I can go for long walks but waiting drains me more

32 43
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

I have been sharing with you that I can go for long walks, however, waiting drains the energy out of me more.

Banks. Yup. I'm talking about banks.

Those institutions where you put your money into.

I don't know how it is in your country, but here in the Philippines, doing business with the bank can be a nightmare. Why? Because of the waiting time. A mere update on your account will take hours at most.

Last Saturday, I was out early for a morning walk because finally, the night before that, I was able to secure an appointment at DFA for passport renewal. I finally received an email indicating there a reference number. That number will be valid for 24 hours. It will be a reference number that you will use to pay in authorized payment centers to secure your appointment. That's why I took that opportunity to go out early for a walk and at the same time make payment for my appointment.

I stopped by one of the branches of my bank to withdraw money that I will use for the appointment and allowance as well. The machine I used has no receipt available which was fine. I did my withdrawal and all went well. As an after thought, I decided to make a balance inquiry. I re-inserted my card into the machine but then it said that the card cannot be read. That happens a lot and most of the time, machine ejects the card. That time, it did not. It just keeps flashing the message that the card cannot be read then it showed a message that the card was retained.

It was the first time that happened to me. I waited a few seconds but the card did not eject so I thought my card was captured.

Because the bank will not be open for a couple of hours, I then went ahead and paid for my appointment and then did my morning walk.

I went back to the bank and reported my card being captured. They did check not only the machine I used but all the machines and found nothing. They then advised me to apply for replacement to the branch where I availed that card. They can do it on that branch but I have to present two valid ID's. Unfortunately, my passport expired and I only have one available ID which is not enough. So the solution is to go to back to branch I opened my account for that card.

I did go today to the branch where I opened that account. The process took me half a day. All I did was fill up the Affidavit of Loss form and had it notarized by a lawyer across the street. I had to go back to our apartment for I forgot my ID and then went back to the bank. The clerk who processed that took no less than 10 minutes. So you see, it would have been just an hour or so at most and not take up the entire half day for that to be done.

At the end of the day, I was grateful that it was done and that I will be able to get my new card after two weeks. I don't mind the wait as long as I will get my card by then.

Throughout the process, there was nothing to do but suck it up and patiently wait. There is no use complaining or raising hell because that's the way things are done. One of the reasons why I like to do my transactions online is to avoid the waiting time. A lot of times, a lot of times wasted.

I forgot to bring a reading material with me or something to entertain me. I could have fiddled with my phone while waiting which I did a bit but I took that opportunity to avoid screen time.

Also, I had a quick visit at our parents' home. I ordered from a friend some moist cakes and brought that home. What I like about visiting our home is that I have more to bring when I leave. I had bananas, some rice delicacies which I love and of course the coffee that was sent by my brother last month.

So you see, it was still a good day. The weather was okay. It did drizzle a bit but not for long, my business with the bank was done and I got a lot of stuff from home. God is good!

18
$ 3.07
$ 2.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 19
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

Comments

Your day ended well despite sucking up the long wait earlier :) That's one of the reasons I avoid banks, lol! It's interesting that they couldn't find your card in the machine. It magically disappeared or maybe someone took it while you went away hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Someone did take it ngem nu apay han na insurrender dagus ijay bank or guard man lang jay mall.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bat kapa kasi nag balance ee. Ahahaha charrr sinisi pa talaga no hahaha. Pero ganyan ang ayaw na ayaw kong maranasan. Mabilis mag init ang ulo kk. Baka sa kainisan ko di nalang ako tumulot at mahihiga nalang sa kama ng lumamig ulo ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol! Yun din sabi ko sa sarili ko e kahit alam ko naman na wala nang laman haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Banks will always look out for their own welfare, their own interests, and I think it's not just in your country, it's worldwide.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's why crypto is a threat to them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Here in our country also we face such problems. But if it's in the morning a solution is fast. But if in night then its a tough time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's really inconvenient sometimes especially if you can't find the time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hindi yung experiences sa bank na kakafrustrate talaga. Ang naakakinis pa yung sobrang bagal ng tansaction at kapag sobrang bagal ng mga staff.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya pag punta ng bank naka set na ang utak na matatagalan talaga para di mastress hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe kaumay talaga mga banks ano? Ewan bkit ayaw nila maglagay mas maraming teller/ staffs para mas mabilis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Minsan gusto ko magwork sa bank e para malaman kung bakit ganyan hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's a rainbow after the rain still. Hehe. Nakakaloka talaga ang mga process2 na yan huhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe buti na lang naprocess na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol, this is also common in Nigerian banks.. Thank God there are air conditioning systems around. Atleast one could get some fresh air as a compensation for not waiting under the sun 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh yes. I remember the bank I went to had ac and it was really cold lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I dislike going to bank for anything, going to banks here especially now that we are still observing covid19 protocols, is hell. I keep doing my things in order not to have anything to with banks. I prefer my things online

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I avoid banks as much as possible too but this one time need me to be physically there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga sir pag nag iipon kami ng partner ko passbook nalang kasi takot ako sa ganyang transaction tapos pahirapan pa ang ganitong pangyayari andaming requirements lalo na kapag kukuha ka ng affidavit.dito lang yan sa Pilipinas hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wala na talagang safe ngayon pero doble ingat pa rin tayo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Banks had a history of wasting your time especially if it's a government Bank. It will bring the demon out of frustration here due to their slow processing and sending one booth to another.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol at the demon in you. Be sure to tame it before going to the bank :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is really insane, banks using your own money put you in trouble. It is main reason I dislike them. I hope you will be able to get what you had been lost.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have issue with my other bank too but I might have to give up my account their.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly here at my place one have to suffer alot while dealing with banks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So frustrating, right?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same.. I can walk for long distances and long hours.. But waiting for a long is so exhausting. Same as standing on the same spot for a long time compared to walking for a long time. Lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hirap ng nakatayo lang. Magsu-suffer ako ng ilang araw pag ganun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I find waiting a long time is draining anywhere. Especially if you have to stand and can't sit down. Ya waiting no fun but I'm ok with it as long as there is a reason for it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's the take away I focus on as well - the end result. I try to keep a positive attitude about it like the law of attraction - to get things done :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sarap naman ng moist cakes sir lee. Favorite ko din yang mga rice delicacies. Sarap. Daming foods na nakakaadik.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga e. Hirap hindian ang cake lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago