Preggy me or preggy me not?

18 27
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

I did wish to have my own family and my kids just like everyone else. And I planned to marry when I meet the right one after I am financially stable. Well, to be honest, to my desperation, I did want to have a one-night-stand with a stranger if I am still childless at 30.

But things have turned out differently for me. I don't wanna share that dreadful love story sorry guys, it's like an MMK (Maalaala Mo Kaya) drama. I've moved on so let's just focus on the happy part...

I was most of the time, delayed 2 weeks of my scheduled monthly period so I wasn't afraid of the idea of being pregnant.
But one day, something weird happened. It was June 2013. When I was going inside our floor (eBay account), there was a queue. The first person was 2 or 3 months pregnant, she asked the guard to not "totot" her (scanner) because of the radiation. She was followed by a female on her 5 or 6 months pregnancy, and then after her was a pregnant agent who needed to see her boss to file a maternity leave. And I was the last to enter. When the guard was about to swipe the "totot" on my tummy, I instinctively covered it.
When it was break time, I went to the pantry to find some food. Believe me, I was seeing pregnant women all over the place. And I was like," Is this the cue, am I pregnant too?"...I was horrified by the idea, my heart was beating fast.



I didn't know I was already conceiving but I started feeling:


Sleepy all the time- I slept at work, despite being logged in for a few minutes. I slept in the jeepney. I doze off the taxi while my friend and I were going to the US embassy to process her papers. In short, I sleep whenever I lay my back on something else lol.

Sleepy but had to smile for pic taking


Lazy- I am not used to lying on the bed all day and not doing anything but I've never felt so lazy all my life. Clubbing, binge-watching, food trips, and Empi lights didn't interest me anymore.

I felt ugly- Really, I had self-pity. I feel like I was the ugliest girl in the world. I didn't want to comb my hair or put on some lip gloss. I hated picture taking lol.

My face was like..Eehh

Despite my weird feelings, I still went out with my close friends for food trips. We met in SM Makati and ate in the food court, we went to SM Aura, stroll around, and had crabs in Venice Piazza.

Oh I smiled naman!


I met with my cousins and had a drink in the night and swam the following morning.

Beer pa more! With cousins and childhood friends.

When I began feeling scared that I might be conceiving, I filed my resignation from Sutherland to find a higher paying job and because I couldn't stand the thought of seeing my ex in the same place.

I had a new job 3 weeks after my hiatus. I was then with 24/7 Inc as TSR (Technical Support Representative). An hour before my physical exam, I took a pregnancy test which came out positive. I then declared it to the company and was advised to get a fit to work clearance before I could start training.



When I found out I was pregnant:

  • I was sad because I knew I couldn't give her a complete family but I was determined to provide all she needs that she doesn't have to question her existence.

  • I was scared because I might not be able to give all her desires but I decided to be honest and open to her about my past so she won't hold a grudge against me or her biological dad.

  • I was doubtful that I might not be always healthy and strong. And I realized I have my mother and my sisters who will be there to back me up.

  • I know I will be judged for being a single mom for keeping my baby. But I decided to do what's right and took the responsibility of being a single parent. God will provide, why should I be disheartened?

Bam

It was never easy to go through pregnancy and parenthood as a single mom but with the support of family, friends, and God, it became possible.

This, my friends, is my entry to "How did I find out I was pregnant- A Challenge!" as pushed by @MommySwag. I am not part of their group but she said I could write about my pregnancy, why not? It's good to share that special part of my life.

To my sponsors, subscribers, upvoters, and commenters: Thank you very much!

Have a Merry Christmas,

Glessa

All images and content are mine unless stated otherwise.
December 6, 2021



9
$ 2.59
$ 2.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.04 from @FarmGirl
+ 6
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Comments

Grabe pala pinagdaanan mo nun sis, pero hindi ka natakot at laban lang. Kung ako nasa posisyon mo nun baka naiyak ako,pero ikaw proud ako sa mga babae na katulad mo sis. Siguradong magiging proud din ang anak mo sayo. 😁😊

Tagal kong nagpahinga.πŸ˜…πŸ˜‰

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Heheh okay ka lang sis? Nakabawi ka naman? Salamat sis, yeah hindi madali yung pinagdaanan ko kasi kelangan ko maging prepared sa lahat lalo na financially para sa baby :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are great mother in the world. Im so proud of you sis! Being a single mom is not quiet as easy. I have a cousin same thing as u do. Kaya nkakaproud tlaga mga single mom na pinipiling lumalaban khit nahihirapan na.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Salamat sis :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako naman I really wanted to have kids. If di mag ka baby I’ll adopt kahit single. And I’m so lucky my husband found me. And I found him. We met in Phuket after a month my ex-bf left me in Myanmar. The right person will come along the way. Sometimes it’s too quick, sometimes you need to wait.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am happy for your love life sis, sanaol hehehe..I agree with you, the right one will come sooner or later.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mtagal na din yong wala akong pinapakilalang bf mga 5 years yata.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, ikaw na :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are awesome sis, very brave even! Congratulations and salute to you for becoming the mom you are :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Maraming salamat sis, I am still trying every day to be the mom that these kids deserve.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I believe you are doing great sis :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am touched, thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not easy being a single mom, having to work and take care of the kids, but you've done it, continue to grow.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Having a child is like conquering Mount Everest. People live without it. But those who have conquered it, they live a very different life. I am much stronger. Sometimes you sit there and think: That's it, I can't do it anymore. And then you do it. May God give you strength, on your difficult path in life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Very well said, dear sis. I do pray every day that I could be a better mom for them. I've never prayed so hard in my life until I became a mom.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This journey of your being mother is awesome. Respect it and love this so much.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, my dear cousin. I am humbled.

$ 0.00
2 years ago