The celebration of a virtue.

41 57
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Greetings to my dear friends of read.cash, today I bring you a story I read long ago about why Valentine's Day is celebrated in so many parts of the world.

The Catholic Church, through the years, has left a legacy from generation to generation through its events, it is worth mentioning that this custom is based on the doctrine of the Catholic Church, the people, without making any distinction, adopted the custom because it represents love, the universal language.

From unsplash

Valentine's Day comes from a Catholic tradition since Roman times. It was a law of the emperor who ruled in those times that the soldiers didn’t marry because they thought that those distractions of having a family did not favor the soldiers who had to devote themselves completely to the protection of the Roman mandate.

According to this story a soldier met a woman who captivated him, the woman was of the prevailing religion, Catholic and then the woman wanted to get married because the tradition of well-constituted families had to follow their legacy by the Word.

There was a priest in Rome who operated secretly, seeing that young couples could fall into sin, and decided to marry couples clandestinely.

The girl who was very much in love told a friend and she told her what the priest was doing. The young couple looked for him, they arrived at a secluded part of town and in a more hidden part there was the priest's temple.

Seeing the young men, the priest married them according to the tradition of the church. When they were already married and were leaving the area, they saw some Roman soldiers arriving and they forced their way in, there they found the priest who was taken prisoner.

The punishment for disobeying the law of the Roman emperor was death. They asked the priest if he did not care about his life since he disobeyed a law of the empire and so he answered proudly...

"If my life is the price for preventing young lovers from falling into the sin established in the divine law, it is well worth it."

The priest, whose name was Valentine, was put to death for disobedience to the Roman emperor.

Over the years the Catholic Church maintained the legacy of this priest by performing clandestine marriages and eventually the tradition was that of the day of February 14, when the priest Valentine was executed, celebrated as the day of love, Valentine's Day. 

That is why today many people unknowingly pay tribute to St. Valentine who through his great dedication to follow the law of God allowed his name to endure through the centuries.

It’s a story that I have read several times, some more explanatory than others but all of them come to the same thing: The priest who gave his life to fulfill his mission before God.

This is supported by the anecdotes of the universal church that has in its doctrine to continue with the ancient traditions.

Thank you my dear readers I look forward to reading your comments on this. Thanks to all my voters, commentators and sponsors.

24
$ 8.14
$ 7.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @LykeLyca
+ 17
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

I'm glad I know this kind of story and I'm a Catholic person but I didn't knew this one. Thanks for sharing sis.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It often happens that we celebrate holidays but we don't know where they start from.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True! I just know only few just like Christmas eves. Then our national heroes in my country but this one is, I really really don't know.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't really heard the story untill now. The ones I heard portrayed that st Valentine died because of a lady🤔. Thank you for sharing this

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This story is recorded in the anecdotes of the Catholic Church. You may find different stories from other interested parties. Like the story of St. Nicholas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, that's very true.

People with different knowledge

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From now on, I will appreciate Valentine's Day more. In honor of a priest who did good deeds and sacrificed his life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The bad thing about this is that they have commercialized it. Nobody knows where this celebration was born or to whom it is paid tribute to, just buy, spend, give and all that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My friend honestly I had not heard about this story and that must be quite well known because it has to do with the Catholic church anyway I am part of a church that was restored from the Catholic church in the 1800's and today is a very strong church and spread all over the world; and I had not heard this beautiful story. I love it and I am glad to have read it in your article. Have a great hug from Venezuela.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

A big hug for you too, my friend. There are many writings about her. I have read it in more detail and less as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, so this is the story of Valentine.. I really don't know about it, however, before Valentine's day is not so popular, only recently that it has been overly commercialized.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

For as long as I can remember in my childhood this day has always been commercialized. Like all celebrations, there is always the maximum exploitation by mass consumption.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looking forward to trending a catholic church soon. Wanna see things from another perspectve.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Success.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Story behind Valentine is so touching. Appreciate the priest courage to perform the wedding and face the punishment

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That was the last wedding he celebrated. He had done it on the sly until he was discovered, but like everything else in those times, if he did not deny his faith he had to die.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very sad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oohhh, so it is n the Valentine's Day starts. Thanks for sharing this information gertu.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome my dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks for sharing the story of Valentine! indeed a story of love that should be celebrated :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome my Friend. We must know the good stories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This story is a legendary one that my mom always tell me when I was a kid and hearing this again now will never get old.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, it is old. From the time of the Romans, the story was already being told by word of mouth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Belated happy valentines Gertu, There are really some people who are too kind and willing to help and never botherd eventhough it would cost their life. Just like St Valentine.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

In the annals of the Catholic Church there are many stories where the lives of the saints are narrated because they gave their lives for the good of their neighbor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for sharing an excellent Catholic story

$ 0.01
2 years ago

A hug my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello friend, happy valentine's day. what a nice story, by chance yesterday I was thinking about why it is called that way but as I was so busy I forgot to research. it's good that I got your article that taught me something new this day.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hello friend. It's like the story of St. Nicholas at Christmas. He was also a priest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember telling this story to my non Catholic friend and she refused to believe lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It happens frequently. There is so much misinformation and it is rather to defame what is not known that people refuse to receive the truth. Saint Nicholas was also a priest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, he was! I do tell people about him too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's very good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is my first time hearing about Valentine's origin and history. Thank you so much, ate Gertu for sharing it with us. 💗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I heard about this story a long time ago when I was still very young that it has almost escaped my memory. The only thing that I remembered was that valentine was a priest.. I'm now glad i know the full story which is ofcourse beautiful . Thank you. And I don't think I would forget it ever again

$ 0.01
2 years ago

How nice. You must be missing a lot of details, maybe next year I will make a detailed inquiry.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you ma'am . I really would appreciate that🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is indeed a day of love, he died to protect the young lovers and he is celebrated too.. in this life, always do good and you'll be remembered greatly.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Stoic stories are always nice to know.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure they are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago