The Saint

7 36
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago
Topics: 2020, Diary, Writing, Freewrite, Life, ...

Saint Nicholas was on national television. He arrived with a ship and his black helpers Piet I saw too. They are very acrobatic and make you laugh. I think most children like Piet since he makes you feel happy and fills shoes. If you go to the harbor and wait for the Saint Piet gives candies to the children. He throws them through the air and the children catch it or search for it.

It's not true what they say 'those who are sweet get candies' I think it's the opposite. The big mouths and nasty children, those who do not wait in line get candies because Piet want to get rid of them but those children keep chasing them. I don't like to go to the harbour. The weather is cold, it's windy and I do not like to be surrounded by many people.
At home, watching him on television is fine enough.
My parents watched too and after that I went with my dad to the center of the village. Piet was everywhere. On the roofs of the shops and there were three very high poles with one Pete on each on of them.

Tonight I can put my shoe. Not in front of the fireplace but at the wall in the living. I made a drawing, left a carrot and some water for the horse. My mother said I can add a wishing list but there's nothing I like to have the Saint can buy.

Saturday
November 14, 2020


My mother bought 'taai-taai' and in my shoe is candy. I like taai-taai although it sticks to my teeth. If it comes to cookies and candies this is the best part of the year. For three weeks I can set a shoe. My parents do the same.

At Sunday school the teacher gave us hot chocolate and a spicy cookie. She told a story but it wasn't about the Saint. In the time left we started making a lamp for Christmas. It's not a real lamp. More a cover made out of paper. You need to put a candle in it.

Sunday
November 15, 2020


At school all children talk about the Saint. I am not sure if they went to the harbor. I don't think so.

The teacher said we have to make hats with our names written on them for the celebration. The Saint will visit the school and our classroom is the meeting place. But it isn't time to take our tables aside yet. It was a day like all the other days. Cold and grey and with a lot of work at home.

My mother vacuumed and sang St. Nicholas songs. She sings terrible, is always out of tune and the noisy Hoover vacuum cleaner doesn't make it any better. At least she wasn't angry and yelling at me.

Monday
November 16, 2020


My parents told me we will have a new housekeeper. She is the sister from someone they know and lives in the Philippines. I don't think it is a good idea. She won't like it here and I think she won't stay. She just needs a reason to be here. I didn't say what I think because it only makes them mad.

Tuesday
November 17, 2020


I had school till 12:15 and as I came home my granny was there. She said she came to help us out. She is my dad's mom. She is tiny and my mother doesn't like her but I do. She always brings me a bag with candies I don't like. They are made of coconut and a smelly kind of black stuff. I don't dare to tell her I don't like them. My uncle does and because of him I accepted them the first time. He eats them instead of me that's why but he didn't come along with her. I said 'thank you' and kissed her. She ironed clothes, made tea and we ate together. Around noon we always have a cooked dinner. I don't think my granny is a great cook but I still like her more than my other granny. She plays with me and doesn't have an angry face. After she left I went to my room and read in my book. The book about a black cat living in Catville. The mom of that cat can cook.

My dad and I had our evening meal together. My mother... I don't know where she is. I cleaned up the table before I went to bed.

Wednesday
November 18, 2020



Gymnastics in the afternoon again. I wish I could stay home. That teacher can't teach me anything. I am not talented. It's a waste of time and money.

In the afternoon I had an appointment in the hospital. My mother took me and it was the same like usual. Hours of waiting, sitting on bad chairs being bored. My mother had a bad mood and left me several times to check her answering machine. If someone needs her she leaves no matter if I met the doctor. It's a long way back home. If so I hope she has time to take me home and I don't need to sit in the car for hours.
As she came back she told me we had to leave. She said something to the nurse at the desk and we left. To be honest I think it's better if we no longer visit all those doctors. They don't care about me, only do test after test but never find anything. They say 'if it's not better next time you stay in hospitals but I never do. They just say it. I should say this to my mother too or perhaps my dad. I won't get better, it's a waste if time and money too.

My mother always complains about how much money we spent. I think she does because I don't have money.

Thursday
November 19, 2020



We started practicing Saint Nicholas songs and in the afternoon it was reading again.

My dad says the new housekeeper, or perhaps it is a nanny, will visit us tomorrow with her sister. She doesn't speak our language. I wonder how she will answer the phone and talk to my mother's clients.

Friday
November 20, 2020


In the morning we cleaned the house and at 1 pm the new help arrived. It's what I thought. I said nothing and am glad she doesn't wanted to shake my hand. My dad showed her her room and after that she left with her sister for the weekend. The weekends she won't be here. Her room is next to my parent's.

I watched television in the afternoon and after our last meal of the day my dad and I watched a bit together and we set our shoes for the Saint.

Saturday
November 21, 2020


I finished my 'lamp' at Sunday school. Next week the advent season starts. I feel confused. It's not December 5th yet. First we celebrate Saint Nicholas and after that it's Christmas.

Sunday
November 22, 2020


A kid's diary

I think...

Emptiness

The cloud above

Messed up

So sad

#kittywu #diary #childhood

10
$ 1.74
$ 1.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @heartbeat1515
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago
Topics: 2020, Diary, Writing, Freewrite, Life, ...

Comments

Protector of sailors, travelers. His prays to God calm down the most terrifying storms and lead to spiritual healing. He is so worshiped by Serbs and celebrated like patron saint.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You celebrated it or?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, today, 19th of December!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am not sure if we celebrate saint nicholas here at our place. We have it in Christian calendar but not on the country calendar.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's on our country that one announces all celebration days which isn't much. We didn't really celebrate. All presents are with my daughter and we could not travel.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We also celebrate Saint Nicholas.Most happy are the children but also an adults get tiny gifts.Saint Nickolas usually endows children in church but this year we are lock down because of corona virus and our children got gifs in their home.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope you had a great day. We didn't celebrate since the gifts are at my daughter's place and we couldn't travel. If you ask me we can't till summer 2021 or perhaps 2022.

Church does not celebrate but schools do and little children can take a shoe to several supermarkets to get something.

$ 0.00
3 years ago