Truisms That Aren't True (Part Two)

33 73
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

About 4 months ago, specifically in January, I wrote about truisms that aren't true, you can read the article here. Today, I'd like to revisit the topic and write about certain things I believe are common truths in the society, but are they really? To reiterate the meaning of truisms according to Oxford English dictionary, TRUISMSΒ meanΒ statements that are clearly true and does not therefore add anything interesting or important to a discussion.

Let's get on with my truisms for today, shall we?

BLOOD IS THICKER THAN WATER

In terms of it's physical properties, this is absolutely right, and also in the biological sense because blood can coagulate. As a figure of speech, it means FAMILY ABOVE ALL. I am one who holds family above all. While I believe there are two types of family; the ones we don't choose (those related to us by blood) and the ones we choose (our friends). Sometimes, as a matter of fact, blood isn't thicker than water. You'd hear stories about family killing family and family betraying family. These family related to you by blood can sometimes do the worse things to you, much more than any stranger can. If you think I am wrong, I can point you to reading Kushyzee's When your own family turns their back on you and see if I am wrong.

I guess my point is that blood isn't always thicker than water, not for some at least.


A LEOPARD CANNOT CHANGE ITS SKIN

Have you considered what if the leopard had access to a dermatologist or a Vet Dermatologist, it could probably change its skin πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. Oh well, I reckon we all know this actually means people can't change their behaviour. Permit me to politely disagree. It is a common saying that change is constant, well it is a bit ironic to use that which can be called a truism to prove another truism isn't true. But we can all agree that people can change, good people can become bad people and bad people can be good. A armed robber can change is ways and become repentant. Humble people can become egoistic and egoistic people can become humble too. The point is that if the leopard really wants to, it can change its skin.


ELDERS ARE WISE AND SHOULD BE RESPECTED

I very much think this by no means holds no truth and whomever came up with this was trying to compel younger people to listen to the elderly. Truth is that we often romanticise about how elderly people are knowledgeable and filled with wisdom, but this is not entirely true. Harsh as it may sound, not everyone is wise and even those on the other side of the 'wisdom spectrum' get old too. Truth is that being older increases your chances of being more experienced as you may have gone through what someone younger is going through when you are that age, but that doesn't make the older person wiser or all-knowing, Not everyone learns from experience, and not everyone will also experience what others have experienced.

Perhaps this is a bit unclear, but let me elaborate a bit more. In my country, most tradition forbids you to be rude or for you to question the words of the elderly. While I subscribe to the socially acceptable behaviour, I also believe everyone deserves a certain level of respect for being human irrespective of their age. Until they do otherwise to prove they don't deserve the respect or do something that will further cement that respect and take it to a higher level.

This privilege deserved of everyone (old and young) seems to have become an entitlement for the elderly. The elderly can be disrespectful to you as they see fit but you are not to respond to them rudely irrespective of how they have been to you. Else there would be the talk about you lacking a proper upbringing.


CUSTOMERS ARE ALWAYS RIGHT

This is a common saying in my part of the world, most especially used by customers to aid their propaganda, whatever it may be. Many customers have taken advantage of the calm and gentle nature of sellers to be all form of rude. I remember when I had to engage some customers about the price of a commodity which goes for $1 as our retail price. I heard one of them say a Spar even sells for less than $1. With a straight face I said to him:

"That is Spar, we are not Spar. Spar buys directly from the company while we have to go through middlemen. Also, If you were to go to Spar right now to buy this commodity, if you factor in you cost of transportation, won't you spend more than the $1 we sell for?"

Everyone present stopped and starred at me as though the answer to my question was in their silence. Although, I could almost hear them processing how a young person like me would be so straightforward talking to an older man.

The man I had asked the question became silent as though it wasn't him I was talking to. I have had my fair share of encounter with customers, and if you aren't careful, there is a good chance they my just push you to react unreasonably because of the things they say thinking they are always right irrespective of what they say.


I am sure readers have had an experience relating to what I have mentioned above. Also, if you have a thing or two to say with respect to what I have talked about, feel free to share in the comment section.

Thank You For Reading πŸ–€πŸ–€

24
$ 2.24
$ 1.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 17
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

It's even the blood is thicker than water for me, with everything that is going on this days, I can't even consider anyone as family especially the extended family, infact I have no extended family, some friends are even much more better than some family

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That is true what you say, some friends stick closer than a brother.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Imagine somebody telling me that "customer is always right", and he's pricing my Goods of 1000 naira for 200 naira, i go change am for am oh. Customers are not always right in all cases, if not they will take the seller as mumu.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly what I am saying, if you no open eyes, them go use you clean ground.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Anybody wey tell me say blood is thicker than water, I go tell am say yoghurt is thicker πŸ˜‚ That "customer is always right" na rubbish abeg. The funny thing is that most of the time, the person that says that isn't the one dealing directly with the customers, oga go just dey inside office dey shout customer is right, make he come deal with the customer na

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ customers wey their head no correct at all

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think for me, the elders are wise should mean that they have seen and experienced so much more than we just learning to see things and we should go to them to seek advice, especially in the areas where they have passed through before, but if it is being wise as being intelligent or another way, I donΒ΄t think all of them are wise. Lol

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Chances are they haven't experienced what you need them to advise you on πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't even consider the elder are always wise to be a truism. Elders should be respected is something I can live with...

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Respect is reciprocal😏😏

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I still believe Leopards can't change their skin. Even if someone repents and change his ways once in a while that old habit will resurface. It's something i've seen in people a lot.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I guess l not everyone will change for better/worse. But there are those who do

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dear Aimure,you always come up with interesting articles.I really enjoy your articles while reading🌺

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks Adan, I appreciate your kind words.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That elder thing ehn, they try to walk over younger people. One 'Agbaya' like they say in my language kept insulting me on various occasions, one day I walked out on her and she called me rude, mtcheeww, i was proud of myself. Some of them deserve to be told 'shove it'

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ say na agbaya. TBH, sometimes just let them know that they are being disrespectful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, some do it because they think you can't do anything, shock themπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

E no dey hard me, I like to shock them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, I agree that elders should be respected not because they are wiser than the younger ones but for courtesy sake. And customers are not always Right. Thank God you posted that out, maybe some customers on this platform will read that

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ but na the customers wey no dey here really need to read am.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

"Elders are wise and should be respected" I am agree with elders should be respected. wise cab be younger or elder.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Elders should be respected when they have earned it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

"Blood is thicker than water," they say isn't true, most times the people who hurt you the most are your family they can do things which you won't believe at any second.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's very true what you say. Family can cause you the deepest wound.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

"Elders are wise and should be respected"

this belief is the biggest lie and bogus that have ever existed in the man kind.. all the 80s shit holes in India does not respect boundaries or young people whatsoever.. showing them respect back is so hard but we Indians still do it because it is forced upon on us and a "part of culture"... Thank you for pointing that out

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Can almost feel your emotion in your words. Respect they say is reciprocal and I should be earned too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Elders suggest to do as their thinking. But I am not agree that we should think as like present life style. we should love and respect. I know its hard but remind it one day we will be elder. If we don't respect one day others don't do with us. We should teach about good one.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree that sometimes blood isn't thicker as water as Sometimes the people who caused your deep wound are no other than but your own family. However I also don't agree that costumer is always right. Sometimes they are literally abusive.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

For real, I have had to deal with them a lot for the past weeks, and they really are rude sometimes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, Aimure, this is quite good and all so true, I have nothing to add, hahahahahaha! Seriously though, people can change, families can become fractured, and I think the bit about the elderly is so important to understand. Being older does not make one wiser and respect is not just something that should be handed up, i.e. paid to someone who is older or someone who is more powerful. I think the ability to show respect to everyone regardless of their status is a mark of character. I'd love for you to continue this series.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Thanks for your beautiful comment as ever. I will start compiling, and will publish another if I get enough. Thanks once again 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right when you say CUSTOMERS ARE ALWAYS RIGHT. Customers really take advantage of the calm.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I agree with that, they really do take advantage of it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago