Numbers don't lie

19 41
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

I am a senior manager.

I am one of the senior managers who have been working in this company for a long time. I supervise some people and we hold a lot of projects. That's why I have to monitor every move, every concern. I have to oversee and micromanage and delegate tasks.

There are meetings that me and my assistants have to attend and I want things done right away right there and then. When I wanted records to be pulled up or reports to be generated, the assistant who is in charge of the project should be able to do those things.

Some would complain about my way of doing things so what do I do? I give more projects to them and drown them with more work.

I am a senior manager.

You dare report me to the higher ups? Well then. Since you want to prove yourself, then you should do more stuff. Let's see if you will still complain.

To get back to them, I would point out their mistakes. I would call them out in meetings with the clients. I would call them out during employees meeting with the business owners.

I am a senior manager.

Those tactics of mine work for me. I can relax more. All I have to do is give all tasks to my subordinates and find their weaknesses and hold those against them.

I'm getting ready for our monthly employee meeting.

So one of the managers generated report of our team's performance. This determines how much each individual have contributed to the team. I am confident that my numbers are high.

The manager facilitating the meeting sent the report to all of us.

What's this? 15%?! I'm at the bottom of the list? This can't be happening!

I don't know what to say. I tried to reason out that those should have gone up to 35% for I have worked out some reports this week.

The facilitator, however, said that this report was just for last month's performance.

I just kept silent until the meeting was over.

Oh, the shame!

My partner was one of the subordinates of that senior manager. That manager would sometimes embarrass her subordinates during meeting with clients. She would put the blame to the assistant even though that assistant had been doing all he/she can to reach out to that manager so he/she can prepare the things they need before the meeting.

She would say that an individual is not doing his/her work. When they would check the work of that person she was pertaining to, everyone can see that that person did all his/her tasks. Then the manager would say that she was mistaken her/him for somebody else. Even if they check that other assistant's work, he/she had done it all.

That monthly report was true. I just changed the numbers but she was indeed at the bottom of the list. It only goes to show that she didn't work the entire month.

This is a lesson to us all to do the tasks at hand. No matter what others say about you, no matter how they bad mouth you, don't let them rule your life. Let your work do the talking.

Take for example my partner. My partner was top 2 on the list while the manager was at the bottom.

Who was doing their job?

Always be humble and kind and let the numbers speak for you.

21
$ 10.17
$ 9.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
$ 0.10 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 13
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

Bagam ta syak kasao na haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha! Wen man :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is demonstrated who really works, in the private industry those numbers are real, in the governmental industry the numbers are always disguised, unfortunately the glories are taken by the sycophants. Those who really work are not even named.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. It's sad that this happens everywhere.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

aww..may ganyan talaga sir..di nila alam yung attitude nila is unreasonable

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely. Numbers don't lie and efforts won't be concealed and I hope everyone realize that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truth...And also, even when you think you are not being appreciated or commended for your had work, there might be somebody somewhere who is observing you all this while and would definitely give a positive report about you when you fall out with your superiors

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Daanin nalang po sa gawa hehe... I remember my friend na sobrang pinapahiya sa harap ng maraming tao pero sabi niya let them hanggang salita lang sila walang magawa sa buhay..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah huh. Numbers don't lie indeed. Just be true and sincere about anything that you do. Do your best and let your heart flow and everything will follow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, Let actions speaks louder than saying.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I agree with you sir. Whatever painful words you receive. Whatever happens, don't distract yourself because of them. You need to focus and let yourself be productive.

At the end of the day, the truth will reveal. The performance will always at the first.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Damn... That's a bold statement. Effective too. Be silent while your works make noise.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That senior manager of hers is so abusive. She wants to take credits sa mga pinaghirapan ng iba.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let your performance represent what you say

$ 0.00
2 years ago

indeed let us not be guided by the misguidance)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let us work in silence and let our success or numbers do the noise! I know how difficult it is to manage people sigh. I miss the stress at work :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True kuya kasi anong sabihin ng bibig sa performance ang final decision.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me .. no like managers.. me allergic to managers.. joke... maybe half meant.

But yep at the end of the day we have metrics to show if we did do our task or not. We all have our ways to accomplish but we have to make sure we hit the mark and we should not worry unless there really is some power-tripping, happening somewhere...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed.. Let the performance speak than the mouth..

$ 0.00
2 years ago