The Last Piece Syndrome

23 197
Avatar for immaryandmerry
2 years ago
Topics: Analogy, Realization

Pizza! Yes, I am talking about pizza.

There’s this one time when my niece requested for a pizza so when Kuya got home, he brought a pizza with him. All of us at home immediately dig in, choosing the biggest and the slice that have the most toppings. We ate and ate until there’s only one slice left and that’s where it all began.

The eagerness to eat the pizza suddenly died down. No one would dare to get the last piece without asking others if they want it too. No matter how our stomach is still crumbling and craving for the pizza, it’s either we are so thoughtful to think about others first or we are too afraid to be called greedy because no one will ask who ate the most number of pizza slice, only the one who ate the last piece will be remembered.

Going back, I honestly wanted to eat the last slice but I was thinking of my family. I was thinking about the kids, they might want it more than I do. To cut the story short, I resisted the urge to ate the last piece, sacrificing my own wants just for the sake of whoever wants it too.

With a heavy heart, I left the pizza with them at the kitchen and I stayed at my room for a while. Few hours later, I go out of my room and guess what I’ve found out.

Seems like they also thought of what I was thinking that they also didn’t eat the last piece. Yes, the last piece was still at the kitchen and the crust was already hard. What a waste.

That’s also the case when I was with friends or other people, when it’s already the past piece, everyone’s line will be:

“uy kainin niyo na ‘to, nagtira pa kayo” (hey, eat it already. don't left the last piece)

Even though at the bottom of our hearts, we wanted the last piece!

It is also applicable on other things, foods rather. There are many times when we are eating our meal, my nephew don't usually eat with us so what we do is to left food for him. There are times that we wanted the food more but we are thinking about my nephew so we top ourselves from eating it and when afternoon came, he didn't even eat the food. Again, what a waste.

And that made me come up into a realization that that last piece of pizza can be considered as an opportunity. An opportunity that we should grab, not meant to be wasted.

Let’s treat it as a reminder that when we are offered with an opportunity, let’s grab it. Especially if we really want it. Let’s not let that last piece of pizza go to waste.

It’s nice to be thoughtful, thinking about others first but that’s not always the case. We can’t keep doing that and just let every opportunity in front of us to go to waste or to passed by.

Let’s also stop fearing what others would think about us. They’ll think we are greedy, so what? It’s high time that we should go for what we want and think about ourselves for once. Instead of saying “kainin niyo na ‘to” (eat it already), let’s say “uy, akin na ‘to ha” (hey, I want it, I'm gonna eat it).

There are plenty of opportunities that will come but that doesn’t mean we should waste one. Also, there are also rare opportunities that will only come once in a lifetime. It’s no or never and we can’t afford to waste it.

And that’s what pizza has thought me.

Opportunities aren’t always there so if you want it, get it. If you want it, go for it. Never let it go to waste. It's already on the tip of our hands so grab it and don’t let go of it. Let's not let ourselves reach the point where we are gonna regret our decision.


Hi. Thank you so much for reading this far. I hope you also realized something about this pizza analogy. If you still have time, you might want to take a read on my recent works. The links are as follows:


Article No. 147 - October 12, 2021

11
$ 7.26
$ 6.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.13 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.06 from @kingofreview
+ 8
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for immaryandmerry
2 years ago
Topics: Analogy, Realization

Comments

it's only in the Philippines. :) But I don't do that, I eat as long as there's food on the table. I was raised not to waste food. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHA. Kinakain ko pa din naman, pag natagpuan ko pa sa ref ng madaling araw, cue ko na yon na ako nalang may gusto haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

anong ginagawa mo sa ref ng madaling araw?? jusme

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naghahanap ng pagkain syempre 🤣 kagutom kaya pag gising magdamag hshsha pero dati lang yun syempre

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah that's how you gain those extra pounds. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ganon lang ako ate kapag may ibang tao pero sa bahay, matakaw na po kung matakaw HAHAHAHHA kasi ayaw namin magpalugi na magkapatid

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha walang papalamang e ano haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it's a typical Filipino thing to leave one piece on the plate..hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo kasi nga naman selfless tayo chour hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

typical pinoise HAHAHAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mga plastic chour hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alam mo na agad na pinoy ang nagpost sa title pa lang. Nakakasad kasi minsan na ikaw huling kakain ts may ibang gusto pa pala. Kaya kami minsan kapag last piece na kahit nasa ref pa, iikot pa or magtatawag kung wala na bang kakain nung natitira hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha ganoon nga din samin. Akala mo nakakapaso yung last piece, walang nagtatangkang kumain hsha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I saw pizza, I clicked. I have simple pleasures. Although, if you get so much pizza you couldn't possibly eat it all, you can postpone the last piece problem!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha true! The problem is we are many at home so there's always the last piece problem.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my, dahil sa pizza haha. Peri ganito din ako huehue. Tatlo lang naman kami dito kaya pag umayaw na ako matic na kay mommy mapupunta favorite nya din kasi talaga yun kaya pinaubaya ko na kahit gustong gusto ko pang kumagat huehhe.

Sabi nga sa kanta, "This opportunity comes once in a lifetime" kaya grab din talaga dapat. Peri alam mo madaling sabihin pero mahirap pa ring gawin. Lalo na pag sa'kin, mahirap gawin kasi mas nag fofocus ako sa say ng iba Ambot lang tong kaanuhan ko sa sarili ko aigoo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay hala trueee? Sabagay, kahit sabihin nating wapakels sila parang unconsciosly, we seek recognition from others about what we do.

Ayoko na nga ng pizza, napapahugot ako hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To make your pizza even tastier, I recommend pureed tomatoes. We love pizza!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never tasted tomato on pizza. Hmm

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sa madaling salita kainin mo habang wala pang nag grab na iba...wag mo nang i offer sa iba kung gusto mo rin naman pala eto hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True kasi pag di mo pa kunuha, baka masayang lang sa huli. Hahaha. Hanep, napapahugot dahil sa pizza 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah yes yes yes.. that filipino piece!!!.. i remember one time feeling one-upped when a friend decided to eat the last piece ahahhaa . laughed at myself there. He did it with warning/ heads up to us, of course. He was polite in saying it and his intentions, too.

But also at the back of my mind has been eating a lot of pizza slices already and that last piece should be left for the other teammate who was not able to grab another piece because he was finishing something.

Lols...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Yes, the last piece!

As for us, in contrary to what I've said above, we ask each other first on how many did we ate already. The one who ate the least will have the last piece.

But when I am with friends, I don't eat the last piece. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago