The Smith family.

52 60
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

This is a family of three, the father, Mr. Joseh Smith, is already 40 years old. He takes care of his work online. The office is a room in the house which they adapted to make a studio so that he can develop as an independent entrepreneur. Mrs. Smith is a woman of her home and takes care of her family, her husband and her daughter.

Sophia is an adorable little girl of only 9 years old who was always smiling and making her parents happy with her antics, every day she would go to her school and then come back in the afternoon to do her homework and then play with her dolls and outside in the garden.

The house is in the countryside, just 15 minutes away from the city, it was perfect to live in, surrounded by trees with their fruits and beautiful flowering plants. Near it is Sophia's favorite place, which was her swing. On it she spent many afternoon hours having fun with her cats and dogs.

Sophia's place was covered with green grass and her swing was on a very firm iron base that allowed her to swing hard and look up to the sky. There her imagination flew along with her and she flew very high among the clouds.

from unsplash

Her mother was happy to see her laughing out loud in her imaginary world and playing with her pets. From the kitchen her mother could hear her singing and laughing all the time, while Mrs. Smith took care of all the household chores.

Taking care of her husband and daughter was all she had ever dreamed of in life and she was very happy for this wonderful gift of life given to her.

Mrs. Smith prepared lunch and placed her three dishes on the table, she would leave lunch for her daughter to eat together when she returned home from school. Then Sophia would wash up and run into her father's study and get him out of his work to come out and sit at the table with them.

He would always wait for that time and make Sophia think that he didn't want to go out, she would then take his hand and lead him around, convincing him to share all the stories that happened to her at school. It’s then he would get interested and accompany them to the table. Every day it was the same and you could hear the laughter of the three of them at the table.

But at night the father had to stop by Sophia's room. She had always asked him, since she was a little girl, to come to her room when he left his studio to then cover her in her blanket, tuck her in, give her a kiss on the forehead and then sometimes she would ask him to stay for a while. He would curl up next to her for a moment before going to his room with his beloved wife. 

Sometimes Mr. Smith was so tired that when he stayed a moment in his daughter's bed he would fall fast asleep and in the morning his wife would wake him up with his daughter, and he would start his work day all over again.

Sophia would leave very early for school and would not see her father until the afternoon. Her mother would say goodbye to her until her return from school.

But several years have passed, almost 8 years now and things started to change. Mrs. Smith was now sad all the time, she cried while she was in the kitchen. She hardly went shopping in town anymore and all she did every day was going back and forth in her house, from one room to the other. She spent hours in each room, just sitting, imagining, thinking…

One morning it was very rainy. She got up and looking out the window at the falling rain she let her tears fall and began a lamenting monologue.

"Lord I thank you for this rain but it only reminds me of my sad loneliness. You know that nothing is the same in this house anymore…?

Sophia is no longer with me. She left that fateful day when she fell to the ground from her swing, her head hitting a small rock hidden in the lawn. By the time I realized I could no longer hear her laughter or her singing, I looked out the window and saw her on the ground, covered in red, inert. I could only scream. Her father came running out of his study and held her in his arms, while kneeling with her in his lap, he screamed. There was nothing to be done, nothing we could do.

Her father, my beloved husband, couldn’t stand her absence and ended her life. One afternoon when, I went to look for him in the studio as Sophia used to do, he was no longer with me. He was a cold body that had died of grief for the absence of his beloved daughter.

Now, my Father, I must live within these walls only with the memory of my beloved treasures, with their presence being only in spirit, in this home… For neither of them have wanted to leave, here they are and here they dwell.

They still believe they are alive and… ¿How can I take away their imagination? I talk to them when they talk to me, laugh at their jokes and chat when they show up… This is much more painful. I have 8 long years of living and dying for them.

…when you plan to take me with you, to spare me this great pain?”

This is a fictional story, I hope you enjoyed it and I thank you all for joining me in reading and commenting.

Thank you to all my sponsors and their sponsorship renewals. It’s always an honor to have you with me.

24
$ 14.78
$ 13.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @leejhen
+ 17
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

Aww. I love how you started the story but I felt sad by reading in the middle. Mother's love is indeed everything, plus the wife. I mean, in some places in the world, this might be possibly happening and it pains me just imagining it!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I hope this is not the case. It's sad to think it will actually happen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope so too 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So touching story of Mr. Smith family. Though the first half was so lovely to read the second half was totally shocking. Thank Almighty it's just fiction. Good going👍.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, it's good that you understand it that way. It's just my imagination for the reader's delight.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello bella!!! It is very sad that story. However, it is possible that someone in the world is living that story. I hope that is not the case.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hello dear, long time no see. I too hope my imagination doesn't step on the real thing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had some internet problems.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😭😭😭 That's heartbreaking. I felt the pain. Now I'll be thinking of this story when it rains. I wish there's no true to life story like this in your fiction. The pain of the mother and wife, that's unbearable.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I too hope that no such case occurs in any corner of the world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How sad. the daughter and her husband. very sad. Thank God it is a fictional story. Take care of yourself. Greetings to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, very sad. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my. Just sad that the wife has to endure living with them, not physically, thus hurting her more. Indeed, not a normal life at all.

Btw, I've checked the plant you told me and we have one in a pot too. Thanks again!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think if the story were real it would be a very miserable life, seeing them every day of their lives as if they were still alive and having to pretend not to notice. Sad.

How nice, then you can place the plant quietly in your room that will give you a good oxygen for your night.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why this is so sad 😭, I mean why the father is so selfish for leaving his wife alone. They can you know, make it if they are together. They will recover from that grievance for sure so why huehue. This is too painful 🤕

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I was just inspired by a sad story to get spirits out in the air, I didn't do it to hurt anyone, sorry.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This reminds me of a real story that I saw from a local documentary. But it's way more painful as she saw the loss of her 3 sons due to an illness and he already lost her husband years ago. After the loss of her 3rd son, she told that if this is a challenge from God, she would accept it and that gave her strength to move on.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ah ok, but that's an inspiring story you tell me. Mine is more of a tale of spirits in houses. Ghostly then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a sad story of true love in the family 😭 .. But shouldn't end it that way 😢 life is precious.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I wanted a story to have a house with spirits in it forever. This story has caused a stir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You made us emotional dear. Such a touchy story. Mr. Smith.... as if I had met that person in real life. 😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so sad ma'am..😔💔 I felt the pain. I suddenly tears while I'm reading this. 😔

You're such a great writer ma'am..❤️ have a nice day...❤️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm sorry it made you sad. Life always gives happy moments and sad moments. The idea was to feel those spirits living in the house forever.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This made my heart very heavy gertu 😢. I almost shed a tear. This is such a painful story. There are really things in our life that no matter how hard we try to search for its reason, we can't just find it and just immerse ourselves in the ocean of questions.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Life is full of happy moments but also of sad moments. What happens to some people does not necessarily happen to me. But we can empathize with their conditions. But this is just an introduction to the story of a house with spirits. something imaginary.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, I can feel how much Mr. Smith loved Sophia. Every father would love their daughters like a princess, so he must have felt that he lost everything on that day. I just wished that he can consider Mrs. Smith feeling now that she's left all alone in this cruel world. Such a great read.

I just found out about this platform for a month now and would like to make acquaintance with everyone here, yourself included. I hope that's okay with you, so I'll see you around : )

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are welcome. I'm flattered that you like the plot and not only see it through the eyes of grief but in the way of a writer imagining a pain in family tragedy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A sad and painful story. When I started to read it, I didn't imagine that it would end like this :(

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is science fiction. It may have happened in real life. But it's just my imagination left to run wild to create spirits in a house.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, you are good at writing sci-fi. You should do it more often.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I did it in the beginning. I have many such publications, fatalistic but then come the regrets. The public likes the Disney ones better. So I don't write much about ghostly imagination, now it's time for a nice fantasy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, you're right, people want to read happy things, and when faced with fatal things, many times they don't even know what to say. Well, you have to dabble in the genre of fantasy with a happy ending.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also dabbled in this type of fantasies. This is why I am telling you. They like it more not because they comment less but because they say it with less moaning. lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The story was really sad towards the end, o was moved. Sincerely. Didn't realise it was fictional until you mentioned it at the end. I really got emotional towards the end, the loneliness, the death of her daughter and husband committing suicide.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

A story to let the imagination move towards the ghostly world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a beautiful fiction, but sadly it had to end that way. But yes, life's like that. Happy days are numbered too, just as life.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I realized it as a story to get into the ghostly world. A lot of imagination of a lot of pain in the background of the plot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, mix of emotions into it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I enjoy the story gert. But sadden me that their life changes because of their daughter's death. Mrs smith life is so sad in that four walls of the house. I hope she could move on with life and make herself happy ones more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a fictitious story. Mrs. Smith just wants to die now and she will succeed. She is asking God for it. Seeing her family in spirit does not help her to forget. And she is alone in that house, alone with them. In the end she will be reunited with them too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May God forgive them for ending their life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

is fictitious, there is no guilt and no forgiveness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so sad. It has a beautiful start but sad ending. Sophia shouldn't have died. I hate it when a home filled with laughter and happiness would suddenly turned soar and sadness would feel it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I wanted to write a dramatic publication. But you're right it's a very sad thing. But life is like that. It has joyful moments and others that are not. I'm not depressed or anything like that. I just thought I'd write something about a house being haunted.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This so sad for the side of the mother who lost her daughter. I do hope you could recover the pain she went through. It just a matter of challenge in life , just hold on and never give up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I never expected such a tragic death, how sad.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is. It's a family of home-appearances.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

such a sad story... being a mother, I have a lot of fears and on of them is this mentioned in the story.. it hurts to read this

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's just one more story. As a mother we will never have peace of mind and we will never stop watching over our children's lives. My son is 21 years old and I still watch over his sleep. But this is a story to spark your imagination not for you to extrapolate to your loved ones. I am sorry to have caused you sadness, it is not my intention in writing my stories. I am sorry.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's true.. a mother will always be a mother... it's okay dear.that's how i felt reading this

$ 0.00
2 years ago