Home is where the great food is!

25 31
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

November 3, 2021

“To me, food is as much about the moment, the occasion, the location, and the company as it is about the taste.”

– Heston Blumenthal

Hello, my read friends. I just saw it on noise that a "kabisdak" was about to sleep when she heard her neighbour calling her because they are going to give her a birthday cake. Her neighbor's daughter just turned 5.

It's what I love about living in the province: people are generous, especially with food. It's already in our culture to either share or exchange food. And refusing it is a sign of being disrespectful.

I remember when I was a child, our neighbour, my aunt, would give us delicious and special food whenever they can. Some of our neighbours would give us soup or any viand they can cook. We also gave back, especially if my papa cooks the food. And it's what tightened the bond, that homey feeling of the people living in the province unlike big cities such as Manila.

During summer, we would go to the beach bringing food like boiled bananas or sweet potatoes, grilled fish or pork, ceviche, soft drinks, and cooked rice. We then gather all the food so everyone could eat, what a boodle fight that was. We'd swim all afternoon until everybody was exhausted.



On fiestas or religious feasts, people from different localities would flock for free food and drinks. No invitation was needed because everyone was welcome to eat. When I was 12, I remember a stranger knocking at my aunt's gate. I politely said, "Are you looking for someone else?", he answered, "I'm here for the fiesta". I am not sure if we celebrated it but I'm pretty sure that man didn't leave with an empty stomach. My aunt was kind. Fiesta or not, she always gives food.


Oh, and in the province, if someone is invited to a fiesta or a birthday party, they tag people along with them because they are shy to eat alone. Especially if there's a roasted pig, expect to see a lot of unfamiliar visitors. It's the same with weddings, you'll definitely see new faces: guests invited by the official guests. And most visitors have plastic bags with them to "bring home" some food for their families. Nonetheless, it's what makes the celebrations special and unforgettable.

Lechon

I so miss the food in Iligan which are sinugba and kinilaw (grilled food and ceviche), lechon (roasted chicken or pig), barbeque (chicken or pig), law-uy (mixed vegetables with soup), kinason (seashells), bulad (dried and salted fish), and just the freshness of the produce in general.

And I do miss the laughter, the chitchat, the enjoyable moments sharing that food with family and friends.

This is my entry to the PromptlyJonica writing prompt. If you would like to join, the rules are simple:

  1. Write anything about food

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Join and submit your story to PromptlyJonica

  4. Tag@JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun!

I hope you will have a good night or day wherever you are in the world. And may the stock market or crypto verse be in your favor.

To my sponsors old and new: thank you very much, I owe you one! 🙏🙏

Please visit my sponsors' profiles as well.

And all your likes, subscriptions, and upvotes are greatly appreciated ❤️❤️❤️

Cheers!

©Ngotngot, the fyrfinex 🔥🐦


The images were taken from these:

Kinilaw or ceviche.

Lechon.

Boiled bananas.

9
$ 3.65
$ 3.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
+ 5
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Comments

food is one way to tighten the bond of family and there is also a saying that "The way to a man's heart is through his stomach" so basically it's food

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me food is happiness. And here in the field things are also like that, when there is a celebration everyone ends up invited.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

and it feels so good when everyone is happy with the food :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lechon all the way, hahaha!sarap naman nyan sis:)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hayy oo sis lalo na pag mainit init pa...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true, hinay hinay lang at ang high blood😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In all celebrations lechon is the main dish, I love it, I want to try that lechon, my mouth is watering. 😍😵

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I wish you could really try it :) Hungry, eh?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis, grilled moderate ripen saba (banana) is also perfect when you're at the beach.. Try it!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah yeah, ginanggang! I forgot to mention it, it's my favorite!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The lechon Hindi nawawala yan sa fiesta😅😋lalo na kung mapera ang may bahay. Ngayon naku po kamahal na. Dati ang buo niyan 4500 ngayon 4500/ilang kilo nalang ang katumbas hindi na whole. Kaya parang hindi na siya practical ihain. Kinalaw naku favorite ko yan.😋😋

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sa probinsya sis biik pa lang binibili na nila para palakihin na lang at sila na magluluto :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dito kasi sa Manila mahirap magalaga,naku malamng magiging kaaway mo mga kapitbahay.😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dito samen minsan nangangamoy talaga sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo malakas talaga ang amoy sis kapag magaalaga ka ng baboy. Buti kung lahst ng kapitbahay meron alsga pero kapag nagiisa ka naku yari ka. Naexperienced ko na yan,yung kapitbahay na hindi mo alsm kung inggit o ano talaga eh😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh the lechon I want, and it is my dinner time. Yes often village folk are friendlier than city folk, that is the same here.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Iligan, my hometown, has also tasty lechon :) Cool, nice to know that po :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aha I need to visit then!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Perhaps when the pandemic is over sir Ed :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo when this flipping pandemic is over

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's nice po!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The best pa din ang home-cooked food para sakin, sis.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truly it home you feel the comfort also at home there’s nothing sweet at home than you eating your best meal and then see someone to part your plate it always feel good then sleep as well with no stress

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Indeed, my friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago