Every Child is an Artist

43 106
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

I don't know much about art but one thing I'm sure of is that my daughter can draw. How proud Momma I am when I saw her drawing. Like, I can only draw a stick man. Until now!

And look at that! We got a few excess fingers and toes but it doesn't matter. 🙈

Not just that one but she draw a lot more of her. She said that's her! And they all cute she said.

Look at those red cheeks!

Every day at 5 p.m. while doing homework with my son, my daughter Tia (4 years old) will always ask me if she can do homework too. She doesn't get homework yet as she's only in P1. So every day during homework time, she does her artwork. I always give her a notebook, pens and crayons and let her do whatever she wants. And those were her drawing yesterday.

The first artwork she brought from school is this one. That's Mommy she said but when she shows it to her granny she told her, that's her too! 😂

And she draws granny as well. She even makes her a nice jumper with all the buttons and designs on it. Oh and Lola's short hair!

Kids are naturally creative I would say. Just give them a space to work at and they can turn a clean sheet into art. Just remember to give them a paper or else your walls will be their canvass. Or Daddy's legs good enough?

I read about how other people get to know a child and his/her inner personality by interpreting their drawings. It's because children sometimes cannot express themselves in words and they draw to express their emotions. We can tell their joys and fears, a window to their personality. But you can't just read your child's art or drawing for most of the time it's just a fun playtime for them, especially at a very young age. But still, we should pay attention and ask them what they draw and from then you will get some information. I know some cases of children being saved after seeing their drawing. So pay attention to your children's drawing.

There are Three Stages of Children's Drawing Development: Scribbling, Pre-Schematic, and Schematic stages.

  1. Scribbling   (2-4 years old)

They said that at this stage, their drawings are mostly just marks and there's no realism in it. But sometimes they can create something called "fortuitous realism" which means that it might seem like there's nothing in the drawing but those scribbles resemble something if you look carefully on the shapes it created. Maybe a car, or house perhaps.

She just love to hold a pen and scribbled even when she's just a year old.
  1. Pre-Schematic  (4-7 years old)

At this stage, they said children try to draw things they see with their eyes. Just like what Tia draw, her face. Those simple things like cars, house, dog or teddy bear. Still, there are no real details in this stage but at the end, children will start to add certain details that set their ideas apart. Just like how Tia add more details on her Granny's drawing.

  1. Schematic  (7+ years old)

In this stage children's drawing reveals more information. There are more realistic details into it. For example, a drawing of the night sky might include stars and moon or if on the beach, there would be sea creatures and people on their swimwear. They also add words and symbols to explain the message of their drawing. There is more depth into this stage.

How to Interpret Children's Drawings

I know as a parent we don't pay attention to the meaning behind it as most of the time we already knew what's the drawing all about. Most of the time it's just a fun activity of lines and colours. But some hopes to find meaning in a child’s drawings. Sometimes drawings are just drawings. But sometimes stories are hiding behind it. As they say, it is really important to not to read too much into a drawing but instead ask them directly what it's all about. Treat their drawing as their revelation of themselves. How do they think and feel?

General Rules

You know your children so you can put your thoughts on interpreting their drawing.

  • Gender and colour preference. There are some differences in how boys and girls draw. Dominant or demanding child use darker colours. Girls love to use warmer colour like pink and usually draw hearts or flowers. While boys love cooler colours like blue and usually draw cars or trucks.

Colour meaning

Green - the child is more creative

Yellow - happiness

Red - the colour of excitement

  • The position on the page matters. They say that drawings that are put on the left side mean that the child is looking to the past and nurturing presence while looking at the future a need of attention /communication if it's on the right side. And the drawings that are at the bottom of the page means of children's feeling of inadequacy or insecurity.

  • The size matters when drawing figures. They say that those larger figures in the drawing are the more dominant personalities. Figures without arms mean that they are non-aggressive and those with exaggerated hands might mean they are the aggressive ones. And if the child draws tiny feet it might mean that he or she is feeling off balance or unstable.

Please keep in mind that these are just general observations about kids' artwork meaning it might not reveal anything particular about your child. And the best way to interpret your child's drawing is by asking your child what it is their drawing about but don't put pressure just simply ask what they think.

Based on Tia's work alone, I knew she loves pink and she knows her hair is black and that she got a fringe. It's just nice to see she added some details even draw hearts and her new stuffed toy dog named Snowy. And I'm just a proud Momma that she can draw better than me. 😂

Thank you so much for reading.

Reference:

https://www.newkidscenter.org/Interpreting-Children's-Drawings.html

19
$ 2.46
$ 2.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @RaemaKhan
$ 0.10 from @bankarica
+ 4
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

Comments

Hey there! I just want to say thanks! This post encouraged me to write about my newborn and all the love they've brought into my world.

A Newborn's Smile: https://read.cash/@lagrapefruit/a-newborns-smile-79e69492

I was caught by surprise when I saw your little one was writing on her dad's leg. 😂😂😂 So true!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My daughter draws like your daughter and loves the color green. Now I have discovered that she is creative 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes i agree po that every child's an artist po, ung inaalagaan po dati ng nanay q po d2 eh mhilig mgsulat sa dingding o sa mga gilid-gilid at kapag kumain po ng monay, mkikita nyo nlng po ung plastic o supot o pinaglagyan nung tinapay po na nksiksik na po sa siwang o pagitan po ng mesa n ang hilig po mgbuntingting, lol, siraniko po cguro pg laki, lol

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Naku kahit sa Batangas, pati dingding sinusulatan ni Tia rin! Lahat pinapakialaman. 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Opo, gnun po mga bata po ngaun, msydong artistic po n dami po nlalaman, kng ano po mrinig gngaya po, lol, thank u po sa upvote :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know why, but I adore children's drawings, I see in them beauty incredibly and unknown for the most of people. I think kids draw with hearth and even you think it is not good, you need to find beauty in them effort to draw imagine and reality.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

That is very true! ❤️ No matter what they draw it will be beautiful in our eyes because of their innocence and just playful art that entertain us. Xxx

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are so great. You have faith to bring sparkle mind of children down to paper and colorizing world around in joyful colors.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Drawing is one of the best and most important activities for any child.Drawing allows to child to be more expressive,rises their self-esteem,develops the childs problem-solving skills,improves the childs fine-motor skills,....Your daughter Tia draws very nicly.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you, my dear! Her drawing entertains us all. :) And that's true it allows them to be more expressive. 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can't remember this psychology when i was given art classes and all ;;-;; i only remembered the nude models i grew up drawing ;;-;;

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Hahaha sana all can draw. Seen your vampire drawing, napakatalented! Galing!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's from practice ;;-;; i think your kids should practice more too. Maybe they'd enjoy drawing when they can get to the point of realism din?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maigi pa ang baby Tia at marunong mag draw, kamusta naman ako, puro stickman lang alam 😂😂. Baka pag laki laki ng ng baby mo mas maimprove pa drawing nya, tapos mqging designer palang future work nya ano, hihi. Cute.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Hahaha makakabuo na tayo ng asosasyon hanggang stick man lang tayo sa pagdrawing! Haha ewan ko kung anong landas tatahakin nito pero basta san sya happy. Sana all marunong magdrawing 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Whenever I see any new movement of Tia, I think of my daughter because she is the same as her and is doing the same. As children get to grow up, they engage themselves in a place where they can learn a lot. This is a good move for them, as some children pay more attention to play, and some children to study Seem to pay attention. And some kids fascinate us with their art.

The amazing art of Tia, Hopefully, when she grows up, she will become a good artist.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you, my dear. I'm delighted to know that you're daughter and her doing the same! At school, they also love to paint and she's always excited to tell me when they do some painting but will tell me she doesn't like dancing if they have certain activities which I laugh about. I'm hoping too that she will grow up still love to draw and paint. Big hug from us. 🤗

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But I love the kids doing the Certain activity. I try to get my daughters to the confidence too, but she's far behind. But doing painting and art is a very good skill and compliment act. Thank you so much my dear friend for always embracing me. My Dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

❤️ ❤️ ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When I was still pregnant with my eldest, I would always draw, I love to draw but I don't think I have a talent that's why I want my child to have that talent so Im drawing the hoping that she'll be a great artist.LOL. But i guess it worked because she's quite good at drawing. And I love your daughter's drawing. My youngest which is same age as Tia, she would draw a head and a body,no limbs hahaha

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Haha I'm more on I love to colour mandalas or any colouring book. Really no good at drawing lol. Same, would love my kids to have talent that I never had 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I appreciate her drawing effort. Her drawing is really a awesome one. She learn to communicate with their drawing and also learn to express better and also develop more skills. 👏👏👏👍👍👍

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you my dear! I appreciate that. She's enjoying it and that's really matters to me. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow ang cute ng drawings niya mommy. ❤️ Yung anak ko din planets naman yung drawings niya since 3 years old sya, marunong nadin sa mag color ng di makalat now. Nakakaproud tlaga sating mga parents kahit konting achievements nila. ❤️

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Wow! Galing naman! Nakakaproud talaga. Proud na proud ako pagkakita ko. Ako nga stick man lang kaya kong idrawing e! 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Honey, these drawings are so cute! They remind me of the drawings of my daughter, who is also 4 years old! Keep those drawings for her, it will be a nice memory for everyone when she grows up!

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yes Marija dear I would compile everything and one day will show her! Thank you so much and I'm happy to know that it reminds you of your son's drawing. They really are an artist in their own way!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I used to draw when I was a kid but as soon as I realize that I don't have the talent on art, I accepted it and focus more on music 😆

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Ako simula talaga bata pa wala na talagang talent magdrawing yung ibon ko hanggang ngayon " v " pa rin 😂 Haha Jeaneth atleast ikaw may talent sa music galing pang magpiano!!! 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe. Parehas tayo, v rin ibon ko 😆tapos stick ang tao ko.

Hmmm, still learning pero getting there. Hehe 😅

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I enjoyed reading this and I found your daughter as cute. Her drawings are also cute and I can say that she has a vast imagination to the point that she drawn the fingers and it is detailed😆 So cute❤ also, there's a thing that I learned like the drawings has a meaning though I already knew it but I don't know how to interpret it😆

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Haha, thank you Lau! Sana marunong din ako magdrawing. Ala talaga akong talent. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha hindi din po ako marunong magdrawing kahit digital art nahihirapan ako😆 Same po tayo walang talent hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know much aboit art neither have interest on it. Pero yun Papa ko is napakagaling magdrawing, kaso di namin namana magkakapatid. Pero yun anak ko may talent sa pagdraw, although late nya na nadiscover, but still kakakitaan mo na magaling sya.

Anyway, cuties mga art ng babies mo.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Haha, si Papa din, siguro kay mama kami nakamana di rin marunong magdrawing. 😅 Buti tong mga anak ko kahit papano biniyayaan. Thank you bhe!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great article. Your daughter is too sweet and creative. It is true that through children's drawing, emotions are revealed. My sister is a teacher. She told me a story. The children had the task of drawing a family. One boy drew, Dad, Mom, Sister and himself. Missing older brother. The teacher asked him, why didn't he draw his brother too? He said no, let a neighbor draw it. It was his rebellion, because his brother was constantly playing with his peer from the neighborhood.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you my dear. She is true! What a sad story of the boy you shared. Truly his drawing reveals his emotion, how he feels about his brother not playing with them but to neighbours instead. Thank you for sharing. ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wonderful, Tia is a real artist. I remember my son when he drew his mother in kindergarten. I was as huge as a mountain.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you, love. Haha thank you for sharing, your son sees you as his big great Mom! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love this! My mom used to have me make a "drawing diary" before I could write so I could track my day and focus my thoughts. Your daughter's drawings are really cool and I hope you guys keep them show them to her when she gets older so she can reflect back on this time.

Wow! While I was aware of the exaggerated hand sizes indicating more controlling or stronger personalities, I never knew about how their choice of color also had meanings! That's really cool!

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Wow! Thank you, I got an idea from you. Would love to make an account for her and send her all her arts and snaps I take everyday. Would love to show her that! Thank you so much, that's brilliant. And what an amazing Mom you've got! Cheers

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is so sweet, I adore children, kiss your daughter instead of me, tell her to draw beautifully. She's a sweet little one

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you my dear for your sweet words and kisses delivered! 🥰 Mum love kids so they are spoiled. I have a feeling you spoil kids too. 😄

$ 0.00
3 years ago