Forget Him Not

24 74
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Letter, Romance

Dear Professor,

My name is Jenica and I just have to let it all out before anything else. I had this relationship from years ago that in simple words, I can't even seem to move on. I am now married with a son and from time to time, almost every other day, I still think about Kevin. He's the guy I have dated before my current husband.

You may call me crazy and all that but I think that it was real love that we had found, him and I, but through some circumstances that we could not control nor conquer, we had to part ways to follow each other's paths.

I wanted to follow my dream of being an actress and he wanted to reach his dreams being a world-class pâtissier which led us to go our own ways. He pursued his calling and he went to Paris and I went to Los Angeles and tried my luck to be an actress. I had a few gigs for the first few years but nothing really big panned out. I made my living through waitressing and dancing provocatively.

I met Liam in one of my jobs and we had just been together ever since. He is a really good guy and a good provider. He's working as a salaryman and what he's making, it's all enough for us. I quit my jobs when I got pregnant with our son and we've been happy.

There is no problem, nothing at all but I just want to know if what I am feeling and thinking is normal. It's been years since I have last seen Kevin but even if Liam and I make love, I still see Kevin's face and feel his touch. There's still that longing feeling but I know that I love Liam and I am happy with him, I am just worried that I am losing my mind. And yes before I forgot, my son's name is Kevin too. If that helps.

Love,

Jenica

Response

Jenica Dear,

Thank you for reaching out to me my child, it's really hard to get through to me these days, that's why I'm had my good friend hook me up with an e-mail. I still am trying to get the hang of it. I am still amazed how the whole mailing system fits in this little thing called laptop.

It's quite convenient to have my correspondence in this little tv thingy while I am on this beach front porch in the Bahamas. I like it here, it's peaceful, the water's serene and the ladies are not too bad, not too bad at all.

Amusing to think though that in the past few days, I have been messaged by a prince of Nigeria, and there lots of bank asking for my account details. I am ignoring all of them, to hell with you guys. But I decided to answer your mail since I think that it is the first time I am using this e-mail stuff.

It sounds to me that you have lingering feelings for your past flame and you could not shake those feelings away. But by jove! Why do you have to name your kid Kevin? Are you trying to make yourself crazy? I just hope that he's got a second name or a nickname cause you might want to be calling your kid another name.

In plain and simple terms, it seems like you haven't really moved on from your past relationship. I think the best thing to do is reach out to Kevin and have some closure. But that might be dangerous for you since it may cause more confusion rather than clarity.

There's this thing you can try but it could make or break your marriage. You can tell your husband about Kevin, but I imagine that there will be hell to pay after this big fight. Depending on his attitude he may help you find your way to clarity or he may leave you altogether.

You may also seek the help of a professional if the opportunity and the means permits.

But for now, I would just like you to focus on the things that matter, your family, your kid and your husband. Maybe it will go away someday, maybe not, but I want you to channel everything you have, your thoughts, your ideas and everything that you do to your family. Maybe if you fake it enough, you will find yourself rid of that longing feeling from the ghost of the past.

As soon as you accept that the past has passed and as soon as you buried the regrets you may have, the sooner you will be able to move on. Accept first that you are in this situation and acknowledge it, it's real and it needs to heal.

I may be vague at the moment but just focus with your present, everything will be clearer.

Love,

Prof

Hey there!

Howdy do?! It's been a while since we have heard from the professor, apparently the old dude is hanging out in the Bahamas, what a life. I want to spend some time there too. Laying there on the sand, watching them girls going to and fro with their beach bodies. Hey prof take me with you sometimes.

Dreaming aside, I would like to thank you for being here and I would like to say that I really appreciate the time you spent reading on in this random post of mine.

This post is a part of an on-going series and if you would like to read the previous parts, the links are here, please give them a read too :

Thank you very much and as always ...

Cheers!!!

17
$ 2.18
$ 1.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Khairro
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 7
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Letter, Romance

Comments

Wow nice article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm fully agree with prof, you could have named your kid cavin, because everytime you call your son, it tell take you your past, give you kid a nickname. Try to stop thinking about past which has been gone, you keep focusing on what you have now. If try live in your past, you present and future will become meaningless.

Oh this is really nice 👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First I would really love to understand if this is a true life experience because it seems I haven't been following up with your letters.

But then again, I don't think I am a fan of marrying someone else when you love another person. It will be so unfair to the person you are marrying that you still have someone else in mind. I can't believe she even named her son after her ex. She must be something else for real😂 Anyway, the response to the letter was a good one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same thoughts bestie..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah real life sometimes is stranger than fiction ain't it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I see

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Prof is right, dear. Just fill your mind and thought about your family. Don't let yourself caged from the past. Your family can help you, absolutely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree with you prof. Fake it 'til you forget him. It was just so unfair to Liam, as for me. Why marry him when you still have lingering feelings for some other guy? This is why it is very wrong to apply this rebound system that "If I'll be with this Guy 2, maybe I'll forget Guy 1." My, is Guy 2 some kind of an object?

I might sound too harsh, but let me tell you that no one would want to be in Liam's shoes, even I'd ask you, hell, you would not want it too. He may not know it, yes, so he ain't hurting.. but a relationship with hidden lies is not something I can be proud with, personally.

Maybe, have some closure, and closure only, with Kevin (and not confusion, like what Prof said), to clear some open ended feelings and questions. Don't do anything you'll regret. Remember, you have a kid already. You would not want to ruin your own family with those leftover feelings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for reading my friend. But first off, you're not angry are you? LOL just kidding. Anyway yep, that's not the ideal scenario but most of the time, it happens, people tend to think that part of moving on is jumping into a relationship with someone new. Sometimes it works, sometimes it does not.

Lol yeah, as if having a kid will make all the difference and will prevent people to do stupid things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know I love this LOTH series and I am always invested in it. LOL . In anyway, it still doesn't sit right to me, what she did.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah yep. As we all know, in life, sh%t happens. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also agree to the professor that it would be unfair to your family specially to husband... hoping that your husband have the patience and understanding specially if when make love a different guy you see .. that can hurt him badly knowing she love you .. Im not judging you you have your choice ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep, I could not imagine how painful that would be for the husband if he knows that his kid was named after a past love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

but the only thing is she not being true to her husband during the wedding including on the vow or before the wedding they spend together should be open up

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"maybe if you fake it enough" this one line hurts so much .... Sometimes i really wonder wht there are people who dive in the relationship even if they are still in live with their ex. I just find it too unfair for the present when he really doesn't have any idea with what's going on with his wife.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But it's normal. Some or most people would consider that it is part of moving on... right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right.. but i still prefer to move on first before diving in to a new relationship

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love how professor, responded. Anyways, why did she even name her son after her ex's name? Of course that would only make her remember him more. Hmm, maybe I will go with faking it. The professor's right, she needs to focus what is in the present and important, that is her family. Maybe, she just needs to fake it until she make it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm. it's really surprising that people are taking the prof's side on this one. I guess we are all on the safe side of things and advocates of faking. .. ;D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True haahha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why did she have to name her kid Kevin,...and prof is really cool and funny y'know..gonna read back on those chapters then

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh cool thaaank you,, as always. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sure pre!

$ 0.00
2 years ago