The Old House

17 51
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

The old house, with its wildly overgrown garden, was silent, secretive, and just warrants a lot of curiosity. I always pass by it every morning and I have never once seen anyone coming from it or anyone going to it. It looked abandoned but you would see the lights come on at night.

You can't just see through the fence around it. You can't really peek inside and see anything.

With its ancestral and aged look, it was the center of the town's ghost and mystery stories. There are several stories revolving around the house's history and lore. But if I would share any of it with you, that will be the story of Miss Peregrine.

It was said that Miss Peregrine lived in that house a hundred years ago. She was married to a soldier. It was said that even though they were married, their love story was far from perfect.

The two came from different backgrounds. Miss Peregrine may be considered a lowly peasant and the soldier came from a well-to-do household. Naturally, the soldier's family was against Miss Peregrine and the marriage of the two didn't stop the family from continuously batting their eyes at Miss Peregrine.

They tried to come between the two and they went to lengths to try and tear the lovers apart. They would just try everything and anything just to get rid of Miss Peregrine.

And one of their attempts succeeded.

The plan was simple. They wanted to paint Miss Peregrine as a cheater and a traitor. So one night at the family's command, a man sneaked into the house to gain sexual favors from Miss Peregrine, by hook or by crook. And they made it in such a way that the soldier would catch them in the act and they thought that they will separate on the grounds of cheating.

Miss Peregrine however couldn't be swayed and her devotion to her husband was real and unshakeable. She would rather die than let another man touch her.

And with that conviction, she died.

The man couldn't control her and when she fought back he lost it and was forced to stab her. He wanted to make sure she was dead and he stabbed her 50 darn times.

Her husband found her lying in a pool of her own blood and he took his life right there and then.

It is now said that the shadows seen from outside the house are Miss Peregrine herself waiting for her husband to return. It is said that she's loyal even after her death that she wouldn't leave the house because her husband would just come home to her.

It was a heartbreaking story if it was true. But just like the tales from the old townspeople, I think that it's nothing but a creation of an artistic mind.

But even so, I wouldn't be curious enough to find out if it is real and sneak into the house itself, or so I thought.

It was late in the evening and the whole town was sleeping when I made my way over the old house's fence. Armed with just a small flashlight and a pocket knife, I braved the dark night and jumped over the tall fence covered in vines and creeping plants.

It wasn't really a good landing and I hurt my ankle a bit. That rough landing gave me a bit of a limp. I didn't wanna be caught trespassing so I didn't bother using the flashlight that I brought. I just tried to make my way around the back under the pale moonlight.

I walked very slowly toward the window and tried to see if no one was awake and walking around the house. There was faint candlelight on the second floor of the house which I was guessing was the bedroom. I walked around the house to see if there was an entrance that I could take. I tried to open the front door but it was locked. I wasn't gonna add breaking and entering to a trespassing charge. I'm just there to see if there's any truth to the ghost story so peeking through the visible windows would suffice with my agenda. If only I could just peek through the window of that second-floor room, then I would be contented.

I tried to climb by the side of the house and all the hairs at the back of my neck stood up when I felt someone touch and held my shoulder. I slowly turned to see who it was and her pale face told me a different story.

Hello!!

This has been another freewriting session made possible by The Most Dangerous Writing App and of course, it is another addition to our community: Prompt Factory(1aa9)
The prompt given to me was kind of an eerie one so I just rolled with it:

So what do you think of the article that I came up with? I chose 20 minutes for this one.

What about you? Can you come up with some interesting story with this prompt? Let us know.

That's it from tonight and until we read again...

Sweet Dreams!!!

Author's Links

Noise | Torum Twitter | Hive Publish0x Blurt.blog

Telegram: meitanteikudo

Would You Like to Earn Some More?

Passive income with your internet (gain $5 instantly by using my referral link)

Play some games and earn.

Series    : Prompt Factory
Title     : The Old House
Published : 15-Apr-2022
Author :  © RB

14
$ 4.75
$ 4.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.05 from @Ellehcim
+ 4
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Wto ung movie na ilang beses ko pinanood kase dahil sa sobrang slow diko naintindihan 🙃. Ung pale ba na humawak sakaniya un ung mga monster? 🤣 Sorry nalamon ng movie, parang movie nya naisip ko 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha d ko pa napapanuod un eh hahhaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is that Miss Peregrine who touches your shoulder prof? Hehe. As usual, you did it so well again. I hope I can make one out of this too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha hindi ko na tinuloy at natatakot na din ako hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kinilabutan din ako sa batok sa part na yun😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love conquers all, I can imagine the old house and it's kind of scary hehe.. Ayokong pumunta or pumasok kong ako lang kahit curious ako haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha scary nga. Ung kinikilabutan ka habang nagsusulat. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nag enjoy talaga ako magbasa ng mga article mo friend, sobra kasi ako na eexcite kung ano sunod na mangyayari. Hihi, perfect talaga pagkakagawa, para lang akong nanonood ng tv while reading this. 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyyy. Wow naman.. salamat ng madami. Nakakataba ng puso.. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

More pa friend, hihi,para lang talaga ako nagbasa ng novel, tapos napaka galing ng author. Ganda ng mga scene. 🥰👏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ay grabe sya... may paburger ako pag may pera na. haha Salamat tlaga ng madami. I'll try harder. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pasensya na, Prof. Di ko na tinuloy basahin nang maigi when I saw some words like stabbed. Bawi nalang ako sa ibang artikol 😭. Mag aalas dose ko na nabasa ito. Huhu.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah same time ko naman naisulat... haha hindi ko na nga din magawang matapos at akoy natatakot din. Haha for real. Kinikilabutan ako habang nagttype. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let me guess, the myth was true 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah I don't know too. Haha I got scared while writing. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really can't understand why people would through so much to just make another person look bad..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Human nature

$ 0.00
2 years ago