Wedding Bells Are Ringing

9 57
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

I think that there are many more people who would relate to me when I say that my days have all been so routine lately. They are mostly revolving around computers, articles, cryptocurrencies, and games. And I think that you are nodding to it as you are reading this. There's nothing wrong with that. We get our own share of drama, action, suspense, horror, and a whole lot more just looking at the crypto charts and trying our luck trading and claiming cryptocurrencies.

Although we both agree that that kind of routine life is not bad, it's not really that good either. Life should be lived and so should we.

And I was just glad that I had come out of that routine a couple of days ago. Instead of the usual day's work, I took the day off and attended a family gathering. I was invited to my cousin's wedding. And of course, I heeded the invitation, I love weddings! I really do love a good wedding, even if I really don't love the idea of marriage. I just don't see the magic of it. I mean, I believe in the magic of having found that one you can share your life with, but I just don't really subscribe to the allure of binding contracts such as marriage. Love and relationship should be based on emotions, feelings, and in the heart. It should not be based on paper.

And another reason I wanted to attend is we're really close, my cousins and I. Since I don't have a brother living with me in the house, we sort of made a bond of brotherhood amongst ourselves. We were close in age too so we bonded naturally.

It was a chance to dress up and be merry, and that we did. The ceremony was shorter than the normal ones and the event was pretty private too. There were just a few tables and not that many guests. With pandemic still in our lives, it's still not a good idea to gather up a huge bunch of people and stick them all in one place. It's also a good thing that the venue is an open-air type of place. It was held in a resort/farm kind of setting.

The ceremony was solemn and lovely even though most of us are kind of hungry already. I think that's the norm when it comes to a wedding reception. Guests are forced to feel the hunger first so they could say that the food is good afterward, after all, hunger is the most delicious ingredient. But the food was good, our uncles and aunts cooked them, they didn't choose to have the food catered because it's cheaper that way.

One part of the program that I always love is when the married couple addresses their gratitude towards their folks. You know me, I'm a sentimental guy and I love anything related to tear-jerkers. And when that friend of yours who tend to be loud, tend to be playful, when he begins to show real unfiltered emotions, you'll be teary-eyed too. I mean like, hey dude, we were just drinking this or that and laughing way too hard and now you're sincerely crying while saying thanks? That's just beautiful.

Before, whenever I attend a wedding, I always end up thinking of how would my own wedding go. I was just dreaming about it, I actually had a quotation made just to have an idea how much would it cost me for a fairy-tale wedding of my own design. The numbers cost me my sanity and my dream wedding. LOL. I was already up to 400,000 Php for the first part of the partial quotation. How on Earth could I ever afford that?

After that, I held the belief that less is more, and an intimate and simple wedding will really hold the most probability, logistics, and budget-wise. I would rather spend the cash on the honeymoon. :)

But then again, how could I save that much with a meager job that could barely support me? Such is the dilemma of an average guy, that's what I think.

Hey there!!!

Do you know what's more fun than attending a wedding? Dreaming about it and writing about it. Let's make it into a lovely prompt, shall we?

Write about your dream wedding.

Money and time aren't an issue.

Who are the guests? Who will you invite? Where will you hold the event? Who's doing the ceremony? Who's singing at your wedding? Better yet, who is that person standing at the end of the aisle?

Let the romance come alive for this one, and let the magic of dreams come true.

We will be waiting for your dream wedding at the #PromptFactory. Submit your entries to the community Prompt Factory.

And until we read again...

Cheers!!!

Author's Links

Noise : https://noise.cash/u/MeitanteiKudo

Torum: https://www.torum.com/signup?referral_code=meitanteikudo

Telegram:meitanteikudo

Twitter : boynextdoor1409

Series    : Prompt Factory
Title     : Wedding Bells are Ringing
Published : 16-Dec-2021
Author :  © RB

12
$ 3.84
$ 3.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 7
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

Working without fun makes the work tiring. Your decision on attending the wedding ceremony is a good one I must say, aside the fun of it, it also shows how you love and respect your cousin.

Planning a wedding ceremony should not be a thing of life and death, do it according to your financial capability and that's just the best. I have seen a situation where by a man spent all his life savings on his wedding and after the ceremony finds its difficult to fend for the family, it's so appauling. Trying to please the world not knowing he was going to affect his marriage.

That's why I say marriage is not a do or die afffair.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

thanks.

You have written a very fair point. I wish all the marrying couples realize that. But still, we can't blame others to dream and make it a reality, after all, you (should) only wed once.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love attending wedding ceremonies to celebrate with the couple and have a view of how my own would be.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Parang ayoko sumali sa ganitong prompt. Dream wedding ko kasi punta na lang sa registrar, tapos fill up lang nag marrigae contract at pirmahan. Uwi na pagkatapos. LOL. Gastos ka pa ng malaki eh pagkatapos mamumulubi ka naman.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ay narinig ko na to ah. hahaha hindi ung ideal wedding ah... dream lang.. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm in a relationship with two kids but, marriage, I don't know. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I think it's okay.. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It doesn't matter how fancy the wedding is, the focus must be the love and affection towards the couple. It's okay to have a simple yet memorable one. Php 400,000 is way too expensive and I can't afford that too, maybe being practical is way better.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yep.. should be practical especially nowadays..

$ 0.00
2 years ago