Should I Feel Bitter About It?

5 43
Avatar for keeneek
1 year ago
Topics: Random, Thoughts, Rant, Life, Worklife, ...

I've been very busy with work from September until last week because my team leader resigned with an upcoming Autumn launch. On the first week of October, someone was assigned to be my support. My immediate supervisor told me that my temporary support and soon-to-be one who will take over my role doesn't need to be a licensed engineer as long as she is familiar with the products and can adapt well.

At first, I didn't mind it. I just responded that I will make her study the following - Git, Vue, HTML, CSS, and JavaScript - since she has zero knowledge about them. That's when he responded that he missed the technical part of my work.

Fast forward...


Yesterday, my previous TL asked for a favor to message the OIC of our BIR documents to send another copy of the documents. He had to reformat his laptop without backing up the files plus he no longer has an access to the company email. So I messaged the OIC and gave my previous TL personal email address.

I didn't expect that I was cc'd with the email. My curiosity spiked up and checked it. That's when I know his salary when he was still my team lead. I was stunned for a moment. I didn't expect it to be that big.

I was hyped and teased him - even told him how proud I am that he was able to let go of this monthly income. He was trying to change the topic by asking me if I want a part-time job.

My response? "Yes, please because my salary is not as big as yours when you're the team lead." He responded with a Bisaya curse. And we both laugh.

After that, I told Antoni about it. To my surprise, he doesn't look happy about it. He then shared that he doesn't like the idea that I now took over the position and yet the salary is not the same. And not only that, the salary difference is 20,000 PHP. He said again, "Resign already!".

Well, I can't. I signed the contract just this month. I'm not bitter about it, honestly speaking. Maybe I will if my hunch is correct. I'm guessing that my support and I share the same salary rate. If not the same, maybe a difference is not greater than 4,000 PHP. Not sure if my deduction is correct, but my gut feeling is very positive about it.

I'm not sure how to react now that three of them, including my boyfriend, keep on telling me to know my worth.

Realizations start showing up today. I remember the statement "It doesn't need to be a licensed engineer." Then the question asked me before popped out, "Magaling ka ba?" (Are you good?)

I am starting to overthink. That's why I'm writing this so I can pour these thoughts that are slowly clouding my mind. I must remember that I wanted career growth regardless of the salary rate.

I don't want to question myself. What I need is to hustle more and do more. I'll just look for another part-time job, maybe, and continue my crypto side hustle.


The lead image is the computer setup of my previous (second) work, featuring my supervisor's cutie doggo - Poncho!


Bisaya • Books • Art • Poem • Anime • Travel • Food • Dogs

Connect with me: 

4
$ 0.72
$ 0.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Momentswithmatti
Sponsors of keeneek
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for keeneek
1 year ago
Topics: Random, Thoughts, Rant, Life, Worklife, ...

Comments

I suggest talking to your manager directly dai about it... The reason why salaries are not disclosed to others is because of this but it is also very important for a company to compensate their employees correctly. So talking to your manager might help and hopefully they'll give you a good increment soon...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dili lang nako siguro i-raise ang concern dai. Giquestion na nako before ang contract sa job position and description, tapos magquestion napod ko sa salary. Ngita nalang jud kog parttime job guru dai and build ug skills. Nagplan man gud jud ko na moresign but hopeful kaau lang ko na matransfer ko sa ECE, but wala nadayun tungod walay mopuli saako prev team lead. Basin madaun najud kog resign if mahuman nakog train ning support nako pohon2.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's okay lang sis kasi it's opportunity parin. I'm sure, day will come na may mas better na opportunity na darating at dun ka mag decide na talaga sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, sis. Hopefully soon. Sa ngayon tiis2 lang and do my job well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes sis. Soon darating din yung araw na hinihiling mo sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago