That Time I Dreamt How a Pacquiao Fight Would End

15 33
Avatar for melsiebelsie
2 years ago
Sponsors of melsiebelsie
empty
empty
empty

Scientists still aren't sure what the real purpose of dreaming is. However, they do have theories. According to this article, dreams may be there to help you process your emotions (like a therapist), to help you get ready for future threats (like with nightmares), to help your creative juices flow (song ideas, movie ideas, etc.), or to help you store memories better (more info in the linked article).

I'm not really sure what purpose this dream I'm going to share serves because all it has done is confuse me and make me question a few things about life. Does it feel like I'm exaggerating? Lol. I feel like I am. But anyway, on with the story.

One night in 2009, I was watching a kind of pre-fight documentary for Manny Pacqiuao and Ricky Hatton's boxing match for the next day. I couldn't forget this because I remember just feeling so annoyed at Floyd Mayweather Sr., Hatton's trainer that time. He was just so arrogant not only in the documentary, but also in the past interviews they've done to promote this fight. I've never been a die-hard Pacquiao fan, nor a boxing fan (now that I'm an adult I just see boxing as a human version of sabong), but my teenage self couldn't help but feel excited and elated whenever a Pinoy Pride moment is about to happen.

So, I went to sleep after watching the documentary. Yes, as I stated in the title of this article, I did dream that Pacquiao would win the fight. But, not only that, I dreamt how it would happen.

Because it has been over a decade since this happened, I can no longer remember all the details of my dream. But I remember watching the fight as if I was there and hearing that it was already Round 2. Pacquiao threw a punch that landed on Hatton's head, then Hatton went limp and fell on the floor. Suddenly, as if I was gazing from the ceiling of the arena, I saw a bird's eye view of Hatton's body on the floor, spread-eagled and unconscious in the middle of the ring. Then I woke up.

I thought it was just one of those times where I dream about whatever the last thing was that I watched on the TV. This happened to me a lot when I was a kid. Imagine watching Magandang Hatinggabi (a horror comedy movie in the late 90s) before going to sleep, then dreaming about it, but this time you're one of the cast.

Anyway going back to the story, I told my family about my weird dream and no one had any thoughts about it. Because it was just a dream. Imagine my shock when the match was finally on and in the middle of Round 2, Manny Pacquiao knocked Ricky Hatton out with a heavy left-hook.

Photo from presstelegram,com . Article linked on the photo.

My bird's eye view of Ricky Hatton from my dream flashed back in my mind. I just couldn't believe it! We could see on the TV that Hatton was on his back, unconscious. The way he was positioned looked almost the same as it was in my dream!

Photo from The Guardian. Article linked on the photo

I wouldn't be as shocked as I was if the only detail I got from my dream was "Pacquiao knocked out Hatton". But no, I got "Pacquiao knocked out Hatton on Round 2" with a clear mental image to boot! If I was the betting type and I had gotten this dream a few days prior, I would have won a lot of money for sure.

Researchers have offered a few possible explanations for why some 17.8% to 38% of people have experienced at least one precognitive dream. However, these explanations are based on dreams that "seem" to predict the future. Meaning there are just elements in the dreams that can be correlated to future events, which is very different from my experience because everything that I saw in my dream (except for the position of Hatton's arms) happened exactly in real life.

I wish I could tell you that I had more of these precognitive dreams, but I can't because I've only had this one in my lifetime so far. If I had more of these dreams, I might go on a tailspin and go crazy. Or I might consider being a fortune teller and make money out of it. I guess the universe was just giving me a little glimpse of the future so that I could tell people a weird anecdote when conversations get dull and the topic about dreams suddenly pop up. But, dream gods, I wouldn't mind if you show me numbers in my sleep. Preferably 6 digits between 1 to 58. Please show them to me as clearly as you did back in 2009. I'll jump on the chance right away this time. Char!

Have you had any of these weird dreams before? Were they precognitive just like what I had? Do you believe that future events can be predicted through dreams? I'd love to know your stories so please share them in the comments!


This is my second try at writing using one of @JonicaBradley 's writing prompts. When I read that the topic for this week is DREAMS, I immediately thought of this specific dream that I have never forgotten and probably never will.

If you would like to join in, the rules are simple.

  1. Write anything on Dreams

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words to please Rusty

  4. Join and submit your stories to PromptlyJonica

  5. Tag @JonicaBradley

  6. Have fun!

See you in the next one!

Lead image is from Unsplashed.

Here are other articles I wrote that made use of writing prompts/challenges. Please check them out if you have time :

Let's make noise at noise.cash!

Also, please check out my sponsors below. They're very interesting people with very interesting articles. I would also love it if you consider being one of my sponsors too. :)

Thank you for the support, sponsors and people who upvoted my articles! I truly appreciate you!

12
$ 0.16
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.03 from @Micontingsabit
$ 0.02 from @jasglaybam
+ 3
Sponsors of melsiebelsie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for melsiebelsie
2 years ago

Comments

Walang trapik dito pag may fight si Pacquiao :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kahit saan yata sis. Haha. Kung ayaw mo manood ng laban niya at gagala ka, wala ka rin naman masakyan lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Madalas nun high school hanggang bigla na lang din nawala di ko na maalala at wala na ako maalala kumg paano nag umpisa or paano nawala.. Pati exams ko napapanaginipan ko results hahha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hala. Hanggang ngayon nangyayari pa rin sayo? Nakapanaginip ka na ng numbers pwede pang taya sa lotto? Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaja iwish my lotto na noon hahhaa.. Waley na nun magcollege nawala na din..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have had a lot of precognitive dreams in my life but they are mostly disturbing, i even wrote about✌

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oooh, interesting. I'll check your article. Thanks for reading mine!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Heyyyy para pong same with dejavu ang precognitive dreams

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hello! I think magkaiba siya since feelings of deja vu are based on something that a person might have experienced before in real life. While precognition is madam Auring vibes haha. Pero I'm not an expert so what do I know lol. Thank you for visiting! ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alam ko parang twice mo napaniginipan yern. Hahahahaa.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Once laaaang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana makapanaginip ka ng number tas ako tataya. tas hati tayo sa prize hahahha!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha. Bonggang bonggang swerte

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember when i was akid ,every time pacquiao had a fight ,you cant see people on the street in our place coz all the people i think are watching and supporting pacquiao

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, ganun nga usually kapag may laban si Pacquiao.

$ 0.00
2 years ago