A Baby And The Thoughts After

29 57
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

It is the start of a new month. I am not sure I was able to accurately track my April earnings, but what not. I have already put a mechanism in place for May. My only goal for the month is to publish an article every day in May as I haven't been able to successfully do that since I joined the platform. A lot of factors have deterred me, but I don't want any to do that this month.

I wasn't able to post an article yesterday because the power went pot just when I was supposed to charge my gadgets. Oh well, it simply meant I had to go to bed early. Unfortunately, I didn't have a good night sleep because of the heat and mosquitoes. It wasn't until 5am the power was back on and I had to sleep for two hours before getting up to prepare for church.

I am still sleepy as I am writing this, but I have decided to write it now that there is power supply so history doesn't repeat itself. Anyway, that is not the reason for this article. Yesterday, I held our neighbour's baby for about 5 minutes and for some reason, that was the best 5 mins I had yesterday. The baby is only about 3 months old, so there was this need to handle him with care so everyone's mind is at ease.

It has been years since I held a baby that young. In fact, I can't remember the last time I did. As I held him, my mind wandered into off into the future and the thought of fatherhood filled my mind. I imagined how it would be like the first time I would hold my baby in my arms. I wondered what my father must have had in his mind as he held me for the first time looking into my eyes. A blank eyes that could not begin to comprehend the world he is in now, knowing nothing but how to suck on the breast of my mother. What is it about breastfeeding? A child cries out of hunger and immediately stops crying when he has the areola between his infant gums. Is it magic?

I thought about how two microscopic cells- the biggest being the size of a fullstop- had come together and over time metamorphosed into a human; a complete human. Looking at the baby struggling to hold my pinky finger with his full hand, ten of his hands would fit in my one hand, his time will come. All he needs is nutrition and time. His tiny fragile body will be big and strong. Just give it time.

His innocence warmed my heart. Ignorance is indeed bliss. My aunt came in, saw me and jokingly if I have given birth, I laughed. As though she heard my thoughts, she immediately said in my dialect:

One doesn't wait for money before giving birth because if you do, you may never

While I get the point that delay is dangerous and waiting to be 'stable' before settling down is risky, that is a risk I am willing to take.

Of course being is relative as is almost every other thing. What I might consider as stability might be different from what you consider as stability. What I do know is that i am not willing to consider having a child without achieving my standard of stability.

I have seen how difficult it is raising a child and that comes with a lot of expenses among other things. Also, I cannot imagine a situation where I have a child but can't afford to provide for him/her. But what if? I asked.

What if in trying to achieve the so-called stability, time ran against me. Would I want to have a child in my late 40s or early 50s? I don't think I want to. Perhaps what she meant was that I didn't need to be a billionaire before I start thinking of having a child or marriage. Her angle was about the importance of time. Surely I can not write that off, as I honestly do not think I want to have a child after I am 40. So, I have less than two decades to find that stability, wish me luck. Hahaha.

To my dear readers, I would like to hear your view on the matter, kindly leave a comment below let me hear your opinion on the matter.

Thank You For Reading 🖤🖤

Thanks to @DanLawan for the sponsorship renewal, I appreciate your continuos support bro.

22
$ 3.00
$ 2.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @TheGuy
+ 16
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Shey you know say you don suppose get pikin now Sha? I no know why you still dey waste time 😂 Don't worry about expenses, readcash got you covered 😂

$ 0.02
1 year ago

LWKMD. Money wey never reach only me spend naim I wan born pikin join?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My friend, thanks for this, what you said just now made me remember that It's been a long time i held baby in my hands. Like 5-6 years ago . My uncle's wife gave birth to a baby boy recently, and i'm planning to visit them soon, i will use that opportunity to carry the new born baby.

Your aunty said the fact by saying you don't have to wait till much money arrives before giving birth. With the situation of the country, If we wait till money comes, we may not see the light of marriage. I have told myself, if i can become more stable than this, i'm gonna marry.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are right, that is why I said that stability varies from individual to individual. Some people are already stable in my opinion by would say they aren't to their standard and want more before they settle down

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have a phobia for carrying babies, 😂. But I love being with kids especially from two years and above because they can at least talk and relate with me

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Should we call it infantophobia😂😂

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Infantophabia is a Strong word.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Should we call it infantophobia😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

First secure yourself and then the future of your child especially in terms of finances. I'm not a parent myself but a friend said that when you become one, your survival instinct kicks in.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are right, first things first

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy new month dear...I guess we both have the same one article per day goal for this month, I hope we get it achieved this time. Fighting!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Don't worry, by the end of the month, we'll be jolly together

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I understand what you think, you just wanted to be physically and financially prepared before entering parenthood as being a parent is a big responsibility. However if you're still young don't worry about that much, just enjoy your time and focus on your goals. Maybe by the age of 30 your already financially stable, then you can be a father, a good father for your child and a good husband to your wife. Don't rush everything, manage your time properly, and for sure you'll gonna have that stability.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I very much appreciate you kind advice GG. Thank you so much for it, means a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Different thought of the future will start evading your mind when you held the baby and you will feel like having yours and carrying him or her like that, but everything has its own time and when it comes, things would fall in places. Though it is not until one has billions before having children but it is a matter of the right time God has proposed for us.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I agree with you Princess. It seems you have had the same experience too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Don't worry you are almost there

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha. This comment is pleasing and scary at the same time

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yesterday, I held a 7 month old baby and it really made me the happiest person. I am always scared holding babies cos I thought I don't know how to but my friend really let me held her child

$ 0.02
1 year ago

The feeling does sound familiar, that was how I felt too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha I wish you luck. I understand you are taking the cautious approach because what's the point in bringing a child to the world when one can't fully give that child the life he or she deserves. Don't worry, I know you will make a great father too... Chin up... You will be fine.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you so much for that, it really means a lot coming from you.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I'm glad. 🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's better to have atleast a source of livelyhood before birthing a child, children's upkeep is money on its own, it's best if one is a little bit bouyant before considering the thought of wanting to have kids. Happy new month my friend

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Income from source of livelihood varies from one source to another. In your opinion, how much would you say is good enough?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I knew I spelt it wrongly, thanks for the correction. For starters, even 200k is enough... The wife should also be up and doing.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Be like I no go get problem if I marry you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If you believe waiting till you have money before you have a child won't work out, why not have a child when you can afford the basic needs?

As far as you can afford their little needs, it should be fine. You don't have to have millions

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's what I talked about in my article. Financial stability is relative and varies from individual to individual.

$ 0.00
1 year ago