Window shopping

76 102

What exactly is the fun of shopping? If you ask me it's no fun to walk from one shop to the next, go in and outside, have to find your way in between many people. It makes me nervous plus it tires me out. I am the kind of person you will rarely find in a shopping center.

For about 15 years I lived in the city of Arnhem.

During those years I might have been visiting the city center about 5 times. Interesting fact: before I moved to Arnhem I more frequently visited it.

Here I am again.

It's 9 pm when we arrive at a parking lot. Driving in was easy but the gate didn't open once we tried to leave. No way we could pay. Reason: we didn't drive-in.

It's not the laundry you see outside but t-shirts with motivational tags because of the Coronavirus.

No need to visit the UK. We have an English bookshop here too.

Plenty of older architecture you find here. No need to visit dirty Amsterdam. It's better here. A river and harbor are present as well.

You can window shop in peace here.

Frogs in all sizes. How cute. Watching while I pass by is enough. What I see is too expensive for me.

I wonder about this man on a horse...

People still sit outside at a restaurant.

The "Cook Island" is a shop for those who love to cook.

Our destination "Jofel".

A vintage shop. They sell clothes, shoes, jewelry, handbags, etc. Some other items are for sale too.

Goodbye Arnhem.

It's good to see not much has changed and the church is still not completely renovated after all those years.

#kittywu #traveling #arnhem

75
$ 1.33
$ 1.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @Telesfor
$ 0.05 from @marblely
+ 2

Comments

Wow your streets are beautiful❀ I bet it would be lovely to take a stroll there at night.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

At night is the best time especially during summer. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I knew it! I wish I could travel there when I get a job.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I keep my fingers crossed for you. You have something to look forward to. πŸ€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It s very tiring to walk but if i walk in your place, i would love it. The streets are clean and the view is fantastic.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The streets are clean now, way more clean. Not that the garnish is piled up. There are trash cans everywhere even for dog poop. There are strict rules.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't like shopping. I'm bored with the shops. All these people bug me. I like to walk through the streets or sit on a bench. I prefer going to the woods even more.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same here. If no one is outside it's fine but not with so many people around. The part of the city I lived in was with houses, high trees and you could leave your backdoor open.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah so you don't shop, how do you get your wares then, and other goodies. I shop frequently mostly on Saturdays. I love doing it with my wife, plus it also helps us to get to spend time together and visiting a fast food restaurant once in a week.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I buy the basic ingredients about once a month. About 2-3 times a year I buy what is most necessary online. I don't need much.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My wife is shopping for food. I buy clothes or shoes now and then. But very rarely. Last week I bought shoes again. I bought the old shoes 5 years ago and they were already broken because I wore them all the time (they were my favourite shoes). But the shopping took maybe fifteen minutes. Otherwise I don't buy anything. But I spend more money when I am on holiday or travelling.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You mean you can use one pair of shoes for five years? I rarely use a pair of shoes for not more than a year. Maybe am wasting money right?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wear them for years too. I hardly need shoes, at least not inside and at home outside I wear farm boots.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can't judge that. There are different shoes and different habits. I try to buy good shoes that last longer, because I don't feel like shopping frequently. But I am willing to spend more money on them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see, you are classical in terms of quality. That kind would be a big buy here in my country in terms of the price

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's a big buy everywhere but on long term it's cheaper and better for your feet.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For food, I go once a month. My clothes and shoes are years old too. At home, I need farm boots for nearly the whole year. Next to it, I have shoes for summer and winter. About 2-3 times a year I buy some things online. Mainly what is needed (medication for example) or like now a phone for my youngest (birthday present as well). It's exhausting enough.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My spontaneous thought when I saw the skeleton on a horse was The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse - and "And I looked, and behold a pale horse: and his name that sat on him was Death", but such an interpretation is contradicted by certain details, as the keg.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for sharing, I'll see if I can find someone who can figure it out. πŸ’•πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The architecture of the houses looks so beautiful though. And very european that I feel like I would fall in love with that place so mucb

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The center is great but there are really ugly parts too. They try to fight criminals, the streets with whores are gone and some bad neighborhoods as well. These brick houses are no longer build. Every city looks the same these days. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh so a lot of places you've been to looks the same? I really want a European tour one day just to swe for myself though

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There are many cities in the Netherlands but other European cities or small villages which still have older parts. You need to know where to go. If you stay in the main shopping street it's everywhere the same. It's because you find the same shops everywhere and they all look the same.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Then i should definitely do my research above anything else if i plan to go on tour, else the rest would all look the sane?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If it comes to shopping centers and new build areas with houses it does but there are great places to visit.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't like go to shop for shopping. I always use online shopping. But this photography is really beautiful. And roads are very clean.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think the roads are clean because there are hardly any people outside. No face masks are needed but many shops can only have 2-5 customers. I guess to most online shopping is easier.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like the interior of the shop you went it looks like a vintage shop. And that church is still preserved in that place.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The owner will be happy to hear you like the shop. Vintage is modern again.

The church is renovated for years, a bit more is finished. It's no longer used as a church but for expositions.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article it looks like you have good experiences @wakeupkitty

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for touring us :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

All I can say is WOW! 😱😍 Your place is aesthetic. I hope I could visit it someday when I'm already financially stable, when I can already finance myself. I would love to walk around your streets and just enjoy the scenery. I'm really a fan of beautiful sceneries. And about the shopping thing, I don't know but I really love window shopping. Back when everything's still normal (days when the corona virus is still inexistent), I just love to walk around the malls here in the Philippines and satisfy my eyes with all these products being endorsed by different people.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you are happy with window shopping you can have a good time for sure and you can enjoy a mixed culture. πŸ€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are not just a good writer but also a good photographer, I mean seeing the angles of your photos are good. I don't like shopping, I just went to malls or grocery if needed to buy some necessary stuff..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your compliment about your photos. It's encouraging to make some more. I shop for the needs too and wish I was more self-sufficient if it comes to the main needs.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You should make some more it's good to look at different photos, I love to see your place there. Looking forward to that 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will see what is possible in the near future. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like shopping when nobody disturbs me. One that I can take my time to see anything I like and not be bothered by someone who says that they can help me when they are not at all. But nowadays, I buy what I need online. Too much hassle to go to shops. Thank you for sharing all the photos. I enjoyed viewing them. I especially like the froggies :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Those froggies I love too. There are shops I will never enter because they drag you inside and if not they keep following me. It disturbs me if I can not have a look plus I want to think over what I buy first. I rarely buy what I see.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah I dislike shops like that. They should leave their customers alone. I think they drive away more customers than bringing them in to actually buy stuffs. I don't mind them welcoming us into the shop with a smile but just leave us alone :P

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's what I think too. Weird is if you need them and want to ask something you can't find them. I avoid certain shops because of that behavior only. Same with rude shopkeepers. "Customer is king" is what I am raised with.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me too. And I have the same experience too! When we need them, they are nowhere to be seen. Yes, rude shopkeepers will not see me again. But I do give them a piece of my mind when they are overly rude.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think they hide! πŸ€”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love the way you post articles with pictures it's kinda nice. A lovely article you have there

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. I can not post this way frequently because it takes me too much time to upload the photos. I am happy to hear you can appreciate it. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In my place you can hardly see a shopping mall that is not filled with people. It's always busy throughout the week, and I love shopping every weekend

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really, even at night? I avoid malls if there are people.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Enjoy your stroll

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My stroll was short. Straight ahead to the vintage shop and after that back home.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't enjoy shopping with empty handed

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can understand that. It's what my daughter says. There's no fun if you can not buy even the smallest thing. It's just a waste of money to drive over there and parking is expensive.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello good morning, I don't like window shopping too, it's tiring so much from visiting one. Shop to another shop and I go there alone only so I have nobody to talk with while walking it's so tiring lol. I only visited the shop ones or twice a month to buy some stuff and all needed supply.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I totally agree with you. The only thing I want is to get away as soon as possible. I will never understand the fun of it. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Shopping Lovers here, nice article Thanks for Sharing 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You love shopping? What's the great thing about it? All those people, waiting in line, dragging bags with you. πŸ˜•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Stay safe while shopping the battle is not over for covid 19 .God bless

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The battle will never be over. I prefer to stay home. This time we went at night. All shops we're closed but we could visit the vintage shop for clothes for my children.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for sharing such photo of Arnhem. It's my first time hearing the place and made me google it.πŸ˜… so it's a city in Netherlands. The shops there looks nice and clean.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, it's the capital city of the province Gelderland. This province is at the border with Germany. You will find Germans here too even on the day we celebrate the end of world war 2, the day the Germans lost the war. It's a friendly city, the center surrounded by the river and the people and the the city are more like you find them in bigger villages.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love shopping if i have money πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I never like shopping, no matter if I have money. For sure it's more fun if you have something to spend.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love shopping 😍😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know why but i love window shopping. I find it very therapeutic for me. Walking and just looking at the things around you, the people and controlling yourself to spend money is soo nice. YEP it's tiring sometimes but i love it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If it works therapeutic for you do so. I find it stressful mainly because of the people and strolling around, standing still gives me pain in my back.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's a nice place , I love shopping but I don't want to buy a lot just the needs

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't like shopping no matter if I need anything. I try to get in and out a shop as soon as possible.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This could have gone to 'My neighbourhood' community!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't like window shopping but I do it once in a while if a friend asks me to join. It felt tiring without getting anything. I only go shopping when I have too.

Some said that it is a stress relief activities but it makes me tired. I prefer going to the beach, park, anywhere fun.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have a good heart. Shopping and strolling because a friend asks you? I always miss I can not take a seat if I have to come along with a shopper (shopaholic). πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is why I don't like window shopping πŸ˜… I like to sit down because the one who loves to window shop walk faster than a cockroach. I felt like I am jogging while they are walking but still, I will accompany them if I am not too tired.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know all about it and if they finally left a shop and go on to the next, they go back to the first... It never ends. I understand why so many men sit in the car and let their wives do the shopping.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The reason will be that they are comparing the price or quality and the first one is better. I do that sometimes too. Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago