In my old San Juan...

10 36
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

My home, my precious home.

There are almost no people I know that don't love their hometown, even if at some point, they hate it. I do, I mean, you can't walk freely on the streets because they are always overcrowded. Bikers take the road all to themselves and circle in the opposite direction whenever they saw fit, car drivers also do this, but bikers are worse. The heat especially on summer days is awful, even in the shade, you feel you are a chicken roasting on a spike, and you always get back home smelling like a desert trucker after a three-day journey.

But when the town is calmed, and the weather is nice, we can appreciate all the beauties it has to offer, which can be found almost everywhere, we just have to look closer, something my friend Abraham did very well yesterday afternoon when we were walking back home from rehearsal and he took upon himself to capture three spectacular pics and has kindly lent them to me.

Saint Jhon-The Baptist.

This statue dates from 1933 I think, it has a height of more than 19 meters and was the tallest statue of my town and still is one of the tallest in the country. It is placed in what was initially a hill, which is now called Las Colinas de San Juan, or Saint Jhon's Hills, and it's is on Simón Bolivar Square, looking down to Saint Jhon's Cathedral. In front of the statue, there are Two Guardian Lions, all carved in stone, very beautiful and imponent.

We didn't go up the hill, but as we were walking by, my friend took this picture, with the sunlight picking up behind the statue, just beautiful.

The Willow Tree.

I have always called that tree that way since I was little, it has always made me nostalgic and curious about it. Differently from the common willow tree, this one is less bushed but it has little things hanging from it like strings r something, I don't know what it is, but it is always like that, the air is cold on that spot, which is good, especially on very hot days.

Almost Home.

This picture is just amazing, it's near my home but nearer to his home. I just can see him walking that road with his little sister by his side and stopping to take a breather on nature's amazing wonders. You can't see the botched up streets or anything else for all that matters is that sun, saying goodbye to us for the day, grasping those mountains as the clouds are taking point to welcome the moon and the dark sky.

My town is not perfect, but it has some beautiful things to offer, because nature is kind to it, unlike us who live in it, but nevertheless, unselfishly, it still gives us beauty and amazing moments, that will live on in our minds and hearts.

I also took some pic's, from a Eucharis Amazonica we have at home and that it hadn't bloomed in more than thirty years. Of course, I'm not as good as my friend taking pictures, but it doesn't look so bad.



Check out my wonderful sponsors and their awesome content!

Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty


Like this? check out my latest articles 👇👇👇

Mukbang: should I try it?

I'm Changing.

Food Journal: When Coffee made love to Chocolate.

Play the Drumrolls...#MyReadCashStory 



This is 100% Original Content.

The Town images are property of my friend Abraham and taken with his Redmi 9T. I have permission to use them.

The Eucharis Amazonica images are my property and taken with a Redmi 9A.



See you next time.

✨✨Blessings✨✨

@rebeysa85

February 5th, 2022.

9
$ 2.85
$ 2.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
+ 3
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Comments

Home will always be home, even if we have left or say that we hate that place, there will always be some memory or some moment that we love that we have spent in that place, there will always be the good times and we will remember that we don't really hate it, just that things are not like before.

Very beautiful pictures, I loved the picture of the tree and the pictures of the flowers.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's very true, I can't see myself parting from my hometown, it is part of who I am. The flowers! What amazes me about them is that they are blooming after 30 years, I thought that plant would never bloom again ever, and then it happened, it's awesome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's nothing a great place like home. A place where we knew and discover things. Anyway, I love the beauty of the sun.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Home is were the heart is they say, and it's true, I can't imagine myself living elsewhere. Last night the moon was absolutely beautiful but I didn't dare to take out my phone haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As I was watching your beautiful post, I was humming the song, "en mi bello San Juan", I love it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's a beautiful song, I had it on YouTube while writing, it realy warms up my heart, making me remember all the times I left, gladly I did came back to my San Juan ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is perfect when there is no noise and everything is calm, beautiful photos. Those strings that you see on the tree are adventitious roots, which come out of the branches, this tree can be reproduced by cuttings.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It also has a fragrance very peculiar, I like it, not everyone does, but I feel it complements the setting. That tree I think is a Saman, but I'm not sure because all over town there are few Samanes but with out the adventitious roots.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The saman has no adventitious roots

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha ok, then they are not Samanes 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago