Easier is Not Always Better

26 83
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago

Today I had a long nap, this is worthy of mention because it is unlike me to sleep during the day for that long. I suppose not sleeping well the past days has caught up with me, you can't cheat nature they say. Well, the idea for this article came up sometime last week or so when I made a comment on a post by @Lara888 Hate is Heavy, Let it Go !! I had made a comment saying:

"Isn't it easier to love someone, why'd I choose to hate them, giving myself unnecessary burden"

She replied my comment saying

"Love is not easier, but better! Hate has a heavy burden on our hearts and minds, of course love is better"

It made me think about writing this article. As a person, when given or faced with a task, I usually think of the easiest way and fastest way to complete the task. Most times, I usually find a way to achieve my goal, other times, my easier and faster way may cause complications I do not want to happen or that I should avoid, so I have no choice but to do it the hard way; which is sometimes is the best way.

I have mentioned in one of my previous articles about my uncle who never stops giving advice to people. The other day I was listening to him advise his younger brother and I thought in my head how well he would have fared if he pursued a career in counselling. LoL. Anyway, something he would always tell me is that life is a step-by-step journey and one should not be in a hurry so they do not misstep.

I couldn't agree more, I have always been a fan of orderliness and step by step processes. My uncle would always say that if one doesn't take life one step at a time because they are in too much of hurry to follow and trust the process, one would make mistakes they will end up regretting on the long run and that can also lead to a fall back to ground zero.

In my country, impatience and desire for fast money has led many youths to indulge in internet fraud also known as 'Yahoo Yahoo'. You see a lot of young people and even teenagers who want to get rich quick that they start indulging in internet fraud just to scam people of their hard-earned money. They have even named it 'hustle'. Hearing that is always strange to me because I was used to hearing hustle used for people who are hardworking and would do anything legal to make money, now it is a fancy term for fraud.

Nigerians on the platform would agree with me that these fraudsters are usually big spenders. I think the way they lavish money simply tells on how easy it was for them to get it. If you worked hard to earn money, however huge the money might be, you will never spend it carelessly. You often find them buying fancy cars and staying in hotels all day and clubs all night when the money is there. But when it has been blown away, they go back to their small apartments with many occupants which they commonly call HK (I have forgotten what it means).

An excerpts from the book The Beautyful Ones Are Not Yet Born goes:

β€œTeacher, my wife explained to me, step by step, that life was like a lot of roads: long roads, short roads, wide and narrow, steep and level, all sorts of roads. Next, she let me know that human beings were like so many people driving their cars on all these roads. This was the point at which she told me that those who wanted to get far had to learn to drive fast. And then she asked me what name I would give to people who were afraid to drive fast, or to drive at all. I had no name to give her, but she had not finished. Accidents would happen, she told me, but fear of accidents would never keep men from driving, and Joe Koomson had learned to drive.”

- Ayi kwei Armah

Joe Koomson in the excerpt above was a corrupt politician in the book. Now, imagine what the wife had said about him.

Even now, people still praise these fraudsters in my country, I guess they can be referred to as those who have metaphorically learned how to drive and navigate their way faster to the land of success.

CONCLUSION

I am not saying that one can't achieve success through easy means, I am merely saying that easy means aren't always the best means and that Mr. A had it easy doesn't mean Mr. B will have it easy too. We can only hope to be lucky and for favour too.

Thank You For Reading πŸ–€πŸ–€

17
$ 3.49
$ 2.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 14
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

What comes easy, goes easy... interesting your thoughts.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you ma'am. Glad you found it interesting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is no easy way to success indeed. What we earn by sweating our brow gives us greater joy and fulfillment than something we get by a chance of luck. One step at a time, you'll get there.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well said ma'am. I agree that success from one's labour tastes sweeter

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really like the way the comment inspired you to write this article! The easiest is not always the best, and the short paths may not be as fun as the long ones.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm glad you liked it. Safe to say you were my muse. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All those that we want is worth having if it takes time and we tend to feel and experience the process along our journey.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with you completely Jen

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Short cut is always the longest road.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha. - HappyBoy 2021

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's the same here. There are lots of scams going around online. They have very enticing promotions that one can't help but invest only to realize in the end it's a scam.

Sometimes I want to give up my real job and just blog since it is easier to blog but it's not practical. It's not better in terms of financial aspect.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Like you said, it is not practical. Also, you can blog and work at the same time, so, you need not quit your job.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really found that book interesting ? It had a very attractive name but I didn't find it a good read at all.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is a book you read and put in perspective. It was basically about corruption in Ghana at that time and how the wife was pressuring her decent husband to 'learn how to drive the road of life'. I really appreciated the metaphors and wittiness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You definitely have alot of patience fa. If I could remember correctly, I picked it from the library when i was in jss3. I read over twenty pages but I wasn't grasping any message, even it's bulkiness and use if English made me more frustrated. I quickly returned it for " the concubine" by kelechi amadi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I agree that the first pages weren't interesting, but I was determined to see where it goes because I had already read about the book on the cover.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I even now see many respected and successful Instagram pages promote nonsense and fraud many times, it just shows some people are only after money and flashy things and they will do anything to get them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Literally anything at all just to make a quick buck. It is sad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Though we feel going the easier way will work it out but most times, the easiest way is not always favoring because in the quest of doing it quickly and following the easy part, one might miss out on the steps involved and the experiences too and one might find himself in a dungeons

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The experience one gain from the process is important, I agree with you on that. It shapes us into better people, to appreciate how far we've come too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many a time, the seemingly hard route is better because only then can you learn lessons that will prepare you for the success you want to achieve.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree, you learn a lot in the process too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Success can't be achieved overnight..one must grind harder and persevere to attain it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right about that. Patience, hard work and perseverance is the way to go

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with this. We can't always rush things. Sometimes, we need to be patient and do them step by step to achieve a good result

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly Daria, rushing things can lead to mistakes

$ 0.00
2 years ago