Hope came a-knockin'- A Christmas Story

30 59
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

"Achooo!", a loud sneeze is heard by the entire North Pole. "Achooooo!", again and again, the whole place trembles causing a crack on giant ice.
"I think I have covid!", says Santa who doesn't look entirely well.
"Where did you go and whom did you talk to?", asked Ella, one of Santa's elves.
"I went to Australia to talk to one of my mates. His kid wanted some Lambo, I couldn't give it coz he's a naughty fella!", says Santa.
"I got a headache, sore throat, runny nose, and diarrhea! I might have covid. We might need to cancel Christmas", Santa worriedly announced.


The news spread in the entire North Pole, everyone is sad, especially the reindeers. "We cannot just go out there giving gifts without Santa and I might have caught a bug too", Rudolf said while sneezing. His nose became redder.
Santa sent a special email to the nicest adults in the entire world but everyone is busy except Eddie because he has just rendered his last day at work.
"What can I do to help?", Ed asked Santa in an email.
"Do you know how to transport these gifts all over the world? I can't do it and my reindeers can only fly with me...We cannot cancel Christmas. It will be a total disaster! The whole world will be flooded by the poor children's tears", Santa replied with desperation.
"I don't have powers or any magic of some sort! I am just a mad Scotsman!", answered Ed.
"My magic bag is on the way, I have sent it via Magic Express Delivery. Just touch it and make a wish. Also, the list will appear once you open the bag. It contains the names and the gifts to give...My test came out positive so I can't make it for Christmas. Don't worry, the bag and everything is sanitized". That was Santa's last response.
Suddenly, there was a knock on the door. When Ed opened it, no one was around except a bag.
"Oh, this must be it", said he while picking it up. He slowly opened the bag and saw the list. It was quite long!
"How can I read all of this?", he cluelessly asked himself.
"You don't have to, I will do everything. All you gotta do is distribute all the gifts! And I am safe by the way, I am covid negative", the bag talked to Ed.
He was shocked that he froze for a minute. He couldn't believe what he has gotten himself into.
So the following day, he went to his favorite clothing store and bought red attire. Does he need to look like Santa? How can he make his tummy bigger? Shall he drink a barrel of beer so he could achieve Santa's look?


"I don't have reindeers! Oh, wait, the swan family...Maybe they could help me!" Ed was so happy with such a realization. So he went to the park and asked the swans for help.

"Wez dontz havez powerz, wez canz onlyz flyz az shortz distanz", said Mud pie.
"Butz wez reallyz wantz toz helpz!", seconded Cutie pie.
The swans were worried they might not be able to fly around the world and carry such tons of gifts.
"Oh I forgot to show this", Ed opened his backpack and showed them the magic bag.
"I want a sleigh please!", wished Ed.
"Chinnngggg"...The sleigh appeared right their very eyes...
"Wowzz magiczzz!", chorused the swans.
The swans started lining up...Their parents Mr. And Mrs. Stevie Swan were at the front...Followed by Cutie pie and Sweetie pie, Strawberry pie and Blueberry pie, Mud pie and Coo pie...Then a magic rope appeared tying them all together. A bright light engulfed the entire sleigh and the swans' wings and feet twinkled.
"Iz feelz soz lightz!", Strawberry pie flapped her wings and she began floating...One more flap and she was flying!
The rest of the swans followed.
Ed has just seen the most beautiful sleigh in the world.
"I guess we're all set for Christmas!", he said to the swans.

Everything is ready on Christmas Eve.
"I can't do this, I have never flown in a sleigh with swans around the globe!", Ed nervously told Santa's elves who came to help him pile the gifts.
"Ed, remember, Santa is counting on you-we are counting on you! You can do this for the kids-for the Spirit of Christmas", encouraged by Bert, the oldest elf.

