Getting my first shot of COVID-19 Vaccine

22 49
Avatar for Abhay
Written by
2 years ago
9-12-2021
Wednesday
12:00am
#69

Lead image source

After a long period of writing exams, I finally finished the last paper for the session yesterday. The exams could have been written and completed in a week, but they intentionally separated the papers.

Though it was helpful, to be honest. There was at least two days gap between two exams. Each time we had an exam, we had time to read and prepare for the next one.

I'll still be staying on campus for about two weeks. Just to rest and have fun. Will be attending my department's dinner party on the 14th, which is next week Tuesday. Also, my hostel's dinner party is on the 18th.

Getting vaccinated

So we were told that we won't be given accommodation next semester if we aren't vaccinated.

I've seen so many people getting vaccinated and complaining about the after reaction. A friend of mine got vaccinated about a month ago, he fell sick then. But he said it was after he took the second dose of the vaccine.

I didn't have it in mind to get vaccinated this year at all. But due to the rule placed by the University, I had to go get the vaccine.

Taking the vaccine is for everyone's benefit. It is to help us fight the deadly coronavirus. So there is no harm in taking it since it's to help everybody and to prevent the spread of the virus.

This morning I went to the University clinic (JAJA) to get my first dose of the COVID-19 vaccine. I ate before I went to avoid any breakdown after collecting the vaccine.

On getting to the health facility, I met over a hundred people sitting under the canopy and waiting for their turn to collect the vaccine. I wanted to turn back and go home to come back another day. But I saw someone I know there, he told me the process was fast that It won't be long before it get to my turn.

I wrote my name down in the order of the attendance list. I was the 135th person on the list.

Truly the process was fast, the health workers in charge were fast. They knew there was a crowd before them, so they had to rush things.

While the queue was still long, I was not afraid of getting injected with the vaccine. But after it was almost my turn, I began to fear. Especially after seeing so many people's reactions after taking the vaccine. Some were strong, they didn't feel any pain, all they did was just to rub the injected spot, and that's all. But some people's reactions will get you scared. With their facial reaction, you'll obviously know something is wrong with them.

Finally, It got to my turn. They called my name. I went out as a strong man that I am to get the vaccine. One part of me was still scared. And that was because of my vaccine experience as a child. You know the vaccine given to children on their arm. I remember running away from it because I have injection phobia. Back then I ran to hide, but I was later forced.

So I went out to collect the vaccine. I felt something touching my arm, within 2 seconds, it was gone. What? Is that all? Is this the vaccine people complain about?. I felt no pain at all. Even I couldn't locate the spot of the injection.

On my way back to the hostel, I started feeling some pain in my arm. I couldn't lift my left arm like I lift my right. It was then I realized what people say. My left arm was heavy.

Image source

Immediately I got to the hostel, I took the remaining food I cooked in the morning, ate it till I was filled. "Even if I would fall sick after taking the vaccine, at least I would have enough food in my body" that was my reason for eating much food.

So here I am, praying nothing happens to me after getting this vaccine. But so far, I'm healthy and feeling good.

Have you been vaccinated?

How do you feel after collecting the vaccine?

If you haven't taken the vaccine, I urge you to go get vaccinated. Getting the Vaccine doesn't mean one can not get infected with the virus, but it will make your immune system ready to fight it whenever it shows.

I'll be going for the second shot in two months time. That will be February next year.

Thanks for reading πŸ™β€οΈ

23
$ 5.13
$ 4.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Jelena
+ 15
Sponsors of Abhay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Abhay
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Congrats, you braved do it. I got vaccinated twice. I hope you re fine. And thank you very much for your support at my article. πŸ™πŸ™πŸ™πŸ™πŸ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't vaccinated and I hope unilag won't make it complusory for us. Next year. So right now, how are you feeling bro?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How fo you feel now after the first shot of the vaccine because I can remember that when I took it, I was indisposed for about two days

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also vaccinated. These days I have to receive 3rd dose. I hope that you feel fine and that you will be protected now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am always afriad of been vaccinated ,, but we and my mom will get vaccinated one day , anyway when you got vaccinated do you felt sleepy because these as become the rumour I had been hearing. Just rest well ,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is a life lesson, Untill you dont jump in the water you can not feel the depth.

You decided to take the anticovid shot and here you go in just 2 sec.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hopefully, you won't feel any side effect. Just rest well. How's your arm now? Hope the pain has subsided?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm still undecided on whether to take or not because I don't know how I'll react to it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fully vaccinated here!...and congrats to your first dose!..luckily there are no side effects manifested to ny body after each doses, and hope the same for you too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations..You are well armed now as your body defense system have been activated and reinforced. I dont know if I will ever be able to take the vaccine o. I fear needles more than covid sefπŸ˜₯

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would like to know the aftermath of the vaccination though. I haven't taken mine, but my roommate has. The guy couldn't go to class the following day, he slept throughoutπŸ˜‚. This is someone that doesn't joke with lectures

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well good to know this congratulations friend. One more to goo good luck. Rest well πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Did you try bulb on your hand to check if it will light up or did your phone magnet anything iron ?πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope that you will get the second dose soon and maybe not so soon like me. I got my first dose two months ago but haven't gone for the second dose yet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations My Friend, we are now a zombie, just kidding.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haa haahah I was already part of this zombie since May

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omo, I am not taking that vaccine until the government have come to my house to drag me to take it πŸ˜‚ my immune system is strong enough to combat the virus, I don't know why they are forcing people to take the vaccine

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣🀣 This is so funny, strong man like you afraid. I'm glad you took the vaccine but I don't think it is fair what your school is doing. Also, how's your arm now?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They finally succeeded. How do you feel on your arm now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a good thing you got vaccinated since it's required by the university, vaccination doesn't mean we would get the virus, I'll create time on my end to get vaccinated too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's great that you've been vaccinated, considering this new omicron variant. Even better you're done with your exams, hence you can rest a bit. Anyways, I hope you don't get any reaction

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats on getting your first dose of the vaccine while I got it last November 30 and will be getting my second dose this December 28. After a day, I got a little fever, body pains but after taking paracetamol, it was gone

$ 0.00
2 years ago