Annoyingly Distracted

15 36
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago
Topics: Prompt, Distractions

I got to admit it. I'm saved by a prompt again.

I searched for the latest prompt at Promptly Jonica Community wherein Miss @JonicaBradley published a topic for prompts every week and saw that the latest prompt is all about "Distractions". I'm the type of girl who can hardly focus on one task. That is why when I work with one thing, I don't want any distractions until I finished it, or else I wouldn't finish it at all.

Like when I write an article, I should write it continuously until the end. I will write it in a quiet place with no people around. If someone distracts my focus on writing, I would surely forget all the ideas that I'm about to write. When I'm writing in the house, stuff like this frequently happens to me. It's pretty annoying, that's why I have to resort to writing challenges, random questions, and prompts instead when my ideas get messy and foggy.

Let me tell you what are my distractions here when I'm writing.


• The Annoying Housemate.

He's 60 years old but still healthy. Every time he sees me, he will call me out. Sometimes it is just for simple things, sometimes he will ask me questions that have an obvious answer, sometimes he will call me just to let me hear him mocking our other housemates, and sometimes he is just doing it on purpose or he just wants to call me to annoy me. I'm a kind of a multi-tasker. That's why even if I'm working on something else, I'm already thinking of what's next or what topic to write about later. Every time he distracts me, all the ideas that I'm composing on my mind have been wiped away. Since I got surprised by him every time, I can't remember it anymore. Then I have to think of another topic to write about, and that's the most annoying of all.


• The Inconsiderate Housemate.

They are the ones who don't think if it's already disturbing others. They will watch the TV with a high volume, at that point where you can't hear each other speaking already. Sometimes, they will play music and connect their phones to the speakers. Our house seems to blast every time they do that. I don't know if they also think about other people living in the house or just themselves. I'm sure that they headphones since we bought headphones together on the same day in just one order at an online shop. They still prefer to cause disturbance and distractions to others, though.

• Social Media

This is another distraction to me when I'm writing because when my favorite celebrities make a post and I got notified, I will open it immediately. It's kind of my habit already. I follow them on Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, and Line. This is one of the cause why my articles are sometimes delayed to be published.

• My Music Suddenly Stops

Before I could open my Notepad to write, I will put my headphones first and find good music to match my mood, so I will be prompted to write more. There are times that my music will suddenly stop when it reaches the end of the playlist or my phone is just lagging. I will then immediately exit my Notepad and play the music again. I set it on a shuffle play option sometimes, so when the next music comes in and I don't like it or it doesn't suit my mood, I will pause my writing and change the music first or search for another one.


Those are the things that are distracting me from writing. So how do I cope up with these things?

When it is inevitable to encounter those things, I will just put my headphones on every time and act like I don't hear him. Sometimes when they are watching loudly, I will just lower the volume and scold them but it's still the same the next day, though.

About my self-imposed distractions, for now, I seldom use those social media platforms. I just use those when I promote my articles or to connect with my family, then scroll down a little bit. When it comes to my music since it depends on my mood, I just let it be.


Heya! This is my entry for the weekly prompt that is themed "Distractions". If you are interested to participate in this prompt, please feel free to join. You can write as many as you want and there is no deadline. Just join Promptly Jonica Community, if you're not yet a member. Be sure that it is your original work because plagiarism isn't allowed. Then, please tag Miss Jonica, if you were going to publish it.


If you aren't a read.cash member yet but you have the passion to write, please feel free to join and earn BCH by clicking this link 🔗. If you love to make short posts like Twitter, then make some noise with me on Noise.cash.

You can also get in touch with me if you have further questions, here in these accounts below:

Twitter: Ayane-chan

Telegram: Ayane-chan

Instagram: Ayane-chan

All images are edited in Canva.

10
$ 3.24
$ 2.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @wakeuplincs
+ 5
Sponsors of Ayane-chan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago
Topics: Prompt, Distractions

Comments

kadalasan talaga eh social media...ako na palaging hook sa kpop at naka tambay sa twt at tiktok ay always guilty with these distractions😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tambay din ako sa Twitter kakabantay post ng mga VA. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lahat ata tayo mabilis madistract sa socmed lalo na kapag makakita ng interesting video or memes, hindi na talaga titigil kaka scroll HAHAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama. Hindi pa nga ako nakakagawa ng article ko sa kakanuod ng videos. Distraction talaga eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hirap noong music distraction, yung biglang adds lalabas sa spotify whahaha sana oll naka premium.. pero sinanay ko sarili ko sa distractions, I can't even consentrate kapag tahimik paligid 👁️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahahaha. Anong premium? Pagalingan lang yan maghanap ng shared links sa google para maka download ng digital copies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Social media rin talaga sakib at negative thoughts ko huhu🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahaha, ayan kasi follow pa more 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Facebook and other social medias distracts me so much ..to the point that I'll be hook up watching those funny videos in fb and also those ongoing anime.😅that's why I hide my fb and other socmed on my phone haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same, hahaha. I'm hiding its folder everytime I write.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My main distration is our noisy neighbours. HAHA I can't concentrate, and social media sometimes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, inconsiderate neighbors. Hahaha, same. We also have a neighbor who sings at a Karaoke in their home until midnight.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha so inconsiderate really. Sometimes I have this thought that maybe I should throw a stone on their roof so that they will realize

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Social media pinaka main distraction. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga eh. Hahaha. 🤣 Kaya ginawa ko, nilagay ko sila lahat sa isang folder tapos pagnagsulat ako hina-hide ko yung folder muna, pagkatapos saka ko na lang unhide.

$ 0.00
2 years ago