Meanwhile, "I think Santa's not coming", cried Saoirse. She sadly embraced her mom, Glessa, then they turned the Christmas tree off. The neighborhood knew what happened to Saoirse so they turned off their Christmas trees as well. Perhaps Christmas will come next year.
When suddenly.....
"Hohohohoho!", shouts Ed. Everyone heard Santa!
"Santa came! Look, I got my Peppa Pig car under the Christmas tree!", Saoirse exclaims with happiness.
"Mine too!", say Bam and Cassie.
Then the Christmas tree lights up in each house, the entire neighborhood came back to life as the air is filled with children's laughter.
"Youz didz az goodz jobz Edz, wez arez soz proudz ofz youz", said mother swan, Suzy.
"I couldn't do it without you, so thank you very much", Ed thanks the swans.
And then, a golden pin appeared on Ed's right chest that says "Swanta"...
Christmas pushed through and the children were happy. Hope came a-knockin' indeed, thanks Swanta!

My drawing on a Christmas card that says, "A read Christmas".



This is my entry for the #ChristmasChallenge2021 by sir Ed @TengoLoTodo and
I hope you all like it.

Should you wish to join, here are the rules:

  • Submit an entry with the theme A Christmas Story

  • Mention the tag #ChristmasChallenge2021

  • Mention @TengoLoTodo

  • The article needs to be in English and at least 600 words in length

  • Has to be your own words and original content

  • Needs to have a picture of the Special Requirement READ somewhere in the article.

  • No more entries after December 23rd will be eligible for prizes.

Always remember, we can give hope to anybody with whatever little effort we can do or thing we have. Let us believe in our capacity as a beacon of hope to those who may have lost it.

To everyone especially my sponsors and subscribers- THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

Nollaig chridheil agus bliadhna mhath ur,

Glessa

The lead image was from Unsplash.com and the rest of the content is mine
December 10, 2021


15
$ 12.38
$ 8.10 from @TengoLoTodo
$ 3.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @ARTicLEE
+ 10
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Comments

Achoo Glessa you won a $3 prize in #ChristmasChallenge2021 , salamat a thousand times I just loved this :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maraminggggg salamat po sir Ed!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations Glessa, for this great award, good article. ;)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much my friend!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a original story! I can't find the right words, good enough, to describe how delighted I am. The best article that I have read lately. Bravo! 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you very much!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice piece.. Well deserve

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you very much po!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Smile Glessa, you won Mystery Prize 2 in #ChristmasChallenge2021 of five dollars, thank you for this wonderful article, you are awesome, I loved the details that you read in my story and created this fantastic Christmas faction story. Simply The Best 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sooo happy po sirEd!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Such a very beautiful cute Christmas story... Concise, nicely written and the words are just cute... creative... "Iz lovez thez swanz howz theyz speaks!" 😆😄 I enjoy reading it! 😃

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so creative and nice, Glaiza lol A lovely wee story. Swanta Klaus ;)🎄♡

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, dear friend :D I appreciate your compliment. It was difficult but I am glad I did it :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome. You well deserve the compliment, It's a nice story :)🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yehey, thank you again!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow naman! So good! It could be a children's book with all the illustrations and such :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awww maraming salamat po for the compliment!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am speechless Glessa! This is just amazing, unbelievable. You just made my day. Saving this to read over and over. Salamat Glessa, you really have taken onboard what this is about!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Welcome po, sir Ed. Thank you for the challenge, it did challenge me to the highest level :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A very interesting and unusual story. After reading the titles, you wouldn't expect the story to be about the Christmas you imagine.Very good and kind article. Well done)))

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Coming from you my dear, thank you so much :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What a beautiful way to celebrate xmas. Hoping for a very memorable christmas to you 🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you sis, same to you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww nakagawa ka na sis, ako wla pa

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes sis, hirap hehehe..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a beautiful content for contest. Best of luck my dear cousin. Mom asked about you. Said hi to you and our angel.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you dear cousin. Yey, I am happy mom said hi..Please send our warmest regards as well :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago