Who is the Santa in your family?

22 30
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

How are you, my dear read friends? It's kind of cool today, a perfect day to chill. I have been so busy with some stuff, especially with the toddler issue but I did try to go outside today. It was a great day to walk.

Everyone is busy for Christmas and New Year. And I do feel that we are all trying to catch up with celebrating them since the pandemic started. It is a different kind of holiday for me- the virus took a lot of lives, not only that, I think this year is the year of great reaping or harvest of souls. Several of my friends lost a relative, I experienced it as well because my mom died.

Anyways, let's go back to the celebration. We all know Santa, don't we? And the kids believe that they will receive gives if they've been nice and behave the whole year. They wait until midnight or wake up early in the morning to open the gifts Santa prepared for them.

Do you have a "Santa" in your family? Is it you, if not, who is it?
I mean, the Santa, the breadwinner, the one who always saves everyone from trouble. The one who gives all-year-round. The one who is only one call or text away.

In our clan, the Santa is my granda, Mommy Glo. She sent most of my cousins to school, including me. Whatever course we choose, she'll go for it. All she wants is a diploma and for us to pay it forward for the betterment of our clan's future. In our little family, it was me. It used to be me until I stopped working. But before I did, I remember sending my mama my very first salary where I got so emotional. I only had 3000 pesos but it was like a million to me. I was happy that I could finally start supporting her. And when I had better earnings, I started giving her her regular bi-weekly allowance, aside from the clothes and whatever I put in the package for her and Bam. And I send money to whoever had a birthday in our family. I sent a box of goodies one time in December. It felt so good.

The downturn is, everyone in the family thinks I was always healthy and wealthy. I have given too much. Santa always gives everything just like the breadwinners. Well, that's how we love our family, don't we? We gave a lot and keep a little or nothing, sometimes, for ourselves. And when trouble comes, we ask for help from other a friend or a family, we could get some if we get lucky, if not, we suffer alone.

I have written this article for us, dear "Santas" (I do still think I am a breadwinner because I am the only one earning in my little family), to take care of ourselves because we are our family's hope. Let us invest in our health, invest in our lives. We can't be strong always, we get older. Let us be wise and think of our future, too. Let us learn to say "no", and teach our family to tend for themselves. Let them be independent.


And for those who have a Santa in the family- do not abuse him or her. Be thankful for Santa's support and generosity. Do not be too complacent, finish your studies or reach your goal, prove yourself worthy of the aid Santa has entrusted you. And when the time comes, be the Santa too. I know you can't refuse a loved one who will need your help whether he/she is naughty or nice, just be a wise Santa. A better Santa.

I wish you a Merry Christmas with your family!

TO EVERYONE, ESPECIALLY MY SPONSORS AND 101 STRONG SUBSCRIBERS THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

Xoxo,

Glessa

The lead image was from Unsplash and the Merry Christmas image from Giphy.com
The rest of the content is mine unless stated otherwise
December 15, 2021




 


9
$ 4.23
$ 3.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.10 from @Expelliarmus30
+ 4
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Comments

Samin po dito sa bahay ay wala po akong mapinpoint kung sino eh. Nagseshare share po kasi kami sa mga gastusin dahil ayaw rin po namin na umaasa lang sa iisang tao. Pero kung may mapagbigay man po sa amin ay yung isang Tita ko po na always tumutulong at nagbibigay ng gifts. Hehehhe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sarap ng may generous na tita di ba sis. Nice to know na nagtutulungan kayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo. Yes po iyun din pp talaga kasi ang nakasanayan namin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now that we are adults, we contribute what we can but mostly food that everyone can enjoy and not gifts. I remember when we were kids, my mom would buy us gifts and wrap them and we will open that when the time comes. I only have a few memories of that happening. We don't do it very often until it was totally forgotten. We are not into that tradition really.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

When I was a kid, our mama was absent most of the time because she was travelling for work. We will just open the door once Dec. 25 hits. No food at all. Only had fond memories of New Year.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm the breadwinner of our family. And it's my pleasure to be their santa everyday. And ofcourse I owe everything to them what I am now, and I guess they deserve it after all. God bless you dear 😘

$ 0.02
2 years ago

God bless you too TeacherJen!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My family is my santa all through out the years hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ang swerte mo sis kung ganun :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm nowhere close to been a Santa in my family, but I know enough not to put unnecessary pressure on the Santa in the family and to be always grateful for his kindness

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's good to hear dear :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Santa Claus in our family, and in other families, was my father. He always filled all the relatives with presents. This new year will be different...Now we will be that mythical blessing. Have fun👋

$ 0.02
2 years ago

God bless your father's soul dear sis :) Good on you for being that blessing as well.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good for you, you had a walk. Dito ang lamig ayaw ko lumabas. Haha. Sa amin naman, yong asawa ko ang santa. Mga anak ko taga receive ng gifts. Hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe ang swerte naman ng mga chikiting mo sis..Di ko maimagine if I can survive winter lol lamigin kasi ako

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo pati grandparents nagbibigay din tsaka friends nila. dami din namin hand me down clothes. Right now, umuulan lang. nakaka borlogs pag walang araw. ayaw ko umalis ng bahay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This article is such an eye opener. The santa in my family is my eldest brother.. Believe me, he could sell his shirt so that we could go to school. We will always love him and support him till the rest of our lies... He's our Hero

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Your brother is so sweet and kind, you are blessed dear sis. Yup, he deserves your love and support as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🎁 You have been blessed by the Club1BCH festive spirit and a $0.50 tip was given to this article. Sharing is caring... please share half of it with someone else! Happy Holidays! 🎁

That's great advice, dear Glaiza, be a wise Santa 😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww, I am super happy my friend, thank you! I never thought I'll receive this. Of course, will share it! Happy holidays!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Enjoy sis! Happy holidays to you too :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you dear sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago