It's Closing Time...

26 54
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Closing time, open all the doors
And let you out into the world
Closing time, turn all of the lights on
Over every boy and every girl

Going out nowadays reminds me of the song from Semisonic. At first, I thought that the song was from Greenday but well, I was wrong. But this article isn't about my taste in alternative rock music nor my knowledge of those bands.

This article is about why I feel every time I go out of the house or the office for the first week of the year 2022. I can summarize it for you in a couple of phrases: "2022 is the new 2020" or "Lockdown is waving".

I think by now you know what I am going to talk about. And yes, it's still reigning with a huge crown of infections - Coronavirus.

We're still in crisis. There is still a pandemic, we are not better, it is not weaker, we just thought that we are ready to live with it. But I do not think we are.

Back at the start of 2020, news about a virus that spread in one province of China alarmed the world. We didn't take the necessary precautions because we did not believe that it was real and it was even as devastating as they warned it to be. We thought that they were just exaggerating and social media just added fuel to the flame.

But just a couple of months into the year, we witnessed that nations have been attacked and knelt down to the virus tyrant and nearly crippling down entire countries. The virus closed down the majority of places and businesses and infected people flooded our hospitals and facilities.

It was a scary time and it was hell for many of us. And I am afraid that after a year of lax protocols and a false sense of security, we are now again at the doors of major and granular lockdowns.

Just a few weeks ago, last quarter of the year 2021, everything seemed to be fine. Places were opening and gatherings were held almost everywhere as long as they observe "safety protocols". But I don't think we really practiced anything of the sort. Back then, we were able to play even contact sports such as basketball.

But today, I got up early in the morning to have a quick morning run, I observed that the goals on the basketball courts are tied up and locked again. It may have been a simple precaution but it symbolizes that the fear of another mass spread of the virus is alive again.

As I drive from work, I noticed that military checkpoints are once again being erected at the borders. Just like how it used to be back in 2020 when the authorities were limiting people from going to and from places without just cause. The barricades, the signs, and the masked personnel were all reminiscent of our frightful days of the beginning of this pandemic.

I am not saying anything certain but I really think that we are going to experience the tightened and heightened security protocols again. And I think that it's just the way it should be. Honestly, I thought that lifting the restrictions early last year was premature and we were just asking and waiting for the cases to surge. I just hope that we are not too late this year to react and to stop the further surge.

In the last two years that we have experienced living with this Godforsaken virus, I hope that we learned how to keep safe and how to prevent it, at least how to mitigate the spread. But of course, we didn't.

I don't want to see borders closed again. I don't want to be locked in again inside the corners of my house without feeling the luxury of freedom. I hope that we could get back to normal, the real normal, but if we do need to close down again to make that a reality, I hope that we do the right thing now.

Stay safe and keep your masks on.

Hi there!!!

I hope that this article finds you well and I hope that you are feeling happy, safe, and healthy.

Amidst all of the things that are happening, I appreciate that you take a bit of your precious time off and spend it here. I wish we could chat for a bit. Tell me your thoughts about this or just about anything and drop by on my comment section down below.

And until we read again...

Cheers!!!

Author's Links

Noise : https://noise.cash/u/MeitanteiKudo

Torum: https://www.torum.com/signup?referral_code=meitanteikudo

Telegram:meitanteikudo

Play some games and earn : https://rollercoin.com/?r=kw4ixbkg

Play and earn some BCH : fundoo.app , use my referral code MRNAH to have additional reward.

Twitter : boynextdoor1409

Series    : Random Articles
Title     : It's Closing Time
Published : 10-Jan-2022
Author :  © RB

16
$ 5.43
$ 5.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 5
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

Sighss. So tired about the virus and its effects. We seem to live like we are in a movie.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha this movie sucks!! At least show us some good looking actors lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, the number of infections with the Corona virus is high

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And still rising

$ 0.00
2 years ago

2020 too! Some people are just too careless and only think for their own pleasure. The last time I saw the news about the new number of Covid cases this year was 17k I guess. Ohhh I guess we'll get locked up again. Pero I hope it won't happen

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope not too.. :) And wow 2020too. That sounds terrible.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

NCR ata yung mag lockdown ulit kuya, dito sa Mindanao wala pa namang balita kung maglolockdown ba muli.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ah buti naman.. ingat ingat lang. stay safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We still have to take up precautions to avoid the spread… i just hope all of this would stop and we get to live normal like before, hopefully there won’t be a massive lockdown again

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I don't think we can go through that again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope we never have to see everything closed again too

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, that would be another challenge for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sincerely 😔💔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sincerely

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maglalockdown nanaman ba ulit? Sorry di ako nanonood sa valita kaya magpapakamarites muna ako diro 🥲

$ 0.02
2 years ago

sana hindi... :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wag naman sana maulit 😭. Ang hirap2 pag mag lockdown ulit. Kung kailan unti-unti ng bumabangon ang lahat :(.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ayun bumabangon... nahahawa naman na lahat. hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems like we will go back to the 2020 situation again, the cases of infected by the virus is skyrocketed. Please take csre everyone and just stay at home if you have nothing to do outside. The virus isn't just a joke.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yep, I hope that we could all come out to the other side well and healthy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm afraid lock down are going to implement again due to the high numbers of covid case recorded for the first week of 2022 😥.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's very possible and reasonable scare.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish things will get better just how before the pandemic arrived. I wish that we can have some time for ourselves where there's no fear inside. I wish this will totally end.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, these are really scary times.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's so sad to think all the crisis we have been living with since pandemic came. In our place, while pandemic is going on, swine fever came, which pigs were killed at some areas, then the super typhoon Odette. Southern leyte was hardly hit by the typhoon.

I hope and pray that these will all be ended soon and everything will be back to normal😔

Stay blessed po!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, there's a lot of things going on at once. I hope that we could all survive through this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago