Bigger by the second.

10 44
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Fatter by the second was the actual line...

Throughout my life, I've experienced fat shaming in one form or the other. I've been called names and and have been cast out just because the way I look, all facts that have left deep scar's in me, and have brought my self confidence to the lowest levels.

But why do we act in such a way? And I say we because at one point in our lives we all have been guilty of casting bad comments about the appearance of others, due to immaturity, anger, or even low self-esteem which can make a person project into another their feelings of insecurity.

Be that as it may, it is wrongful behavior because everyone is dealing with battles of their own, and we can't possibly know what is the reason behind that extra weight we carry.

In my case, and speaking of actual weight, kilos or pounds, I have a condition, which is known by most of those who read me, and it can trigger different afflictions like anxiety, depression and gastrointestinal illnesses. I for example, have all of those plus a very slow metabolism, so even if I eat small quantities, I put on weight very easily. Another thing is that in very hot or humid weather, I swell up and retain water which makes me look bigger than I actually am.

My closest know this but still, I'm not out of the woods and still get comments like yesterday, when a friend took a picture of us and then posted it in his Whatsapp stories with the quote "Fatter by the second".

Now, did he mean to hurt me? Or was that quote a product of his immaturity (he's 19). Maybe it was misinformation, which I highly doubt because he knows very well my condition and how I feel about being called fat. Only he knows the reasons why he decided to post that, me on the other hand asked him politely to take it down, which he did, but I was already hurt by it.

I have another recent occurrence involving eating and weight. Several days ago I was talking to another friend of mine and entered in a discussion about eating habits-he is one of those people who no matter what or how much they eat, they are always skinny, something he takes advantage off by eating all sorts of delicious but unhealthy foods.

I teased him by saying that it is rare to see him eating broccoli and all sorts of veggies because he always eats fried chicken and donuts. He lashed out at me and said that I'm more unhealthy than him because I always post on WhatsApp, pictures of the foods I make.

Now, just because I post pictures of pretzels and moka marquise does that mean I eat them? Nope, actually the marquise I didn't had any, only the scraps of the pot in which I made the cream, the pretzels, just one, and it is like that with pretty much everything, but he implied that because I cook it and I post it, I eat it, and I eat it all.

I didn't get mad, I just replied that he had a very wrong assumption about my eating habits and that was that. Later he called me fat, he said, "No wonder you're so big".

Hurtful words, and a bit of an overreaction to "Wow, you eating broccoli? That's new". That's it, that's all I said, and got called fat and a glutton.

Was it called for? I don't think so.

Did I hit a nerve with my comment? Maybe, because he might be feeling self-conscious about not being able to gain weight fast, I don't know. What I do know is that the reply was a little to much, it was hurtful, and it made me feel really bad, but I still apologized for my comment.

I'm battling a war with my self image, I hide beneath baggy clothes because I don't like people to see my Michelin belly and my big arms. I know I should accept myself as I am, and also know that I'll never be that dolled up woman men crave for (nor I want to be one), but is hard to accept me as I am when I still hear people calling fat for no good reason.

As I said earlier, everyone has their own battles to fight, and if you don't know what they are about, you should always be aware that your words have the power to hurt, even if you don't mean to hurt anybody, that's why, our eyes and ears must be wide open to see and act in a respectful manner, for all of our sakes.



Check out my wonderful and their awesome content!

Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty


Like this? check out my latest articles 👇👇👇

Without seeing I still see you.

Exploding Eggs.

In my old San Juan...

Mukbang: should I try it?



This is 100%Original Content.

The images are from Unsplash and provided by this site.



See you next time.

✨✨ Blessings ✨✨

@rebeysa85

March 10th, 2022.

9
$ 4.75
$ 4.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Porwest
$ 0.10 from @Jento
+ 2
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Comments

I just realized that you don't need enemies, what for? With those friends they are enough, I would have erased them from the map forever and I don't care about apologies, they leave and that's it. It bothers me when they do something like that. We had a friend who said hello to my wife: "if you're fat", that friend was very fat, until one day I greeted her saying how fat she was, she never said hello the same again. But looking at the old photos, my wife was fat, lol...and so was I.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha that's right, they are enough 🤣 I have a friend that calls me "gorda", but she calls everyone like that, not only me, it's her standard pet name for those closest to her, but she always says that I'm beautiful like I am and if someone tries to fat-shame me, she steps up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always been big ever since, first because i love eating and its our bond time with my boys. And i totally nailed it when i got my Physical Exam this morning and i weigh almost a ton! lolz... 68 Kilos, 151 pounds. I was so shocked with the weight because i never really realized i have grown so big. My director actually made fun of me saying "Im so big already"... but my instant reaction was, "kebz" - meaning "dont care!" and at the back of my head "if you envious, join me... but you are already bigger than me yourself!". lolz... But honestly, i was alarmed because it triggers my allergies and asthma. Yes, like you even if i only have a meal a day i bloated exponentially. Though, in the past, only my mom bully me that much "saying i was fat and i need to diet down.", she is mom so she is forgiven. while others criticizing my weight, well fortunately for me i really dont have a lot of people who say their words blatantly upfront. But still, i really need to tone it up because it not good with heart and i am not breathing comfortably. I the next few, will have to really think harder about the food i eat, i need to lower the weight to live comfortably everyday. I really dont like having rhinitis everyday in the office, it feels like i just lost a cat and kept on crying the whole night. Just sharing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When I was on my highest weight I couldn't even see my neck, it was horrible, and the pain I felt in my joints and bones was just plain awful 😞 but it wasn't about just my diet, it was also the medication I was taking at the time. After I left it, I slowly started to lose some kilos and then the country's crisis reached its peak and I was finally under 50 kilos, it made a huge difference in my pain, it was more manageable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I avoid people that are not nice or very toxic. I do not need them in my life because they will suck the happiness out of me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True haha like a dementor 🤣 in this case they are people who are nice, except for this instance where they made me feel bad. The kid of fatter by the second yesterday gave me a piece of pumpkin Quesillo 🤦🏻‍♀️ it was his way of apologizing for what he did.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The bottom line is that some people are just cruel, for whatever reason. I have no time for people like that and don't care what they think.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If it's people I don't know fine, I ignore them, but when it's people who are close to me, people I see and interact with everyday, it makes me feel bad, and angry and at the same time ashamed.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There are times that we need to hide just because we dont want to embarrass ourselves. I wear pants in the fact that I have a lot of scars in my leg due to my allergies.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't understand why some people have the need to feed in another's insecurity and pain, thus creating our need to hide those things that makes us feel embarrassed and ashamed. It's wrong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago