Living in Chronic Pain

16 50
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago

Good morning guys. Today is another one of those days where I woke up at 4 in the morning with numb, tingling, and painful arms and hands. This is due to an injury I sustain last year from nursing an MS(Multiple Sclerosis) patient. I am not quite sure of the nature of this injury. It feels like nerve impingement but it could be other things. All I know is it originates from my shoulder and it somehow messes up my arm circulation. Sometimes unilaterally and sometimes bilaterally. Sometimes it causes my fingers so much numbness I can barely control them. I did try to have it fixed last year. 3 expensive sessions with a chiropractor and some acupuncture which seemed to have worked temporarily.

Image from Unsplash

Unfortunately, the nature of the nursing job is not very good for a mortal human's back. If you remembered a couple of days ago we had a work place accident and l was taking care of that lady who dislocated a shoulder. While I was busy immobilising her arms and shoulder, I somehow unknowingly caused strain to my past injury. And now my tingles are back with a vengeance! It has been 4 days in a row now of disturbed sleep. And my body is really feeling the exhaustion.

I really want to see the GP doctor as soon as I can, but my work schedule is in conflict with it. Tomorrow was supposed to be a day off, which I badly needed, but my manager wanted me to come for an important training, which I also did not want to miss. Hence, pushing back my GP visit dreams. Since I am new in this part of town I would need to register to a GP first before I can even book an appointment. So if I manage to register on Thursday, the soonest I can be seen should be next week crossing my fingers. I am really hoping it can be fixed properly this time around. I am still 31 turning 32 but I have aches of a senior citizen.

On the upside, UK healthcare is free. In Guernsey, every visit to the GP was 55£ and the GP does not even do a lot of tests there. With the NHS here in UK it is free. Hopefully, my future GP can diagnose me properly and get me the cure I deserve so I could nurse for a couple more years and serve humanity.

Bottomline, I really feel for people who suffer chronic pain. It is not easy to have pain as a norm. It takes a toll not only physically but emotionally too. So I really understand how some chronically ill people are more grumpy. It's the pain, the hopelessness, and the lack of sleep. I know there are some worst cases than mine out there and I do feel bad whining about just a none deadly shoulder pain. I hope modern medicine can advance further that we may rid of these chronic illnesses better and more effectively.

13
$ 0.56
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 6
Sponsors of flapiz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Oh no. I hope you get that looked at before it gets worse.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you. I hope so too. Trouble is finding the time to do so as I work long shifts on week days.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sad to hear that sissy, please take care of yourself whenever you get some time don't forget to take rest, your body and mind both needs rest.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Truly. I am really exhausted sissy. I need a proper sleep without pain.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry to hear of your ailment friend. I hope you get the time to see GP. I know MS very well my wife has been struggling with it for almost 20 years.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Oh bless her and you. It is not easy. Is she able to stand? My patient was bed ridden and can only move his mouth and hand. It was sad and hard.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She can stand and get around house holding onto things. Outside home wheel chair bound.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It is quite a challenge. From your posts I can see that your family is coping well with MS. You take care of her well and work really hard. Such resilience and commitment is hard to come by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

praying for your fast recovery, then sana makapag pacheck kana din pag may free time

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Got the registration forms today hoping to get this sorted as soon as.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sorry about it, I hope modern medicine can advance further that we may rid of these chronic illnesses better and more effectively. It will help

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I really hope to sort this out quickly as it is becoming a liability.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

sorry to hear that sis... unta makavisit naka soon and unta in ana sa pinas ba free..hayz... pain is really ugly...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Unta lagi sis layo layo pa ra ba gyud ang retirement.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My lower back hurts most of the time because of my mild scoliosis and I feel like it worsened when I gave birth and had a C-section. There were times that I usually cry it out because of the pain. I can't just take pain reliever because it literally puts me sleep while I need to take care of my baby. Been wanting to go to a chiropractor too but it's too expensive.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Oh I do feel this. It is even harder for you with the little one to consider too. I do hope you can save up for a chiropractor it does work wonders but yeah it also makes the pocket empty.

$ 0.00
1 year ago