A letter to you and to myself

37 65
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago
Topics: My Treasure

Some of the thoughts that I share here whether in my post or my comments are my letters to you. It may not be that apparent but it is. Same goes with you.

I have read a lot of articles just like you. I have written a lot. Throughout my journey here, we have shared common ideas. We echo each other. We may not speak the same language but we share the same thoughts. That is how we are connected. Our minds are connected even though we are strangers.

With that said, I think I have to skip this letter writing part.

The toilet and shower. That's one of my favorites areas at home. The bedroom or kitchen seems to be obvious choices so I'd choose something else.

I have mentioned this before that if you can manage to keep your toilet and bath that clean, then the rest of the other areas in the house is clean as well.

The toilet is where we are most vulnerable too and were we can relax and think so better make sure that it is clean.

I am grateful for a house I can call home.

Not everyone can say that. We all know that there some things in some household that don't go well. Some don't feel safe at all because of abuse that people don't talk about.

Imagine when pandemic hit? Everyone had to stay home. While others find comfort in their homes, some live in fear because there is no more escape.

That's why I find it offensive and improper when others say that it is easier for students now for they are just inside their homes. Just because you don't see it, it doesn't mean everything goes well.

It's sad to think that people suffer in a place they should find refuge, love and care.

blackdoll challenged me to post 5-6 photos in my gallery. You definitely should visit her post about it if you haven't yet. You can check it here. Go now and be wowed by her photography skills and join in the fun too!

I have shared these photos in multiple other sites before and some of you might be familiar with them. For this challenge, I chose to look into the cover photos that I have used in the past.

This is the first owl photo and the last that I really like. We have owls coming to our yard back then but I couldn't take a decent photo for they always flew away. I don't know why this particular night that I took this photo that this owl decided to stay long enough and near enough for me to capture it. The red eye effect is because of the flash. I do remember not to point the flash directly at it because it does hurt their eyes and to avoid the red eye effect but still I still got that kind of effect. However, I am satisfied with this shot and grateful for this owl.

Soon, they stopped coming or maybe they have but didn't let their presence known. If my memory serve me right, they come to our yard around January that's why I was attentive for their hoots at night during this month.

The other day, I was ecstatic to find out an owl paid a visit to our yard again. After so many years, finally, a night visitor! My sister chatted me about it. They tried taking a photo but of course phone camera does no justice.

This is what I miss doing with my camera before, shooting photos like this. Find spots with lots of action and use a slow shutter speed to come up with this silky effect.

Another photo opportunity that I like is this kind of shot. Ever since I saw one photo in a National Geographic magazine wherein the landscape was awesome but what made it more stunning is a particular area that a ray of light is focused on. I always look out for things that like whenever I capture landscapes. This is the closest that I have come up with.

Who hasn't tried a jump shot? Is it still a thing though? This was one time when we went for a hike at Mt. Yangbew.

Sometimes you just have to be at the right place at the right time to be able to capture photos that you like. Such is the case with this one. I was already on my way back home from an morning walk. I just like the warmth in this photo.

The last two photos were taken using my phone. Camera phones have gone a long way and they continue to improve and evolve.

There goes my random post for today. Looking back on those photos, I am grateful for them because of the memory attached to them. For someone who forgets a lot, I have these photos to remind me of moments.

The lead image was a photo that I took during our hike yesterday. That is included in my entry for a photo competition in hive. You can check it out here. My previous entry was one of the lucky winners. I hope I can be lucky this time around.

So what moments would you like to share?

19
$ 3.37
$ 2.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
$ 0.05 from @JustMyRambles01
+ 12
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago
Topics: My Treasure

Comments

Hehe kami noon sir lee ang hilig namin sa jumpshot. Yan talaga nagpapasaya sa amin. Uso yan noon. Ang ganda naman ng mga pictures sir lee.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di na yata mawawala ang jump shot hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sir lee. Di na talaga mawala yung jumpshot. 😄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think I already me someone who's good at photography. Ang ganda ng shots :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, thanks so much!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Waaaahhh ang gaganda ng kuha mo kuya Leeeee. sobrang ganda lalo na yung owl. Sanaol nalang talaga ako sa mga talent nyo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Salamat naman hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True. Even students are only studying at home doesn't mean our lives are easier just because we are at home only. We are also exhausted by doing the activities in the school even we are only sitting 24/7.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good thing face to face is now allowed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your photography is WOW! The river and the owl, oh my word! Your photos could sell out exhibitions for sure. You are really talented.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my. Thanks so much for the love!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You have understood everything! the power to express ourselves through lyrics, release all inspiration, find creativity, is the closest thing to giving meaning to our lives. I love to write at my desk, makes me feel professional!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I only understood a few :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

the owls seem to be giving a message or signal and I'm surprised they always come in January. are there signs for the life we ​​live? I also don't know but my parents once taught me when the owl is around us but it's just a myth when they consider it something dangerous.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't know of any belief we have in relation to owls. Although these are common in some place, they are mostly rare so I guess people don't pay much attention to them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

matagal na talaga akong curious dito though i'm not into photography talaga, pero what's best when it comes to purchasing a camera? mas maigi ba yung dslr? may nakita kasi ako sa tiktok yung nion d3200 kaso ang mahal huhuhubels

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mas okay pa din na magstart sa entry to mid entry na mga cameras tas mag invest sa lens. Mahal talaga siya na hobby. Yun ang isang major reason kung bakit ko ginive up din. Gang cp na lang ako hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ay ganun ba...mukhang sa phone nalang din ako magamit hihi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Iba na din kasi ang mga camera phones ngayon parang pang dslr na rin hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My aunt would have called that owl a witch 😂😂. I like the picture of the stream and the landscape too, really gorgeous.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol! It's funny what our beliefs sometimes are. Thanks for appreciating!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

DSLR gamit nyo po? Sobrang superb ng quality. Parang mga stock photos lang sa internet. Kung wala pa ngang watermark, iisipin kong kuha lang sa Unsplash

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dati DSLR pero cellphone na lang ngayon hehe. Un last two photos, cp ang nagamit.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Why will the owl stare at me like that? With its red eyes. If I am to be the one to take the shot, I will run away for my dear life 🤣🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It wasn't red when I took the photo :) That's the effect of the light. I was actually trying to avoid red eyes but it can't be helped.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I knew you'd come up with fascinating photos for a photographer you are.

The owl: You weren't scared at the owl looking at you like that while taking the shot...we have mythical beliefs on owl. Lol🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm curious what is your belief on that :D

I was more afraid of not being able to take the shot that's why I had to approach cautiously.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Great photos Articlee. That owl looks so scary though haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks so much for appreciating :) Indeed, the red eyes plus the expression on its face is discomforting.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang you were always at the right place at tge right time eh hahaaa. Ang galing eh. Anong gamit mong phone? Hahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganun talaga kadalasan hehe. Huawei gamit ko hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang gandaaa sobra! Sa isip ko pa, "ma try nga" pero nung nakita ko photos mo ay huwag nalang backout hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Salamat naman :) Di bale d naman competition yan kaya post lang ng post hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Love your clicks! It is true for some students going to school is an escape.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks a lot! I appreciate you too!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

See, this is what I was talking about.. I'm a massive fan of your photography.. My mouth was full on open when I look at your pics, like wow.. especially that sunshine pic on the road.. Ridiculously gorgeous

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aw! You really say the right things. Thanks so much for appreciating!

$ 0.00
1 year ago