Is It Okay to OK Emoji React at Work?

8 45
Avatar for keeneek
1 year ago
Topics: Random, Thoughts, Rant, Work, Experience, ...

Honestly, I've been contemplating if I should write something about it or not. But as time passed by, I realized, I become more irritated every time I see that emoji in my messages and I feel the need to pour it out of words. This way, it might lessen the irritation and frustration I've been into since last month.

Image from Unsplash [1]

At first, I just brush it off. In my mind, I just said maybe Miss A was just internalizing everything. But when my period last month hit me so hard, I started getting annoyed by it. I was waiting for the unstable hormones to subside but two weeks later, the annoyance is still there. Then I tell myself maybe it's because of the age gap. But then, the more I think about it, I realized Miss A should've known since she worked much longer than I am.

In a context, I always receive an 🆗 emoji reaction.

Me: Hello, A. Good morning. I added your task to the Trello board. *insert instructions*. Let me know if you have questions.

🆗

Me: Kindly finish it tomorrow so I can check it beforehand. If possible, *insert instructions*.

🆗

There are days that our chat box is full of my messages with her 🆗 emojis only. At that time, my hormones were unstable. Then in the afternoon, that's when the questions start to emerge. So I got carried a little bit and somehow reprimanded her. After a few minutes, I feel bad about it tho.

Antoni kept on telling me I need to understand maybe it was because of the age gap. I'm not sure if it's okay to respond with OK emoji only. I mean, I can't imagine myself doing that to the different project managers, team leaders, and most especially, the CEO!

Image from Unsplash [2]

Well, perhaps, I'm a bit dramatic and sensitive. It's my first time handling someone, who happens to be older than me, so I tried asking a friend of mine who's already a supervisor. I skipped to my previous team leader because I know this kind of reply is a red flag to him. Even my 'Sige2. Okay.' annoy him. That is why I tried my best not to use that and even the 'hehe'.

Anyhow, my friend wants me to confront her if she doesn't have anything to say. Unfortunately, until now, I haven't asked her yet. When I speak to someone older than me, I tend to step back, unless he will do something I don't like at that very moment. But I did take notes.

I need more patience and understanding. I'm positive I can do that and positive as well that I might pour out my thoughts here. Not sure if it's a good thing or not.


Previous articles:



Bisaya • Books • Art • Poem • Anime • Travel • Food • Dogs

Connect with me: Noise • Hive • Twitter • Instagram • Goodreads • APPICS: kneelyrac


6
$ 1.28
$ 1.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.02 from @Eunoia
+ 2
Sponsors of keeneek
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for keeneek
1 year ago
Topics: Random, Thoughts, Rant, Work, Experience, ...

Comments

Hmm, di ko siguro matitiis yung emoji na ok, unless nagmamadali sya? Pero muka namang hindi. At least say good mornign back naman. Oh, well. Like I said, I have a short patience pagdating sa work. Sanay ako sa mabilisan ih. Hmm, regarding sa age gap, maybe this is how gen Z reacts?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She's not a gen Z, ji. Going 40 na siya. Diba usually mga mother, aunts, mahilig magemoji react sa messenger? Yun nalang ang iniisip ko pero minsan talaga pumipitik nerves ko, hindi mapigilan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Personally, I hate that kind of reply even the 'LIKE' in the messenger, geer sense of something I never do; but I am fond of revenge drama; so I do the same when they asked something. I hate that they just show no interest thou hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Huehue, you have the same response as my other friend - used the emoji to her. I'm also like that. But this time, I can't, unfortunately. Coz if she replies, it's in an interrogative form, and I need to answer it since ako yung team lead niya. Walang revenge drama na magaganap.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sis pinakahate nko na nga reply ang ok ba. May pg di moreply kesa ma hb lng ko ai😁..hilig ko mo insert ug emoji pero dili ingon ana pud.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No? Valid rajud lage ako annoyance. Basin man gud over sensitive lang ko or basin OA rako na maannooy ani. Wala palamg ko kamao sis unsaon pagconfront ani saiya. Ako githink unsaon pagstorya na dili maoffend siya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Murag naglisod ko sis hahaha. Lami ingnon anything else sa imong ok😁. Ambot mglagot jud ko ana nga tubag ba nya taas kaau ako sunata.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nagset kog meeting ron sis. Gahunahuna pako unsaon pagconfront going 40 naman gud, gusto ko respectful japon ko paminawon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago