The guilt card

16 36
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

Would it upset you if someone's uses the guilt card to make you do something you aren't sure you want to do at this time? Or worse, when they use their guilt from some past incident to push you to a corner so you agree to what they believe is good for you?

It was not a conversation I wanted to have. And had I known that was how it would go, I probably would've lied just so we never got into such conversation at all.

For the record, unlike many out there, I know COVID is real. I've heard and read so many stories about people getting infected, dying or losing their loved ones because of the disease.

And for my part, in those very rare times I have to go out for some necessary errand, I do everything to protect myself - mask, shield, physical distancing, alcohol or hand washing, and even rushing to get out of any establishment to lessen my risk of exposure, aside from boosting my immune system.

All too confusing

Since March vaccines have been rolled out, and in our neck of the woods, every available brand is being shipped in, although only less than 20 percent of the country's population have been inoculated. However, I don't quite understand the system, allocation, and distribution that government - whether national or local - has in place to carry this out most efficiently.

At the same time, supply is still not enough to meet demand and new studies are constantly surfacing about efficacy and the length of protection a vaccine can offer. And then there is the emergence of more variants, often stronger than previous ones.

In the meantime, being the hardheaded folks a lot of my countrymen are (pasaway is the term used for them), many ignore minimum safety protocols, and think that getting vaccinated means being invincible against the coronavirus so they go about like everything was pre-pandemic normal.

That's why after more than a year, we've had to go back to strict lockdowns due to rising cases, especially with the more transmissible Delta variant.

It doesn't help that contact tracing efforts here leaves much to be desired so instead of being able to find whoever may have had contact with infected individuals to get them tested, these people are not being quickly rounded up.

My dilemma

So where I do fit in all these?

I have not been jabbed. Aside from system lapses and shortage in vaccines, my mind and heart have not been made up about the vaccines that were developed then rolled out in a relatively short amount of time.

Since I am not, I take precautions very seriously and avoid going out unless absolutely necessary to protect both myself and others from an invisible but deadly enemy.

Then a cousin, who is, like he pointed out, the only doctor in the family, called to say there were two slots for vaccines and he wanted me and my sister to take it. Apparently, he ordered vaccines from a private initiative nominating someone else but these people already went ahead and got theirs, thus leaving the available slots.

He gave an impassioned argument about why I needed to get it, saying I was at risk because of my age, and it was to protect my mom (who's already been vaccinated), and that everyday he saw dialysis patients dying because of COVID and was helpless about it.

He related how these patients were infected even though they didn't leave their homes, but someone else in the household contracted it and passed the virus on.

Having to face this scenario every single day kept him away from his children and he was already so tired of the situation. I acknowledged his sacrifice and the difficult circumstances he was in as a medical frontliner and respected his arguments.

When I continued to say I was not ready at this time, he suddenly pulled this guilt card - how helpless he was when his father was ill and he could not do anything to help him because he was far away, and my uncle ended up dying. (There were so many other factors that led to his father's demise, none of which were in his hands really). He added that he felt the same when my youngest sister died because she refused to heed his advice to go for medical consultations and take meds.

Now, if something happened to me or my sister because we didn't want to get vaccinated at this point, this would again weigh on him like the two previous cases!

Wait, what?

And he kept hammering that point, his voice cracking with frustration, just to convince me to change my mind and see it from his point of view.

I fully understand how stressed he is given that he's either called in to intubate or respond to a dialysis patient of his, infected with the virus. And to watch so many expire on his watch will definitely weigh on him.

When I told him that I understood his feeling of helplessness when it came to his patients, he said he didn't really care about them because they were strangers, in the way that we mattered because we were family.

So, what I got is that if we refused to be vaccinated, got infected and died, he would be guilty because like his dad and my sister, he wasn't able to do anything about it.

Is that fair?

By playing the guilt card, I am now supposed to give in and get inoculated to ensure he won't be weighed down by guilt yet again because of me since he was able to do something to supposedly keep me safe?

But what if something else happened to me that was not COVID-related, would he still feel the same way? Or worse, if the vaccine caused some reaction in me that put me in danger, how would he take it?

I don't like being stripped of the power to decide for myself when it comes to my body. And I fully get that it is my responsibility and mine alone if something bad happens to me because of something I did, or did not do.

I like it even less to have the burden of protecting someone from being weighed down by guilt by doing something that was against my will.

My prayer is for people not to be terribly inconvenienced should something happen to me, and for them to accept there are things they cannot prevent and should not be responsible for.

So, do I have a right to be upset?

Images: Unsplash

11
$ 7.92
$ 7.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @deedum
+ 5
Sponsors of zolabundance2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

Comments

Hello, I understand your point of view. I am the same as you in that I don't like to be deprived of the power to decide for myself. And even less to be manipulated with the weapon of guilt. I respect other people's decision not to get vaccinated. I still get vaccinated, and I still take preventive measures. God protects us all, vaccinated and unvaccinated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So true, He is the ultimate protector. I am not totally against vaccination, but not now. And I wish he respected my choice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I would be upset and furious if that's my case. Vaccines are never mandated because of the risks and not everyone is willing to take the risks, especially those that doesn't have much exposure. It really boils down on not forcing people, you can say you're opinion and give all the facts but at the end of the day you don't force it on anyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Precisely... and all I was saying was not now. I did not say not ever. I just felt really bad when he brought up his dad's and my sister's deaths, which were really out of his hands, so he should've let it go.

Glad to see you back...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think you have the full right to be upset. Noone should push you do get vaccinated. Especially if you don't know the effect of that. With such age, you may even die from it. So, what he can do about that. Will he care, will he help your family after that ? No, he's just a brainwashed guy by tv who wants everyone vaccinated, just because the tv told him so. They don't even care about their health or the health of others, just walking zombies repeating what's told by others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not that he's been brainwashed but because he lives it everyday and he sees firsthand how people truly suffer. So I understand his concern. But I was sad that he did not respect my decision and made me feel bad that he had to bring up past experiences. Thank you for dropping by,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess we really are built differently. That guilt card won't work on me lol!

I understand both your points. It's still up to you what you want to do. Sorry, not really much of help here :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's just a lot that happened in the two incidents that's why it's kind of a sticky point with me. Otherwise, guilt cards that have no direct bearing on me won't work either. I'm just praying for him to learn to accept that there are things he has no control over and can't take responsibility for, especially at a time when so much needs his attention.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe that he was not playing the guilt card but more like trying to appeal to your emotions.

Also I just want to say that the vaccines we have are developed "fast" because there are already basis in its formula.

Its composition is similar to the Sars-Cov infection which as you probably know has had a vaccine to fight it for years. There have been years of research to back up that making of vaccine. So when Sars-Cov 2 came about, there are already a groundwork for the vaccine, they just needed sometime to tweak it to be more effective to covid.

I found that this information is not always talked about which is one of the reasons for vaccine hesitancy. They always focus on saying the need for the vaccine but never addressed the concerns that mostly brought about by lack of information.

Of course it is common sense that everyone has their right to decide whether to get vaccinated or not. It is not like one can be forced to get vaccinated.

I am praying for yout family's continued safety.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Appealing to my emotions did it when he was talking about his patients... Bringing up his dad and my sister was the guilt card... I didn't know he was still carrying that guilt because it's been like six or so years since his father passed and four since my sister did. I understand that there has been basis for developing the vaccines, but if I am going to do something to my body, I want to embrace it 100 percent. Because I also believe that in most anything we do, without faith, it won't work. Thank you for your prayers and sharing your thoughts. Be safe as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe that everyone should have the right to decide without having to feel guilty. And vaccinated or not. We must continue to take care of ourselves to protect ourselves and our families.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People are dying from getting the vaccine. Getting the vaccine does not mean you will not die from covid infection. The most important thing is to be careful not to get infected and not to spread it in case you are positive. I don't see why anyone should force you by bribing your interest or not in the vaccine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We also decided to not get vaccinated this time, because the vaccine available here is not what we wanted. Also there are lapses in the process that there are still people waiting in queue. I wish that we won't get infected at all woth the precautions that we impose to ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes there are so many concerns and it would be so much better to get it with your entire being embracing the decision, not because you were pushed to do it. In the meantime, it is our responsibility to protect ourselves and others thru alternative means.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I pray and deeply hope nothing will happen to you. Just be positive and always aim high. All will be well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is my prayer every single day... Thank you for your message of hope.

$ 0.00
2 years ago