Our Eyes Can Be Treacherous, and It's Annoying!

20 54
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
1 year ago

Sometimes our eyes are traitors, and they can deceive us.

Yesterday, I went to Muntinlupa to work on something important. Despite my lack of sleep, I have no choice but to wake up early. If my brain can only talk to itself, maybe he’s asking for a few more minutes hahaha. 

My father took me for a ride since I am still unfamiliar with the route. I am glad that we have our own motorcycle because it offers convenience and lets us save on fare. Well, to be honest, I am not quite sure about the "save" part. The spike in gasoline prices makes everything expensive.

In around 15–30 minutes, we were able to reach our destination. The community around the place is quite peaceful and very conducive to learning. The trees in the surrounding area also add to the good ambiance. This is a plus point.

 

Just a short background: for several months, we have been roaming around our area trying to find colleges and universities. However, the tuition fee is overwhelming to the family's budget. I already suggested to my father that he let me go outside of Bacoor since there are a lot of state universities there, but he always refused, saying that he didn’t want me to go to far places. They’re treating me like a baby. However, with the help of my cousin, we were able to convince my father to check out this state university in Muntinlupa. 

 

Despite the fact that we arrived early, we still waited for another 30 minutes because the guidance office was still closed. This gave me a chance to wander around the university. 

 

At a glance, I can say that the place is peaceful, but I also think that it is not like this all the time. Is it still the same when the buildings are occupied by students? Can I still hear the birds sing when voices from the classrooms start to echo from afar? Are the students disciplined? Questions like this make me doubt my expectations. Maybe my eyes are just deceiving me at the moment. 

 

It reminds me of several people I met in my life. There are individuals that look friendly, but as time goes by, you will see their true colors. It's also applicable to people that look surly but will turn out to be the best people you will know. Do you know someone who's like that? Let me share a story. I have an experience where I knew a friend who was quiet most of the time and was a top performer in his class. He's also active in extra curricular activities, which makes me respect and think highly of him. But one day, unexpectedly, I saw his devilish and naughty private life. I swear I never expected that it would turn out that way. My brain can't even comprehend what's happening, so it bothered me for weeks. 

 

It is true that appearances can be deceiving. A book is often judged by its cover, right? We often associate unpleasant things with something that is wrong on the surface. However, when we notice something attractive in a stranger, we tend to assume the best about them. 

 

This also reminds me of the donut I ate at a convenience store several weeks ago. I had a sweet tooth at that time, but I didn't want to travel far because the expensive fare was killing me. Therefore, my only option was to visit the neighborhood convenience store. So anyway, I have a lot of options there; there's chocolate, sweetened beverages, and other sweet snacks. But what really caught my attention was the donuts on the food rack. After a minute or two of choosing what flavor I would put in my mouth, I decided to get the donut with an oreo topping glazed with creamy milk. 

 

After paying P33, or USD 0.66, I immediately went outside and tasted this good looking donut. However, expectations really caught me. The bread tastes bland and dry. The glazed creamy milk doesn't taste good, and neither do the oreo toppings. My eyes deceive me again. The donut was just created to appeal to the eyes but not the taste buds.

 

Same with people, appearances are just there to attract the eyes. But what really matters the most is the character, behavior, and values. The beauty on the outside is nothing if the inside is garbage. Sometimes our eyes are traitors, and they can deceive us.

 

After several minutes of wandering around, I went back to my father's location. I could sense from the look on his face that he was annoyed because I left him there. But as he talks to me, his tone is calm. Maybe my eyes deceived me again? 


CHECK MY RECENT ARTICLE 🤩

You can also read my other articles....

Reach me on:

Noise.cash | Telegram | Twitter

 

12
$ 3.51
$ 3.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Nyctofiles
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
+ 6
Sponsors of kli4d
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

It's either your eyes deceived you again or your father just doesn't want to show you that he is annoyed already. Charr. Haha.

I hope you can find a university that you like.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmm nag-ooverthink tuloy ako, ems hahaha 😂.

Salamat po ate ❤️😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay, sorry namn. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yong akala natin na maldito at maldita mga mahaharot palang nilalang na masayang kasama. Minsan talaga di rin talaga natin dapat paniwalaan ung nakikita lang ng nata natin ee. Need ng reviews ng uba bago dapat tayo mag conclude. UwU

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mismo hahaha. Kaya sabi nga nila, dont judge the book by its plastic cover hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All the best on your next journey!

Maybe it's just we assume too much, or we draw conclusions without really looking closely.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, nice. You make me doubt about my own article hahaha. Maybe my eyes didn't deceived me but I just didn't look closely. Hmmm, good point po ate :))

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May mga tao talaga nas a umpisa lang mabait. But the moment na nakuha na loon mo, dun na ikaw itatake advatange. That is why I prefer small circle na lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Samee, parang habang tumatanda yata ako, mas nagiging unti kaibigan ko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The eyes do like to capture what looks pleasant to it, like me now, I like girls with curves and hips 😅 just joking though is true.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hahaha who doesn't like girls with curves and hips? 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Napapa isip din ako, if yung sarili ba nating mata ang nag dedeceive saating o yung tao mismo. I mean, sa interpretation ba natin kaya tayo naloloko at some point or dahil sa mga tao na magaling mag manipulate ng aura na gusto nila ipakita haha i dunno

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh nice input 💯. Oo nga napaisip rin ako sa sinabi mo, is it our eyes or yung tao/bagay lang mismo? Pero feel ko sa interpretation talaga natin tayo naloloko. Tayo kasi yung nagseset ng standard hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I imagine how good the university is. And ganda ng description pero sana dyan kana makapasok no? Hmm.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana nga para less gastusin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This happens to almost everyone, the Catchy things easily attracts the eyes and the body will be moved to go for it. The examples of the doughnut you gave it's just it.

Also for the case of humans; that's how we are created, everyone has two sides and the good side easily attract the eyes not bothering to check on the bad side of the person

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mag-a-aral ka ulit? Congratulations hehe. Hindi ako pinasa sa only univ na public at malapit sa amin eh. Yung isang univ na alam ko kahit di pa ako natatanggap napakalayo, mga dalawang oras yung biyahe haha. Anyway, may times rin na may mga expectations versus reality pagdating sa foods. Yung akala mo masarap sa tingin pero di naman pala haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo parang di ko na kaya tumambay pa ng isang taon dito sa bahay hahaha. Saan mo balak mag aral nyan? Private?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ewan ko haha hindi na yata muna. Sinayang nila yung determination ko haha....

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sayang naman. Pero kung sakali focus ka muna sa mga side hustles no?

$ 0.00
1 year ago