The “why” of your nickname?

47 58
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Greetings my reader friends, today is September 1st. Yesterday I was disconnected. I had an encounter with a strong virus that trapped me in bed with chills, fever and a headache, but lots of fluids, scans and today I’m back with you as usual, ready to write.

When I started participating in these platforms I had no idea how to go about it. Unlike many people who have many years participating in them I didn’t know anyone who was involved in these tasks.

Something that happens to me is that I always put my name. I didn't know that in the internet we could put different names for our own protection, but still I never put names far away from my real one.

I am not a wealthy person. I don't keep millions. I’m a single mother taking care of her only child for 21 years and we only have what we need, we have no luxuries. Although many people around me think we do, maybe because we always buy gas, we have two water tanks that cover our water shortages for 5 days in a row and that is long enough to wait until the water is sent through the pipelines.

We have many plants that help us in harvest time and I always have the imagination to make and sell products from my harvest such as jams and marmalades.

from unsplash

Although I was out of work for 3 years, I never lacked the imagination to earn money. Then in the Steemit and Hive platforms I was working hard and yes, I can't deny that they helped me a lot. Now I only participate in Steemit from time to time, since my connection is very bad and when it comes to it I prefer to come here first, to read.cash, and after I'm done I can move on to Steemit.

But let’s get back on my topic for today, I want to focus on the name or pseudonym we use here. When my son made me an account for read.cash we didn't know how to do it properly, but he did it anyways. My son is the IT guy at home and he is the one who handles a lot of the technology for me.

He entered the required data for me and the page ended up putting “gertu13” because those are the first letters in my email address. My name is Gertudis and in the networks I go by “gertu”, but in here, they copied the first part of the email. Basically, in other platforms my username is the same, with the exception of read.cash.

Now I wish my reader friends could tell me how and from where they got their usernames. I see that many use their real names on this site, but there are many who use words, phrases and compound names. I would like to read in the comments where they got their names from and why they liked it.

Is it the same that they use on other platforms or is it different like mine? Or maybe they are not on other platforms but I would still like to know where their user pseudonym comes from.

It’s just my simple curiosity at play. I would like to know so that we can make some nice conversations between in the comments with each other. To have a nice time between our comments.

If you agree, you can do it and if not, then I invite you to comment and move on.

Life is good, the moments of joy must be taken advantage of because the moments of sadness always come, and those of worry as well. So my dear friends, let's try to be as happy as we can.

Let's write with passion, with freedom, with participation and with gratitude.

I thank all my dear followers, my apologies for the poor readings I gave these last days, thanks to causes beyond my control.

I also wish to thank my sponsors, thanks to the new sponsors who are adding me to their portfolio, to @ARTicLEE and @Bloghound and also to those who have resumed their sponsorship @Jane, @LykeLyca and @Mictorrani .

19
$ 8.28
$ 7.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Alther
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 15
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

Ehehe I thought you deliberately chose your username. As for mine I decided to not use Artgirl anymore since I haven't been doing any art lately. My username now is actually just a different version of my real name. 😊 It's what I use on other social media sites too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think I have seen that name on other platforms. I'll be on the lookout for it when I see it again over there. lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes I'm sure you have but I'm not active on both sites anymore. Well, only on Hive these days. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i usually go with junebride in both steemit and hive... i still blog there.. i have joined communities that help me earn. however, read is a different platform which is better, interface wise and earning wise...

my username here is from my baby boy matti. i use momentswithmatti as well in youtube

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Nababadtrip ako s Steemit, hassle n makakuha ng upvote. 😂 Buti pa sa Hive mas ok for me. 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

akuha ng upvote. 😂 Buti pa sa Hive mas ok for me. 😆

join ka sa steemjapan na group.. nakaka 1$ ako dun.. malaki na pag nakakaclaim ng .5sbd a day..ayos na un! yes sa hive ok din naman pero mas malaki kasi ang value ni sbd

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True mas malaki nga yun. Sige post ako sa Japan grp. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How nice that you are on those platforms, maybe we'll see each other sometime. I like your name with the little matti.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

u are on those platforms, maybe we'll see each o

thanks dear!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My username is basically my name. Christopher is my first name and Quincy is.. another. Kristoffer is just a stylish way of spelling Christopher. Initially wanted to use "Kristoffer" as my username here since it's my name on noisecash but read.cash says it's already taken. So far I haven't seen anyone here with that name, so I wonder who took it.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

There are many users that we are still unaware of. We don't know everyone so your name must be out there. It's long but it's understandable. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the username you used even your name is beautiful too. What does Gertudis means?

I have always used "Princessbusayo" on all platforms for easy recognition. My name in full is OluwaBusayo meaning "God added more Joy" and since we partially come from a royal family, I had to add Princess to my name which I now bear Princessbusayo till date.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Wow it's an honor to meet a royal person. This is a great platform. It was great to meet you princess.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oww now understands what with that username, mine is EUNOIA I just read this in the book actually not knowing the name haha, its like a book store on the book I read then I search what is the meaning and Boom, they called Eunoia is a wise man. If I will have a son in future I will give this as his name LOL...

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It is very good to know that you are a sage in name,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is what I wrote in my first post here

I go by the leeart in most of the blogging sites/apps that I joined, even in noise.cash. I used different handles in previous sites that I even forgot what were those. I am now using ARTicLEE here in read.cash. I signed up using leeart earlier but I made an error so I had to re-signed up. ART is the initials of my full name while LEE is the name of my partner. Since I have been using leeart, almost all call me LEE, which is fine. I interchanged the names and thought, since I will be writing articles here, why not make the word "article" fancier incorporating our names, s0, ARTicLEE is born.

I am back in Steemit as leeart but I will be posting my Actifit posts there. I didn't know that I can do that again not until LucyStephanie (or artgirl in Steemit) informed me about it.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Wow, I find out that there are others here who are on Steemit. There my nickname is not 13. Your pseudonym arrangement is very original. I don't know how you manage to remember them all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually, I already wrote an article about the reason of my nickname. Anyways, I choose Sequoia because I wanted it to represent me as a person. A big and strong.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What a good representation. Thank you for your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

in noise cash, i'm @wickedsoul. i've been asked several times too. wicked doesn't necessary mean bad or evil. these modern times, it could also mean, "cool" haha. i'm cool like that. i don't like complications.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I think your explanation is great. lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lol thank you. btw, glad you're feeling better now. good morning!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for that. I really feel like I never had anything. Thanks to God's mercy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My name here is quite complicated to explain honestly, but it came from a video game that I liked a lot from childhood until now. But my real name is Bryan. 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nice to meet you Bryan. it's easier than your pseudonym. lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey, Glad you're okay now. Drink water and stay hydrated 💪😁.

Anyways, I'm using my real name here. Or if I use a username from other platform I will just use whatever comes to my mind and that's it. I hate complications so I'd go with a simple and easy to remember one. Hehw

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you. Yes, I feel great. That's very comfortable and I like it. Don't complicate your life is my motto.

I am looking for a solution to my connection I no longer have internet daily only once in a while and everything is piling up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to meet you ma'am.❤️ I'm glad that you're okay now.🙏 Stay safe always maam. 🙏

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you very much Ramona.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank God you are feeling much better. I know you take care of yourself always, but I will continue to pray for your good health.

Zola is what I use in the virtual world. It is my mother's maiden name, and I just like the sound of it. Abundance is to attract it to my life.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's great!! may you have much abundance in your life.

Thank you for your good wishes for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad you're fine now my friend, its hard to get sick nowadays. So, boost up you immune system. Take care, doc!

Anyway, Lyca is my pen name, but my real name is Mai heheh! Completely different, eh! 😂

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It is a short and beautiful name. It's a pleasure to meet you Mai. Thanks for the good wishes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a very inspirational, I'm thinking of giving steemit a try, can you give me some tips about it? I actually did write an article about how I came up with my name. I can send the link here if you wanted to know how I came up with Lazysnail

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't really have much participation in Steemit. I write in a community called CCC but it gets very little support. But it is free writing from a topic and I like to write freely. you just write a minimum of 200 words and your images and that's it. Just for fun and to chat with others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad to know you feel better, and I hope you fully recover soon.

Coqui, in fact, is my real nickname since I was a child. I added the Coin when I started using platforms to earn money on the internet. My real name is Eliana;) Saludos!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Eliana is a pretty name and your nickname Coqui is to imagine why.
I got better the next day as if nothing ever happened to me. It is totally strange for a virus to act like that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's strange the virus but thank God you are fine and feel better now.

And the truth is that Coqui is the diminutive of my original nickname, which is Cocola. Maybe one day I can tell on a post, why this is my nick practically since I was a baby.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It would be exciting to read it. Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are always giving inspirational content that is why I got hooked by you 😁

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh my dear little girl you are such a lovely girl. God bless you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad to read you are out of the virus of yesterday and you're well now. It is amazing how our imagination can help us in difficult times, I salute you for having a great one :)

Reading how your username came about is interesting. It's so good of your son to help you with technicalities. When I signed up in noise cash, I was thinking about what to use and then "farmgirl" came into mind so that's how it started for me. We live in a farming town and surrounded by farms and it just rings true to me :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I love to plant. It is my other great passion. That's why I love reading your posts about harvesting and sowing. It's very original your username, farm girl.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh, glad to know you also love planting :) It's therapeutic although tiring at times. Thank you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I sow in pots, it is not so tiring to do it little by little, but the best thing is when you harvest. It's great to eat what we sow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh that's right. It's really a great feeling to harvest what you sow and eat them too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago