How long can you go without your phone?

62 74
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

I just finished watching Mr. Harrigan's Phone. It is available in Netflix. It is based on Stephen King's short story.

A quick search on the net will tell you the summary of it. It tells of a boy who made a connection with an old billionaire man, even befriending him.

You wouldn't think they'll be having such strong bond that even after the old man died, he would still be calling and texting from the grave. Was the old man really dead?

Watch and find out.

One thing mentioned there was about how the things we own tend to own us instead just like our phones, laptops, mostly all our material things, riches and wealth.

As simple as a phone, it takes so much of our time. How many times have you said "one more episode" and then enough? Until one becomes two, three and more.

Why? Because we are enjoying it you say. This is just a one-time thing you say.

The movie also touched upon the subject of how much information is out there. So many contents to consume just with the touch of our fingers.

We kept consuming now more than ever because it has become convenient.

We throw common sense out the window just for content.

We don't want to be accountable of the things we post online because of our "right" and "freedom." Entitled much.

When these bites back, we play the victim card.

How convenient.

We throw morals, honesty, kindness out the door to stay relevant.

Sometimes these developments in science and technology, advancement of things, upgrades, updates - they are causing us more harm than good. We use up our resources, destroying our planet and even humanity.

Also, what others have we want to have it too.

Are we any better than the lives of our ancestors?

If we don't have these advanced technologies, do you think you will survive? We misplace our phones for just a minute and we felt like we have lost a loved one already.

Would you be willing to live away from development free from phones and internet?

31
$ 2.30
$ 1.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.10 from @Erickchristianmontajes
+ 26
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

Comments

Good you never gave the climax of the film. I don't think anyone will anyone survive without a phone nowadays.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Have you seen it? :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No. Because I need to see it. If i know the climax I will lose the interest to watch.😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When my phone got stolen, I felt how important that phone was in my life. lol... We have advanced technology, but what we do with it and how it impacts our lives is very important. It's time to ask whether we use our phone or our phone uses us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's a thin line between that question of what's important :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My nephew gave me one of his old and sturdy "made-in-Russia" mobile phones. It was switched on after about 7 or 8 months. Still, the old mobile phone held about 70 percent of its battery charge!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wonder why manufacturers don't have that kind of battery anymore.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess it is the new business trend to force people to buy a new battery or buy a new phone!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think I can live without it for a day. Kasi most of my hustles are here hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga e. Kung hindi online ang hustle, di rin ako gagamit ng phone o laptop hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Because some of what we need is in the cellphone and it make our life more comfortable. I think I can't go long without my phone

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same. I work online that's why I am highly dependent on it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was expecting for the old man giving half on his money to his friend in the end if he is actually dead ahahahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol! I wanted to know more too where did all his money go.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wait I'll check it later that Lee. Hmm well nakaya ko nmn non na wlang gadgets till nag College kaya okay lng nmn bsta may TV lng hehehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wala din kami matino na TV nun kaya di rin ako masyado sa gadgets.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think i can as long as I meron akong music player. Napakaconvenient ng smart phones ngayon pero dahil toxic na ang world, okay na ko sa phone na may pangcall and text hahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakamiss din ang hindi smartphone hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are times I get carried away with something else that I completely forget about my phone. I only actually use my phone when I need to, the only time my phone is a real distraction is when I am studying with it, especially with the Internet on.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree. When going out with friends, I don't use my phone that much other than for taking photos that I can post online :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't live without my mobile phone for a second but at some point when I was same like addicted to mobile

For some reasons I wasn't able to use it for 30 Days and there's no way to forget those days. Haha so much painful!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

With all these online hustles we have, it's easy to be addicted with our phones :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can do without on a daily basis. I start missing it after awhile because we are so reliant on them. If poof all phones and technology were gone I'd be alright. Why? Because I'm old and weathered 🤣 actually lived my better years with out them. I'd find it interesting and challenging to live off the land like our ancestors.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol! I can't keep up with the trend so I am okay as well without phones :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaaah sa entitled much.. I honestly don't think I can be away from my phone. Specially these days that we have entrusted our phone even with our banking access.

Eeekkk..

I think if we live a simpler life we would still be fine. Like our ancestors. But I guess at some point we would want "convenience" hence, the unhealthy manifestation of that is the brat-titude.

I wonder how we can somehow "take back control"..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lalo na pag tumatanda need na ng convenience lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is very much true.

It sometimes in my point of view degrading our elders or old aged people. They know nothing about using these and in offices they disrespected.

But I can't leave without my phone and laptop... LOL 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's my concern too whenever I am out in public where there are new technology around that I don't know how to use lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When my phone was faulty, I lived six months without it but when the phone is doing fine, I only skip using the phone during in the afternoon while I am outdoor

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are a rare breed :D In this modern times, six months without phone is like ages at least for those who are connected online.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Skipping my phone to attend to real life activities? Oh yeah I can do that. But not doing away with it for days or weeks No! My phone is like my life wire now, almost everything that gets me financial and keeps me going are inside.

No doubt, technology has caused harm to the society, but where we are now, we'll still choose to continue with the harm than to do away with technology

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's tough to separate us know from these gadgets and internet lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me, many times, I go for a run without phone, or to the beach to swim too, sometimes when I got to the supermarket I don't take the phone. I feel free in those moments, it's my personal time, I focus on me, what I'm doing and thinking...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's wise. We needed a break from time to time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To be honest, it could be really difficult for a lot of people. I once heard a story of a girl who refused to tune her mobile to airplane mode while on a plane. She couldn't just do without it.A quarel aost ensued between her and the crew members

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's one addicted girl lol! It's crazy what phones/gadgets can do to us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't think I can do without my phone for hours unless I am asleep or busy with the real-life activities. I am addicted to it and that's the truth but that doesn't mean I don't do what I am supposed to do when it's time for them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Still, you can get off of it :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can a day without my phone if I am with my family but if here in Manila? That's a big NO! Mababaliw ako

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe hirap talaga pag malayo sa family need ng phone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What? What phone?

What I am holding, is a computer, a TV, my personal assistant and.... Communication device... Rolled up in one tiny device.

LOL!

Seriously though, there are times I would binge watch for hours on it, but I can leave it behind also for a long time anytime.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol! It's amazing how such a tiny thing can do so much.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me? Come on, I cannot dear. I am highly dependent on phone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol! We all are :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's hard for us to live without technology nowadays since most of things are powered by technology hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True. No question about that :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No matter how we feel about modern smartphones, we have to admit that they play a huge role in our lives today. Yes. I think I could live without a phone and the Internet. But if there is such a possibility now, I will use it. After all, the phone is not only a gadget-it's also additional information.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have to guard ourselves from all the information that is out there because of the fake ones.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes we can survive without the internet and other gadgets like phones.malaki na kasi yung changes ng noon at sa Ngayon pero para sa akin kaya kong mamuhay ng gaya noon, simpleng buhay malayo sa gulo at stress na dala ng social media.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pag siguro biglang mawala ang internet, marami ang mababaliw.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess i could atleast two decades ago, lol! but i'm trying , really trying to have my me time without my phone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good luck! Have alone time with nature if you can :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am open to live life without gadgets but not in this era, haha probably if I was born before 50 years.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol! I can only imagine how life would be like back then.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Startibg to watch it sir,

maybe at first mahirap but later on we will get used to it just like the old time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed. It would be a tough adjustment for sure.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😀🤩😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Time to add this one to my list ahhh. Thanks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think internet and having a phone is now a kind of basic need for human life, I can't imagine my life without it now haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol! Me too. I don't know what to do without them at first for sure but we will adapt :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago