Let us value the work of others

27 53
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

There is something that has caught my attention and it is the way in which some people have the tendency to undervalue the work of others. Let me explain myself better.

I usually hear in places, in many places how people when asking for the price of items always have to say that it is expensive or they can simply ask for a discount.

When it is clear how much it costs to maintain a business of any kind, we do not stop to say that the products, and I am referring to handmade products. They all give a specific job that whoever creates them knows them.

There is a phrase that I have liked to repeat for a long time and it is the following.... "Ignorance is bold." I don't know if you have heard it but it is interpreted that when people don't know details about what they are talking about they err on the side of ignorance.

When you work in the kitchen to make cakes, pies, cakes, jams and then the craftsman puts the price according to the work that this has produced is so heartbreaking that someone comes and says it is very expensive, they need a discount or something like that.

From unsplash

In all honesty we should value the work of artisans, the work that people do to sell their products whether it is groceries, fruits, vegetables or simply any product for sale on a smaller scale.

We love to ask for discounts and rebates from small merchants and it is a mistake. They too struggle too much to survive an economy that is ever increasing and decreasing the income of the common citizen.

These same buyers, when they go to the wholesale stores, buy their products from the companies that produce on a large scale, that have a privileged position in the market but there when they buy what they need they don't ask for discounts or complain about expensive products so they don't pay.

We have the option to go elsewhere and buy in other places where the products are already more discounted without having to belittle the effort of the small producer. He also fights against inflation.

We always complain about everything. We are not satisfied with anything. It seems that in our way of seeing things, everyone is selling products against us to make us even poorer.

I know a friend of mine who doesn't ask for a discount and just goes from one place to another asking for prices and then goes and buys from one side some products and in other sides the rest. This way she does not disqualify the product of a small merchant and buys in several places in a more economical way.

When we have ingrained habits within us it is difficult to overcome them and this way of living, asking for a discount at all times and in all places is a way of life. I don't know what your habit is but If I know how much a product costs to make and then someone comes and says...

"I'll buy you two and you give me a discount."

It's my habit to say...

"You get one free if you buy me a dozen more not for two."

Profits are not given away because what's the point of selling if you are going to give away what you will earn.

My way of seeing things is to treat the small merchant with respect and consideration, let's not devalue the small businessman, let's give him our support by buying his products at the right price. It will be the way to help him in his economy without belittling his efforts.

It is a very personal way and I respect the customs of the people and their people. I only add what I personally think and do.

I am @gertu13 from Venezuela to the world

19
$ 5.74
$ 5.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @pajeroz
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 14
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Comments

It's always very hard for me to ask for discount from sellers. If I have enough cash on me, I tell them to keep the change. My own way of encouraging them to stay in what they are doing.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I think this is a very good choice to support them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As human beings, it is very difficult for us to evaluate the work of others, because we are busy criticizing others. We always humiliate the lower castes to show our power.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It is very sad to recognize what you say but it is true. We feel so good when we belittle the efforts of others. When will we grow out of our petty mentality.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In our country Nepal, the marked price is 300% above the cost price, whether it be small or bigger, no matters here all are hungry for profit. I respect your words and felling but believe me we can't buy at theirs prices, that's the thing.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Each region has its own type of merchants, they will know why they do such usury to the people. Here are not all the places where they take advantage of the user. Here there are many people in solidarity and the small merchant is the one I am referring to and I buy from him.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes it is heartbreaking wen people do not see the EFFORT behind something produced by small enterprises. I, too, do not ask for discounts and I would even ask if they were not charging too little for their product when I see it to be really good.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

There are very few people in solidarity with the needy my dear friend. The vast majority take advantage of the needs of others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People should stop asking for discounts, especially at small merchants. If they thinking expensive, then they must find another store.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It should be so but we are always looking for ways to trample on others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is really sad, Mon loves to ask for discount and when I told her that maybe that seller is also struggling to even have those, she wont listen and still do what she wants. Aigooi I feel sorry to some of them tbh.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It is a habit in the mentality of some people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i am sad to read this because in the Philippines, we love discount and to ask discount again to the seller. some sellers would agree, and others are not.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

This happens in many countries. There is a mentality that some need more than others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When we learn to respect people, we would see the value they being to the environment and our life. Also there are things some seller do in my area, I try to get things from all the trader, though most of them sell same product, so if I get from miss A today, I would get from Miss B tomorrow, and when I get from Miss C, you would see Miss A or B accuse me of not getting product from them.. It really a turn off for me

$ 0.02
1 year ago

This is also the case here. The traders want to have us all to themselves. hehehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah😂😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is strange that more often than not, those products that were handmade by the small businessman usually don?t have much profit margin because the difference between the sell price and the cost price isn't so much. Out of the fear that people will not patronize them. At least, that is how it is in my parts of the world.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I believe this is the case in many parts of the world. The effort is a lot because it is manual and the reward is little.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's like a normal thing to us and most of these vendors will now increase the price so the buyer won't beat less than the least price they want to sell it, cause if they say the direct price, the buyer will feel like the price is too high even when they know that is the normal price.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

But it also happens that if they increase the price too much, they run the risk that they will not buy from him but from the neighboring merchant because he has it cheaper. It is a double-edged sword to try to do that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That discount is actually a mind tricks. A goods that's was initially bought for 5$ would be sold at 20$ but a so called discount of 20%. Even more gains are made

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It depends on who has the discount if it is the small artisan or the big businessman. The one who has more economic power will raise his prices many times up to 100% but the small businessman raises is a small amount to get the investment and continue working.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

this often happens in real life, basically a buyer will tend to a cheap but quality price so that expensive goods are not a priority but one thing we must remember as buyers is the sacrifice and struggle of a seller who may be very difficult to provide his merchandise. we may only see the price but not see the effort and struggle.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, it is true. People don't see what's behind a good product. Let's be aware.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can say that I didn't ask for discounts when I am buying in our local supermarket. But, I will only go to supermarkets where they offer discount themselves

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's the same thing I do. The supermarkets that sell cheap are the ones I visit.

$ 0.00
1 year ago