The Art of Tolerance.

21 21
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

How are you my dear read friends? I hope the day has been kind to you, and to those who are going to be affected by the typhoon, please keep safe.

Since it's almost Christmas, our neighbors have been so noisy the past few days. Saoirse has never had a decent nap for straight 2 days because of people singing loudly with their videoke and the shouting of other people swimming in the resort (Yup, there is a resort beside the house). Just like today, we decided to go out for a walk to have fun rather than be stressed by the distraction.

Instead of focusing on the negative emotions that arise due to disturbances, I realized that I should learn the art of tolerance because if not, negativity will eat me alive. It is not good for my overall health.
I learnt not only the tolerance of having noisy and annoying neighbors but the tolerance with the people I don't like or may have a disagreement with.

For example, my mother-in-law. She sometimes said hurtful words that she may not be aware of, I don't know she might be aware of it but chose to say otherwise. I learned to ignore and tolerate. It's not gonna kill me anyway. And everyone leaving the bathroom wet or dirty, I managed to maintain the bathroom's cleanliness without giving a fuss anymore.

Tolerance makes us endure uncomfortable or painful situations. It saves us from putting ourselves or a relationship at risk. It makes us see things from a different perspective and we can just go on with our lives normally. I could talk back to mil you know but I'd rather keep my mouth shut. Since I am living with them and it's not my house, I had to give them the credit and respect

Tolerance helps us stick to our plans or dreams. We may compromise our aspirations if we negatively respond to a problem. Just like with my partner, I can tolerate him playing games too much because he teaches and helps Bam with the modules. His unemployment is my motivation why I am grinding here in read. He said he doesn't know his motivations. Well, I do and I won't let that affect me from pursuing my plans.

Tolerance gives us the wisdom to be cautious and careful. It makes us wise to choose our battles. We may allow losing an argument so we won't waste time and energy. We may allow others to think about us otherwise because there is no use in persuading them to change their minds

Too much tolerance though can be abused and may be taken incorrectly so one must know and set its limit and boundaries. Just like our neighbors, if they are still shouting their lungs out at 10 pm, we can no longer tolerate such behavior so we call the barangay or police and complain.

Learn the art of tolerance.

Are you a patient person? Are you tolerant enough to bear uncomfortable situations or annoying people? I am sometimes not.

I hope I am able to impart something of value to you today, dear read friends. I need to sleep now because I have to do something later. I shall tell you what it is in my next article.

To everyone, especially my sponsors and subscribers: THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

Too-da-loo,

Glessa


The lead image was from Unsplash.com and the Christmas image was from Giphy.com
The rest of the article is mine unless stated otherwise.
December 16, 2021 1:21AM

11
$ 3.65
$ 3.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.04 from @Oikawa
+ 7
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Comments

If you can't handle your enemy, join him, haha. Patience my dear Glessa, lots of patience. I am a sea of patience and very tolerant, please don't see when the sea floods, haha. We are practicing a small group of aguinaldos, the rehearsal lasts 1 hour from 6 to 7 pm at the entrance of the house, but my neighbor doesn't seem to like it and plays the music at full volume in her house. That's called sabotage but it doesn't matter, we enjoy it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Be patient dear. I understand your feelings. Relax. It’s an art and I think every woman is the greatest artist in it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you dear. Do you still have fever?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And she remembers... Thanks my love. I'm ok now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cool :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

tolerance brings out really the best in us, I remember something very funny, I live in a locality where people keeps on playing music in their sound system o woofer and me who is so much habitual to it that I do not even notice when their music starts and stops, my mum sometimes asks me for something and I am just sitting reading by the books that I do not even notice her if she said something. And then she always gets mad haahah

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ahaha I know how your mom feels.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kainis naman po ung ganyang gabi gabi maingay:) ay naku minsan mahirap din magtimpi

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Tama sis grabe talaga pag nagingay dito as in kawawa yung mga bata.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay naku ako siguro sis magsasalita na kapag ganyan lalo at wla na sa oras😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hay naku nagaaway mga tao dito, dapat mabasa nila tong article kong the Art of Tolerance hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, share mo sis para magising sila sa katotohanan🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tolerance is really a noble virtue that every educated person should cultivate because that's really what seperates us from the herd.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

What a very good statement, dear sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes having a good character is already an art 🥰 Keep safe always.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I couldn't agree more sis, keep safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halla hindi ako aware na may typhoon

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Meron sis sa Mindanao, super typhoon pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right. Sometimes you have to be patient if you have to. But as long as it doesn't overstep the bounds of what is permissible.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes sis, sometimes all I could do is just really sigh..Sigh :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago