Umami-a taste that entices!

27 64
Avatar for sandra22
3 years ago

When specifying types of flavors, it is usually stated that there is sweet, salty, sour and bitter. However, there is another type of taste, for which there are receptors and which is called umami, and it represents the taste of meat, meat broth and the like. The closest thing to describe is that it would taste like soy sauce. The existence of such a taste and receptor for it was internationally recognized by the academic community in 1987 at the Umami International Symposium held in Hawaii.

What molecules do umami create? We know that hydronium ions, ie. H + ions create a feeling of sour, some other ions are salty, sugars are sweet, but what is umami? It is the taste of glutamate, more precisely, the amino acid L-glutamate, salts of this amino acid such as sodium glutamate, a common flavor enhancer or various 5'-nucleotides such as guanosine monophosphate or inosine monophosphate.

The sensation of a "meaty", "spicy" taste that lasts a long time in the mouth is caused by the presence of a carboxyl ion (RCOO-), derived from glutamate, which irritates specific receptors on the tongue. The name umami itself comes from the Japanese language (う ま 味) and means “pleasant, spicy taste”. The word was coined in 1908 by the Japanese chemist Kikunae Ikeda, who isolated glutamate, and called sodium glutamate ajinomoto, which means "essence of taste", and began the industrial production of glutamate. It was he who confirmed that sodium glutamate was responsible for the specific pleasant taste of tomatoes, parmesan, meat and algae, and hypothesized that people developed a sense of this taste when they began to eat protein more intensely.

Kikunae Ikeda wondered what gave such a specific taste to dashi, the paste-shaped foundation from which miso is made. The basis for dashi is one brown alga (Phaeophyceae), Laminaria japonica (Saccharina japonica), also known as "kelp". It was from the extract of this algae that he was able to isolate the said glutamate.

About 50 peptides cause a sensation of umami taste. It is interesting to note that umami balances the taste and rounds off the aroma of the dish, so this word has become very popular among chefs. However, if you look at the composition of various spices for dishes and sauces, chips and other snacks, you will probably find in the list that one of the ingredients is glutamate, usually in the form of sodium glutamate. Glutamate itself is a very important neurotransmitter in vertebrates - about 90% of synapses in the human brain are of the glutamine type, and glutamic acid plays an important role in learning and memory processes.

However, sodium glutamate, like other additives, was blacklisted: it is associated with the "Chinese restaurant food" syndrome and has been accused of causing unpleasant symptoms, such as headaches, stomach aches and dizziness, and has become a very undesirable ingredient. This has been shown to be true - sodium glutamate can cause such reactions, but if ingested in high concentrations,> 5 g. This is really possible: according to the FDA, adults can take up to 13 grams of glutamate a day, but it should be emphasized that not all of this glutamate is in the form of sodium glutamate. Occasional use of things that contain glutamate, that is, reasonable use of this additive in food will not lead to some of the described symptoms. It should also be noted that different people have different tolerances, and that asthmatics are more sensitive to sodium glutamate than the rest of the population.

Umami is what lures us, what makes us enjoy it. If this sensation is caused by naturally occurring substances in the food or just a reasonable amount of additives, then the food should be enjoyed. But the violence to create umami taste has never yielded gourmet results. Also,according to some research, umami is the taste that we can best feel on airplane flights because due to the “white noise” on the flight we lose our sense of other tastes. So, the next time you travel by plane, order Bloody Mary, which has a lot of umami aroma because of the tomatoes ... or soup, if they serve it.

They say it’s very tasty, I haven’t tried it yet but would love to try that flavor!

29
$ 1.15
$ 0.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.34 from Anonymous user(s)
A
$ 0.03 from @tired_momma
Sponsors of sandra22
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sandra22
3 years ago

Comments

I could never eat live fish meat.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The meal looks nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would also love to have it and I have never tried it on my own and by looking at your article it seems that it is quite tasty and delicious

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't like any fish specialties, not even canned or home-made ones, so I don't believe this will ever be on my table, but it's certainly a very nicely written article and useful for those who love fish dishes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

To be honest, I do not like raw fish, and i am not sure that I will try this. But, I have to say that this meal must be very healthy, and people should focus on healthy food. Many people are making many mistakes with their nutrition, for example, me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have also become a good blogger and housewife, you must be very much in love

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It look so delicious

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha if I'm right we have Vetsin or magic scrap in the Philippines that gives us that umami flavour and here in UK Worcestershire sauce as my husband loves it! I suddenly feel hungry reading this. Have to eat some umami!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hear about this taste for the first time and I can't understand that there is such a taste, which they won't invent yet

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I didn’t know there was a taste of umami but I learned something and will definitely give it a try.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice and so good informative post... Thank you so much my friend...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, for the first time I hear about Umami taste. Very informative article and I would really like to try this!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I haven’t tried yet.. But you gave us lots of information. Are you a teacher or knowledge seeker?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love Umami food

$ 0.00
3 years ago

its look delicious

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've never heard of umami, I would also like to try that taste. Good article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I’ve never tasted umami flavor.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ummai flavour is really good to test with food. I like it so much. Such a great wrote with this flavours. I like it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love sweet from my childhood. I am also like sour..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm a big fan of the umami flavour! Here in the UK we have a sauce (condiment) called Worcestershire sauce, which is a good way to add umami to dishes - everything from cheese on toast to spaghetti Bolognese. Actually I think Worcestershire sauce is a traditional ingredient in a Bloody Mary, so must add to the umami content there too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Umami is also a seasoning, right? Here, it's called n known as vetsin or betsin, we used that one in cooking or to make the food tasty n delicious or yummy or to make it taste good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Since I am a fan of new and interesting flavors, I would like to try this umami taste ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love the part that there is "chemistry " related thoughts

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Omg never heard of the word ever in my life

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If this is a taste that entices then i will try it definitely,i like trying something new

$ 0.00
3 years ago