Dinner at IKEA Swedish Restaurant

12 52
Avatar for keeneek
1 year ago
Topics: Food, IKEA, Swedish, Restaurant, Memory, ...

Antoni and I went to SM Mall of Asia to meet our classmate in college. He was in Manila since the group joined Dance Supremacy held at Tanghalang Pasigueño in Pasig City around August. I wasn't able to watch the performance because I was not feeling well at that time. Nonetheless, regardless of being able to watch the competition or not, they all have my full support. Always.

I woke up at noon and immediately called him. He didn't answer. I checked the Instagram stories of the other members and saw they had an after-party at one of the finest bars in BGC. I concluded he was still sleeping, so I messaged him to call me if he is awake already. He called me at past 2:00 PM and I hurriedly prepared and told Antoni that we will meet Uriel together with Levin in SM MoA.

Since we are from General Trias, we expected to arrive at MoA around 4:30 to 5:00 PM. It was already 5:00 PM when we arrived. The mall was big, so it was another set of walking sessions for us to find Uriel and Levin. We met them in Fila Store, near Sports Central. They had already bought something, so we decided to have dinner right away.

Antoni and I decided to eat in the IKEA Swedish restaurant since they hadn't been there. The queuing time lasted for 20 minutes. When it was our turn, we immediately looked for a table for five. Uriel, Levin, and Antoni went with me to order our food while Earl waited at the table. We grabbed two push carts and took six trays. They were planning to have a Samgyup with the other members, so we just ordered a few.

The drinks and coffee are bottomless. We took five goblets and one cup (for the coffee). Drinks are worth 50 PHP, and the coffee is 40 PHP. Some of the food is self-service, and one of them is the cake. I took two almond cakes worth 90 PHP each. At the center, the staff asked for our order, and they hurriedly prepared it. I ordered 20 pieces of Swedish meatballs for 310 PHP, spaghetti with meatballs for 140 PHP, and baked salmon for 375 PHP. Uriel suggested ordering two baked salmon, but I insisted on only one since it's expensive.

Then I grabbed three cups of rice while Uriel took two bowls of mushroom soup. I forgot to tell him that I don't like their soup. He also ordered two pieces of chicken (40 PHP each), vegetable spring rolls (40 PHP good for two), and two pieces of pork barbeque (55 PHP each). Unfortunately, the garlic bread and the buttered croissant were out of stock. The only available was cinnamon bread. I headed to the cashier to pay for our orders and paid a total of 1,705 PHP.

After we placed the food at the table, Levin, Earl, and I headed to the drinks section. While Earl was busy preparing his coffee, Levin and I filled the goblets with drinks. There were eight different drinks to choose from, and you can choose any drink — it's bottomless!

My favorite is the sparkling lemon. It is also Anthony's favorite. Since Uriel and Levin didn't order a bowl of rice, so it was just me, Anthony, and Earl who ate the meatballs with rice. Uriel and Earl loved the mushroom soup, while the three of us didn't like it. But the common denominator was we all loved the meatballs and the almond cake and didn't like the spaghetti. Well, maybe because we are used to sweet-style (Filipino-style) spaghetti.

We spent more than an hour eating while talking. Then we decided to go out already since the others were waiting for them. They invited us but declined the offer. I wanted them to explore the showroom, but unfortunately, we were running out of time.

IKEA Manila is the largest IKEA in the world. The restaurant is on the 4th floor, and the exit is on the third floor, after the cashier. We had to walk the whole area before we reached the first exit from the top floor.


Previous articles:


Bisaya • Books • Art • Poem • Anime • Travel • Food • Dogs

Connect with me here: Noise • Hive • Goodreads • Twitter • Instagram

6
$ 0.24
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.02 from @Usagi
$ 0.02 from @BCH_LOVER
Sponsors of keeneek
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for keeneek
1 year ago
Topics: Food, IKEA, Swedish, Restaurant, Memory, ...

Comments

murag barato ra ilang food sis. I mean sa prices na imong ingon affordable lang sya. I would love to visit IKEA if given the chance.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo, sis. affordable rajud siya. Swak ra sa budget, lami and dili pajud tinipid ang serving.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Galing kami jan nung anniversary namin ng partner ko. Super sarap din ng mga foods tapos lakas maka sosyal pero pasok sa budget mostly ung ibang meal. ❤️🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True! Ang sossy pakinggan, Swedish restaurant, pero mura na compared sa ibang restaurant. Tapos hindi tipid and serving, and masarap pa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakagutom naman yang mga foods sis. Gusto ko matikman yang spaghetti at meatballs, nagutom ako bigla eh, hehehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Try mo sis if nagkataon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Heard of IKEA for furniture but didn't realize they did food. So I researched near me and the closest is about 4 hours away. I was near one this summer but never thought to visit though. How would you rate there food compared to other restaurants?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's quite far already. If you happen to be within the area again, you should try their meatballs, salmon, and almond cake! It's cheaper compared to other restaurants, not to mention the food are delectable. Well, except for the mushroom soup and spaghetti, in my opinion.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow parang gusto ko tikman yang IKEA. Sobrang sarap naman. Nakakagutom yung foods. Ang dami sis. 🤤❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Try mo sa IKEA sis if within the area ka lang. Must try ang meatballs and almond cake nila. hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow sarap naman. Cge i-share ko to sa partner ko sis. Salamat. ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You just took me on a food journey to IKEA

$ 0.00
1 year ago