Replacement is the solution for now

30 43
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

I am supposed to write about the restaurant where we ate for lunch last Sunday but I think I have to put it off for now. Sometimes there are lots of topics to choose from but it's finding the motivation to write about them that is challenging. Also, it depends on the mood.

So no restaurant topic for now.

I have been mentioning late last year about how my laptop had issue either with the battery or the charger.

It all started when I plugged in another monitor to my laptop. There were times that my screen would just go blank and then the laptop would just shut down. I had to connect another monitor because I had a part time job back then that needs additional monitor so I can work on it more efficiently. That was a one-time job though that I did for a month or so. After that, I disconnected the additional monitor.

Since then, there are times that my laptop would die. First it was a few times a month, then a week, until it got worse later last month until now.

I learned to work through it all. I planned on buying a new one but something would always hold me back. I was at the point of taking a cab and go straight to the store to buy a new one. A lot of times that I was so close to doing so.

Until I had to shelf that thought. I can use my credit card and pay it through installment basis but again, I am thinking of the interest. In that particular store that I wanted to purchase a new one, they don't have 0% interest which is a bummer.

I don't want to incur any more interest so I wanted to save first until I have enough to buy a new one. It will just be a second option if I will use my card but I will be buying from a different store and not from the first store of my choice.

Just when pandemic hit and restrictions have been imposed, the hard disk of my laptop decided to give up after just a year of using it. The warranty of it already lapsed but I brought it to the store where I bought and they said that since it's pandemic, they are giving consideration for those and extending the warranty. Unfortunately, no hard disk was available that time. The solution was for me to buy an SSD and then bring my laptop back to the shop once they have available hard disk and they will replace it.

After two years, I still haven't brought my laptop to the shop to have my HD replaced. I don't need a lot of space anyway for I don't have nothing to save so my SSD is fine.

The guy who worked in that shop who fixed my laptop happen to live in my neighborhood, just a block away.

When he learned that we live in the same barangay, he gave me his contact number and said that if I need any help with computer services, I can contact him.

That was two years in the making. Thank goodness it was only now that I have to use his service.

I texted him earlier this morning and he replied right away. Good thing it is his day off. We met and I gave him my laptop for him to repair. When he saw my laptop, he said he had the same kind of unit and had the same issue before. I told him my issues with it. He checked my laptop and indeed, the battery was defected and it needed to be replaced. He contacted the shop where he purchases his parts and they happened to work in the same company before. The parts guy decided to open his own repair shop and the store where I bought my laptop refers their clients to him.

It took about an hour for my laptop to be fixed. I also had the touchpad repaired for it stopped working. I use an external mouse that's why I don't use the touchpad. I accidently noticed that it was not working anymore.

The fault is on me for not taking care of my laptop properly. Sometimes I don't notice the battery especially when I am busy with work. From now on, I will try to make a conscious effort in checking the status bar of my battery. Just like with mobile phones, charge when it is around 20% and take it of around 96-97%. That's the general rule to make the battery last longer.

So for now, I will continue to use this laptop. I have planned on giving this to my nephew so he can have something to use for online class. I guess that will have to wait.

13
$ 4.75
$ 4.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 11
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

Tumataas na po ang BCH! Hopefully you can accumulate more soon so you can buy a new one :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe wala na ipon :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyy bili na! Haha! Ako nag home credit eh, malapit na ako matapos..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mukhang kaya pa naman ng laptop kaya wag muna bili hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe naka ilang beses kanang nag hold back na bibili ng bagong laptop Kuya Lee hihi. And yes to that charging limit, dapat kapag around 15-20 % nalang dapat ng icharge talaga pero dapat hanggang 97 lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kelangan talaga mag pigil e. Dami gastusin hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad your laptop was fixed. I was also tempted to buy a new one because my laptop sometimes lags but maybe not, lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Better sell it and buy a new one hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A tempting idea haha. But my lappy is doing well. It's just cluttered, lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aa basta gumangana pay ayos ladta hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wen, reliable py met hehe. Pinmaspas after nalinisan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mayat a garud hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I apply these charge percentages to the phone, but not to the pc, because I spend a lot of time connected, it has happened to me that I am working and it runs out of charge, I do not realize that. I'm glad you were able to solve that situation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't know too that it has to be applied to laptops.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you want the battery to last much longer, it is also necessary to apply it to laptop PCs.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nalaman ko yun about sa charging sa kaklase ko na hindi ko malilimotan kaya ngayon ginagawa ko na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti naman. Nasabi siguro sa akin nun pero binalewala ko lang hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti nareplace agad po. Nabasa ko na din yan dati na general rule sa batteries pero hindi ko magawa minsan 😨haha naiempty batt ko or super full. Okay po, thanks for reminding.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga e. At least nakapag work agad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhhh, I just learned something from this kuya Lee. 20% is the charging percentage and 96%-97% apla dapat bunutin na. Waaaah thanks for thiiiiss kuyaaa. Pero, bili muna is me ng laptop hihihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe same sa phone. Ganun din dapat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Laptop ko din useless na 🤣.. Need tlga replacement 😥

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag di naman need, kahit wag na muna bili hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's my first time to know about 20% sir lee. Thank you for sharing this. Now I know now and I'm aware of this.

I'm glad that your Laptop is okay now sir lee. I'm sure your nephew will be happy on it because of his online class.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope now you will take care of it more. Happens dear. We learn from mistakes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just learnt new thing now. I usually charge my phone whenever I see opportunity to do so, not minding if it's below 20% or not

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't realise there was a rule for the battery to last longer. I simply use my laptop battery until it runs out completely, and charge it till it gets totally full.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I literally switched off my battery charger when I read this post lol.. because I always keep it in charge..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My laptop is almost 10 years old but still works flawlessly! But I'm using it with a battery-free charging cable all the time. When I had a problem and changed the first battery, although I used the new battery carefully, it became a problem after 1 year. Then I bought another one, the chamber was a problem and I am now using it without the battery. Subsequent purchases are not as durable as the first battery!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to do that with my first laptop, using it battery free.

$ 0.00
2 years ago