Alert Level 3 But Almost Had No Food to Eat

6 37
Avatar for keeneek
1 year ago

I did not expect Cavite would experience heavy rain and strong winds on Saturday. I only anticipated a drizzle, just like on Friday night. I was supposed to buy groceries with my boyfriend at that time, but I got busy with work and so was he. We postponed it to the next day after our supposed-to-be coffee session in Tagaytay. Antoni wants to go to Tagaytay if it rains, hoping there will be thick fog there. I was also excited since it's another content opportunity.

So we had our Friday night dinner outside and ordered Lomi Batangas. Beside the eatery are Alfamart and 7/11. I wanted to buy breakfast food but the ATM and the GCASH mode of payment were unavailable.

The next day, I woke up at noon and immediately asked Antoni if we would go to Tagaytay. He asked me if I still want to go even if Cavite is alert level 3.

Me: We'll just wait for the rain to subside. If it wouldn't be until 4:30 PM, we'll have to postpone it.

While waiting, I decided to just order lunch via Foodpanda. To my dismay, all of the stores were unavailable. I was starving since it was 1:00 PM already and my dinner last night was Lomi only. I tried diverting my attention by reading a book. Then, the power was cut off - no electricity and water.

It was pouring, and the wind was getting stronger. I don't have a gas stove, only a rice cooker and an induction cooker. My stomach was getting louder, so I asked Antoni if we should go to Waltermart already. It was my first time going out wearing a pajama and a jacket.

When we arrived, the first thing we did was eat at Jollibee. Thankfully, the store accepts cards. I didn't want to surprise my stomach and have a stomachache afterward, so I ordered burger steak only. After that, we went straight to the grocery.

As for fruits and vegetables, I prefer buying them on market. Because of the weather, I decided to buy meat, noodles, egg, canned goods, biscuits, and other needs. We hurriedly went to the cashier to pay because the lights had been flickering. Waltermart was using a generator only.

When the cashier swiped the card for the payment, the system was down and the payment didn't push through. The packer had to take the goods out of the box. All the cashiers had to restart their computers and rescan again the goods. For every scan, there's a 3-5 seconds delay. Just when the payment was made and the receipt was printed, the system was down again. Thank goodness!

After the grocery, we went to the pharmacy to buy medicine for me and then ordered food for our dinner in case the electricity is cut off until evening. When we went out from Waltermart, the wind and rain were even stronger. Thankfully, there were still a few tricycles amid the weather condition. The water in some areas was slowly rising, and some trees were down already. The fare is 35 PHP only, but I gave 50 PHP to the driver.

I then realized there was no power and I bought meat. I arranged the groceries and started reading again until I fell asleep. When I woke up, it was already past 7:30 PM and the electricity was back.

The rain and wind were still pretty strong but praise God nothing bad happened.

Praying for strength and healing to those who are affected by the typhoon.


Other articles:


Bisaya • Books • Art • Poem • Anime • Travel • Food • Dogs

Connect with me: Noise • Hive • Twitter • Instagram • Goodreads • APPICS: kneelyrac

7
$ 1.49
$ 1.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.01 from @Jijisaur
Sponsors of keeneek
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for keeneek
1 year ago

Comments

Prepare ka ng canned goods para sa next months. Pansalba man lang kahit papano.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo, sis. May binili akong canned goods. Yung mga binili ko good for 3-4 weeks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my God. Ang hassle talaga ng bagyo. Hungry, flickering lights, no food, broken system for card. Stay safe, Kneel. May susunod pa daw na bagyo kaya time to imbak goods ulet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo, Ji. Not sure if this week or next week, but hopefully hindi grabe ang pinsala. Di pa nga nakarecover kay Paeng, may paparating na naman.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The storms there are disrupting everything eh? I have been praying a lot for all you in the Philippines. I hope there is great proportion of absence with the storms in the future.

Glad you got groceries and got to eat. Have a great week and new month :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you! There's an upcoming storm again this week or maybe next week. Not sure when is the exact landfall. It's very alarming that the most affected areas haven't recovered yet, and now, there's another one coming.

Yes, it was a buzzer-beater grocery, and luckily I was able to buy food.

$ 0.00
1 year ago