her financial conditions were favourable compared to what alot of Nigerians were passing through. So, I wondered what could be wrong...

This psychological revolution had really affected her relationship with her family and friends. Matters that she was expected to show serious concern are usually taken with indifference. She claimed they nothing surprises her anymore.

Of course there'd be a point in our lives when we don't get easily rattled or overwhelmed by others or external events. I think it's called "MATURITY".

But that's not exactly the case with this particular lady as her case was a little over the top. Her emotions were totally numb and she was insensitive to pleasure and grief, no matter how extreme these emotions might be.

I was now quite sure that the young lady had completely loss touch with reality and she needed a psychiatric evaluation. Out of curiosity, I asked a question on Google and the word "Anhedonia" appeared.

Now, anhedonia is a mental disorder where a sufferer don't feel pleasure at all. It could be lifelong or Suddenly developed at a particular time in life. Here, he or she completely loses interest in whatever things humans do in terms of passion, motivation, fun or happiness.

Think of the possibility of Cristiano Ronaldo suddenly losing the great passion for football, Think of Michael Jackson of blessed memory without that burning desire he had for music...... That's exactly what anhedonia looks like. In the absence of depression, you don't just care anymore!

One with this condition only engage in stuffs that others are doing just for doing sake without deriving any joy or satisfaction. Probably,the most remotest feeling one would have at the end of the day is that of restfulness after exhaustion.

Imagine someone starts finding a favorite pizza, burger or chicken as tasteless as paper as soon as it touches their tongue. You are no longer keen on seeing that blockbuster movie that majority of people are eagerly anticipating it's release. As a matter of fact, each time you see happy faces, you might be tempted to scream: "what the hell are they all happy about?!" You might still be able to appreciate lovely songs but they couldn't make the kind of glow they make in the soul of others, talk more of vibing or dancing to it.

You don't feel excited anymore when it's your birthday, even though you haven't been under stress or depression . When a loved one reveals a surprise gift to you, you'd look look at them as if they had gone nuts. Ofcourse you wouldn't want to make them feel bad, so you just can't help but force a smile when you are told about a great news. But sometimes, the smile wouldn't reach your eyes and people might see that you are not genuinely happy for them.

What's worse is when one is inflicted with such a condition from an early age. People around you might tag you envious, cold hearted, insensitive, enemy of progress..... even when it's quite obvious that you are harmless. Things could become quite ugly when you decide to come out of the closet and tell people about your condition.

" How can a normal human not have feelings at all... keep away from him.... he's probably a maniac...a sadist.... could be very dangerous, keep the women and kids away from him!!!"

Treatment for anhedonia are not very common and the cure is very rare. Processes involved in it's management includes stimulation of the brain by some feel-good chemicals or drugs like dopamine. Thus might not be a hundred percent safe as it could lead to drug dependency or even worsen the situation.

*******************************

Thanks for reading 🙏🙏

18
$ 2.67
$ 2.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
+ 16
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Comments

I've been trying to assess myself for a long time now if this is what I have. I kept thinking maybe because I'm tired all the time? Where did my former me go?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am very familiar with Anhedonia. I almost been in that stage due to depression. Almost.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so scary, loosing interest about everything is not a joke. It's somehow a feeling of loosing everything that you dreamed of before, and now that you have it all, it feels like your tired and not happy anymore. I hope that your friend can overcome this kind of situation. Maybe she needs someone who can talk and be there for her.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for taking your time to read ma'am. It's just as bad as you have read. She definitely is in need of a professional assistance

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anhedonia is not a disease in itself but rather a symptom, it may be depression or other mental illnesses. But in any case, it is a harsh matter and requires a long road of support, psychological and pharmacological treatment

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Such a terrible ailment I suppose. I think it's the height of depression when one completely becomes numb to emotions

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unfortunately, it is sad and painful, but it can be overcome, and there is a worse stage than it is the suicidal thoughts following loss of passion

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for this educative article for I learned new psychological disorder. Anhedonia will be experienced by people if they don't care their sorroundings because they more focus on themselves.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sure it's such a terrible disorder. Could totally alter one's way of life and living... One has to take care

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, I don't know if or not I have this disorder because I have lost interest in somethings as of late. Is there a remedy for it apart from drugs, cos I don't really like taking drugs?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think your situation is as bad as that. It could be slight depression and I'm quite sure you would pull through soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen o, I do hope so

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There was a time I had this same kind of feeling, I dont know if its same from what you just said, but the symptoms are same as mine, it got to a time, when people kept asking and pressuring on what's wrong especially from family, I just wish the world would just end, not because of anything, I wasn't just feeling anything, no passion, just a living body without a soul.. But with the help of family and good friends I was able to overcome... I'm glad I'm better today, even now, most things dont interest me, but not like that time.. I can't see a little child crying and look away now.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hmm... That's quite like it, thank God you later snapped away from such a state of mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Swears, I'm just grateful for the position I'm right now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope this friend of yours, gets better soon... Anhedonia seems to be a quite terrible mental disorder.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sure, I think it's worse than depression. One might not recover from it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It would be dangerous if Ronaldo decides and said he doesn’t love football anymore ohh. I’ve really learn from this. Your article is educative. Thanks for sharing such.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome.. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never heard of this mental disorder before until now. Hmm! I pity the person in this condition, because would a Human being be neither excited nor depressed! It's a serious matter oh, more so, you said "the cure is very rare". My question now is " Will she now live all her life managing it?". I wish the cure comes soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah. She'd have to live life like that.... things could pickup you know, since she wasn't born that way

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think for this kind of problem, it´s psychological and there should be a therapy for it or better still could be managed. See what I found online;

Does anhedonia ever go away? If you've noticed a waning interest in things that once brought you joy, contact a doctor or a mental health professional. The good news is, once you start treatment, you should be able to start feeling pleasure and happiness again. Typically, anhedonia dissipates once the underlying condition is managed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for this.. I guess if one could tackle the root cause, they'd be fine

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm, I've felt like this sometimes ago and I channeled my mind towards it. I stitched my mind to anything called feelings be it family or relationship. It made sense then because I absolutely adamant to disturbing calls and cries.

But the case of it lasting for a long, that's when I think the disease is in view

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hmm. Maybe yours could have been depression.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually I feel, they should be a reason for such sudden behavior since it developed at a certain stage in her life. For one to say that nothing surprises her might mean that she has gone through a lot and doesn't feel anything any longer. Maybe experiences and travails of life might have caused the anhedonia, one that she may decide not to share.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes it just happens without anything that must have happened in the past.. you couldn't get them to feel happy or angry at you no matter how much you try

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear Bilqees, I have never heard of this mental illness you mentioned. So now the reason for some cold and insensitive behaviors of some people can be attributed to this disease. They may have the disease, but they and those around them do not know.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true I guess. But so long as that person is harmless, we shouldn't look at them with a jaundiced eye.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I might have this.. I just do not cry easily.. it's been 12 years since I have married and my husband would have seen me maybe twice or something crying.. I did not even cry when my father passed away.. I just stood there like a rock even though I was at the pits of sorrow.. I have lot of anxiety and paraoia but do not actually show it on my face.. I do not want people to pursue me as weak

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol. I completely understand your personality and believe me that could be a good reason why people respect and are attracted to you. Personally I admire people that are real( never hide how they feel about others or things) and don't pretend just to seek the validation of others. You could trust such a person with your life, ... I rather go for "honest arrogance than hypocritical humility" anyday anytime. I prefer being stabbed at the front than at the back.

$ 0.00
2 years ago