The Detention Slip

18 86
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

I was under the engine of my pick-up truck tinkering under the vehicle's engine when I heard the front door open up and then it closed. I rolled out with my back on the carton and sat straight. I called upon my son's name to check if he was the one who just got home.

"Andrei!" I called upon him and when I got no answer, I repeated it.

I stood up and picked up a rug and wiped my hands off. They were both so greasy that I wasn't able to remove the majority of the dirt from them with just a rag. I walked up towards the house and entered it through the garage door.

I saw my son sitting on the couch already watching TV, his bag was still beside him and his shoes were still on.

"Andrei, come on, I told you to fix yourself first as soon as you get home." I nagged at him.

He reluctantly followed the command with a blank expression on his face. Kids these days, am I right?

Andrei was in his second grade and he was just starting to explore and learn about the world. We're quite lucky though, he's a good kid and healthy kid. He's quite charming and kind too. Maybe he really took after me. He's really a good kid all around. But of course, just like the other normal kids, he's quite a handful when his wants aren't exactly met immediately. But we are slowly teaching him the ways of the world.

When it comes to his studies, we don't have any problem too aside from he would really rather play or watch cartoons than do his works. But when he does them, he does them right. He's really a bright child if I do say so myself. Again, I really think that this kid took after me.

Of course, I could not and would not take all the credit for that. My wife does a great job keeping the house together and raising him well. She's really good with kids that's one of the reasons why she became a pediatrician. Now that she's got a kid of her own, she wants nothing but the best for our little Andrei. And I do want the same for him.

Andrei took something from his school bag and gave it to me. I could not get a clear read of his face. I sensed some kind of disappointment, fear, sadness, and a bit of remorse. And of course, I am not certain of that. I was just saying what my gut is telling me and/or what I have seen from TV shows. Those shows in which they were FBI profilers and they read human emotions, behaviors, and such sorceries.

I opened up the note and read that it was a detention slip. I would have been furious and I would have been smokingly angry then and there if only I hadn't read the reason for his supposed detention. Instead, I laughed so hard and pat Andrei's head with an attaboy air on me.

You see, he's facing detention because he rang the school bell, and apparently, his reason was to cut the day short and he wanted to go home because I don't have someone to be with at home.

It was sweet, yeah, but the thing that gets me most is that I did the exact same thing back when I was at school. So I was like in the second grade back then and my friend has an older sister in the upper grade. We get out earlier for lunch compared to higher grades. It just so happens that his lunch was being kept by his sister in the higher grade. But since we are already out and I am a bit hungry, we rang the school bell thinking that it will signal the end of the classes. But it did not. We were just sent to the principal's office and were given glasses of milk to drink on.

And then I looked at him again, he really has taken after me, no doubt. I'm sorry honey. LOL

Hiyaa!!!

Howdy do? I hope that this article finds you well and good. And also, I hope that you are in the company of great friends and sumptuous food.

Time for another entry to our #promptFactory community. This time, let us all go back to school, at least when it was supposed to be fun.

This one is pretty simple yet pretty creative. Put yourself in the shoes of a parent. Your kid was given a detention slip. Tell us the story behind the detention, what was your reaction as a parent? Given that same situation as your kid, what would you have done?

Again, thank you for supporting this humble profile and I really do appreciate you dropping by, and as always, until we read again ...

Cheers!!!

Author's Links

Noise : https://noise.cash/u/MeitanteiKudo

Torum: https://www.torum.com/signup?referral_code=meitanteikudo

Telegram:meitanteikudo

Twitter : boynextdoor1409

Series    : Prompt Factory
Title     : The Detention Slip
Published : 09-Dec-2021
Author :  © RB

14
$ 7.02
$ 6.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @bheng620
+ 6
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

Another amazing prompt Sir Kudo. I am thinking what I will write about this prompt.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

looking forward to it. :_)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Proooofff, bat baaaa ang husay2 moooo. Pa mentor ako ahahaha. Anyways, might join this prompt, mataga tagal na din na hindi ako naka join nga mga prompts ehhh. Hahaha talagang nagmana nga sa kanya si Andrei 🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahaha ay tlaga ba?? Maraming salamat sa appreciation. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahhah naalala ko tuloy yung mga ka klase kong pinindut amg bell sa school namin for many times ahahha and everyone panic, hahhah nakkakatawa namana pati na yung reason dito matawa ako

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha iba kasi ang nagagawa ng gutom.. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAH if I was the mother, I wouldn't scold my son for doing the same thing that I did way back in grade school HAHAHHA

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahah panapanahon lang eh, ahhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww, sweet Andrei. I don't think would go mad over his actions too. Sweetest boy in the world.. Another good prompt to write about.. let me dig my braincells for this haha!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe very sweet indeed. Kids are just so adorable when they act all cute like that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never tried to ring our bell in school, and I wish I did it so I can experience that feeling too😁 I mean I want to be naughty for a day but my body won't cooperate.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha then you are reall nice to the core. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Detention sa wattpad ko lang yan na encounter sir🙈

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ay ibang detention naman iyon..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess you should open up a school where you will alwqus teach people some prompt cos you are good at it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha that would be an amazing school

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag kasi detention negative agad ung meaning diba. Parang maiisip mo agad is pagalitan yung anak. Pero okay naman yung reason dito, nakakatawa.. Hahaha!

New prompt! Try ko to gawan, kaso di lang sure kasi di ako nakranas madetention.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahah napaka good girl naman neto.. hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago