Exploding Eggs.

15 45
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Weird title, right? What do you think it means?

Well, many things can come to mind for it is a very open title. It can be a metaphor for a particular situation, it can be I want to talk about science, or it can be literally that I want to talk about exploding eggs.

Years back, I saw some videos about experiments of microwaving a hard-boiled egg, simple yet dangerous if not done with the proper precautions, for they can make quite a bang, so I decided to make a search about it again to see what it was all about.

According to Discovery Magazine website:

The research team’s investigation revealed that tiny pockets of water can super-heat inside microwaved eggs, bursting with potentially dire consequences.

By Charles Choi Dec 6, 2017 2:40 PM

The same thing can happen with potatoes, who would have known? Not me, I can tell you that much, I don't like to use microwave ovens unless it is to make popcorn or a mug cake, and since the one we had broke years ago, I just don't use it, period.

Now, those are experiments and isolated cases around the world, but, what happens if an egg explodes because it's rotten? Can you imagine the smell?

I can, one exploded today when I was arriving home, after buying a full carton. With the smell still burning through my nose, I'm laughing because it made me remember those years in high school where the mischievous group threw fetid bombs in a closed classroom to spite a particular teacher or a particular student, or just simply for kicks.

Here's the story about today-Gigi and I went out this afternoon to make some purchases for the long weekend we have over here since in our country is Carnival, which means 4 days of vacation on the beach, the country or just in your street, throwing water balloons to other people, or buckets of water, or flour and rotten eggs.

The town is filled with people buying all they need for their trips, long lines at the different gas stations are disturbing regular traffic and the heat we are having makes everything worse, that's why we decided to go out a few hours ago, fewer people, less traffic, same heat though.

Anyways, we needed napkins, toilet paper, coffee, of course, butter, lightbulbs because they burn fast thanks to our wonderful energy service, and eggs. I didn't want to go too far from home, I haven't been sleeping very well this week and I'm utterly tired, so we went to a little store 4 blocks from our house. The lady is very nice, we always chat with her and the prices of some articles are significantly lower than the supermarket or other stores, one of those items being eggs, so when she said how much it costs the whole carton I didn't hesitate to buy it. After paying, we went to the bakery to get some bread and then we went back home, and upon arrival it happened, they were inside a bag inside another bag. Gigi opened the door for me and while I was walking in a loud bang scared me, which at first I thought was the soda bottle we had bought- Then the smell, my oh my the smell! It wasn't the soda bottle, it was the eggs.

Let me tell you, I have seen and smelled my share of rotten eggs, but never in my life have I ever seen or heard an exploding egg, let alone an exploding rotten egg. It was enough to make a person empty their stomach, or not want to eat eggs ever again. And the bag they were in, all covered with a yellow-brown-black substance, was absolutely disgusting.

As fast as we could, we unloaded the rest of the things we bought with mom, and went back to the store, almost running, trying to get away from that smell as soon as possible. Thankfully the lady, being as nice as she is, returned the amount I paid for the eggs apologizing for it every three words, and her husband as well saying it was because of the heat, which according to what I saw in the web magazine mentioned above and other articles I read, it's possible, especially because of the interaction of the heat and the gases built up inside the decomposing egg.

Going back home Gigi and me were laughing because neither of us had experienced such a thing so we walked and started spraying ourselves with alcohol, which in my case ended up in my mouth. Crazy!. In the end, we didn't get the eggs but instead, we got a hilarious story and a learning experience.

On a more serious note, I want to express my sincere words of concern and support to all the people who are being affected by the current crisis between Russia and Ukraine, like I said this morning to our friend @Belozoriana, nothing justifies the loss of life.

Peace on earth, goodwill towards men, is not a phrase to apply just during the Christmas Season, it is something to uphold every day of our lives, and even if I don't know much about politics in my country, let alone in other countries, and I don't know much about the reasons of the present conflict, I do know that war is a futile thing, used when sense and reason are nowhere to be found, and the thirst for power is bigger than the wish to do good for humankind.

I hope that this doesn't escalate more than it has, and in the meantime, I hope you can keep as safe as possible from danger.

Our hearts, thoughts, and prayers are with you.



Check my wonderful sponsors and their awesome content!

Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty


This is 100% Original Content.

The images are from Unsplash and provided by this site.



See you next time.

✨✨Blessings✨✨

@rebeysa85

February 25th, 2022.

8
$ 3.31
$ 3.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @kingofreview
$ 0.05 from @Unity
+ 3
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Comments

Oh what a horror, it must have been so disgusting haha but now it has become a story to tell.

My couple told me that when he was little he was hungry and his mother told him to put an egg in the microwave, but he didn't know how he should put it in, so he did as he was told, he put the egg in the microwave and after a while it exploded hahaha it all got really messy and his mother upset haha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha yes, one of those kind of anecdotes for ages!

I believe the only egg experiment I've made is the one about a fried egg on the street, you know? On a very hot day yo crack an egg on the side walk or directly on the asphalt to see if it cooks? That one, haha mine didn't work and mom got upset lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never done that, my parents would have punished me haha but I have seen many people on the internet doing it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I saw a new one! You put a pan under the sun for a few hours and then crack the eggs and see if it cooks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahah I don't think I would do that, I like the traditional cooking method, but it would be nice to try it when there is no gas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol 😂😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was intrigued by your title so before I read all of it I took your challenge to share my thoughts about it and I've got nothing, haha it just made me hungry lol.

After reading it I'm taking what I've said above, just by thinking how it smells, its far worst than smelling a fart its the worst

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha my sister is traumatized, she can still smell them even though we took them back to the store, she just doesn't want to see an egg for a long time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I could understand what she feel haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I suddenly remember my Seconday years...

Four years ago, I accidentally broke the egg which is intended for our school task, and I don't have choice but to clean up the mess. And since I am afraid that my mom will be angry on what I have done since I am zero on that performance tasks, I seeked the mess (the cloth where I wiped the egg) on my drawer and it stinks after a couple of weeks. My mother became angry on me, and she doesn't have choice but to wash all of my clothes in the drawer hahahah

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My God, I can imagine the stench! And you poor momma, it must have been difficult to take the smell away LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yea, I hope the war ends soon. Nothing will be enough to justify the deaths it will bring

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Me too, we're all praying for that, the images are horrible :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rotten eggs are the worst! 🤢 I cannot stand the smell of it. I gag everytime. On the other hand, let us pray for world peace!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Me neither, I remember one time when I was making a tortilla (omelet) and I used to crack the eggs directly into the pan, and one of them was rotten and it ruined everything, I lost 7 eggs that time, and it was at night time for dinner, so tired and all I had to start all over and make something else. From that day I crack them one at a time in a separate recipient beforehand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago