My favorite supermarket and my recipe for Venezuelan pabellon criollo, Bon appetit!

35 88
Avatar for carolinacardoza
2 years ago

Greetings to all my dear friends of #Read.cash, this weekend I have been a little busy, at home we have continued the remodeling work and we have finally painted the walls, it's amazing how the house changes with a simple color, now everything looks cleaner and tidier; I know there is still much to do but step by step everything is happening as planned, this Sunday I decided to rest to go shopping for the pantry and I also wanted to rest a little for tomorrow to continue.

Today I visited my favorite place to shop for groceries and meats, its name is "Hipermercados Plazas" and it is located in Guatire, main avenue of Castillejo, Municipality Zamora of Miranda State, in Venezuela.

This supermarket is very clean and tidy, also has a very friendly and polite staff. The products are always top quality and the prices are affordable as far as they can be. The place has become famous among my friends and we always comment on the quality of the product and their bargain prices. Here I usually buy meat, fish and things from the perfumery and pharmacy, and I also get groceries at a good price, for example today we got oil and flour at a good price. Another thing I like is the timetable since they work from 8 in the morning until 8 at night.

This Sunday I cooked the meat I bought to make a pabellon criollo, this recipe is our typical national dish, we have all been raised with this dish since we were born and that is why we like it so much. Today I wanted to elaborate the original recipe, I just hope you like it and put it into practice.

The Caraotas

To prepare the caraotas I like to first clean them to remove any stones or sticks that may come with them, then I put them in water the night before so that they soften quickly when cooking them. I also learned this from my grandmother's book of secrets. The next day we wash them and put them to cook in the pressure cooker with plenty of water for about half an hour. Meanwhile we chop the seasonings for the stew.

Stew

Someone once told me that the main ingredient in every meal is LOVE and I think he is right, so when you prepare a meal like this, put a lot of desire and patience so that everything turns out very well.

We chop everything we have in the fridge, except tomato, because the beans can become acidic very quickly. So we add garlic, chives, onion, chili bell pepper, paprika, we fry all that and add salt, adobo and cilantro.

Fry the garlic first and then add the rest, leave it there for a few minutes and when the beans are ready, add the sofrito and some smoked bones or chops in pieces, add salt and let it cook for a few more minutes.

Meat is cooked

I always have to wait until the beans are in the pressure cooker to assemble the meat, this meat that we buy to make the pavilion is called beef brisket, it is special for chopping into strips, so I put it in the pressure cooker and let it cook for about half an hour, my mom taught me that the meat must be seasoned to taste while cooking, then I put what I can or I have, for example chives, celeri, cilantro, chili bell pepper. For the carene sauce we can add tomato, enough tomato so that the sauce is juicy and tasty.

We chop all the other ingredients while the meat cooks, I prefer to grate the tomato and the onion and the rest I put chopped in squares since I like to see it in the meat, but if not you can blend it. We fry all the seasoning, first frying the garlic so that the oil gets impregnated with its flavor, then we incorporate the other seasonings and let it fry for a few minutes.

When the meat is ready, let it cool and cut it into strips, then mix it with the stew and add a little of the meat broth, add salt, pepper, marinade and whatever you like to add. Let it cook for a few minutes to dry a little and that's it.

As I told you before, the pabellon is served with white rice and slices. Each region serves it in a different way, for example in the east of the country they sprinkle sugar on top at the moment of eating, on the other hand in the west we like it quite spicy and in the center of the country they like it well watered down as if it were soup.

I hope you liked my recipe; thank God here at home they have devoured it and of all this day I will keep the compliment of my son Israel who told me _Mom, of all the food you make, this is the best! for now I say see you soon, take care of yourselves and remember: put flavor to life!


Sponsors of carolinacardoza
empty
empty

18
$ 12.87
$ 12.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 8
Avatar for carolinacardoza
2 years ago

Comments

My favorites bandanas! I hope to taste such a dish from your country!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm.. Its looks like delicious.. Maybe next time if you write recipe please put the ingredients.. Not only the procedure.. I like to cook it also but I dont know the other ingredients. By the way nice article!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amazing article there 💯💯

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amazing! Venezuelan culture is so beautiful! Venezuelan food looks delicious. I like cooking so I'm gonna try this recipes. Thanks you so much for sharing!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Here they sell a very good meat that makes your pabellon very tasty, it is more or less economical and makes you want to eat more and more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow so nice. Looks good. I'll try this soon. It just look so yummy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, I can tell you that if you add a few hot peppers, it will be much better, I love spicy peppers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i am thinking of anything that could be equivalent to that in our country but I can't think of any...

this one though looks really appetizing and white rice please!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would like to know from which country you are from to compare. In colombia for example they make something very similar, they call it bandeja paisa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

would like to know from which country you are from to compare. In colombia for example they make something very similar, they call it bandeja paisa.

i am from the philippines

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that looks so delicious, I wanna try that too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And me too, hehehehehe. it's so tasty that it disappears very quickly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really looks colourful, must taste very well also. As you are preparing it with the said ingredient called love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That ingredient gives flavor to everything, I guarantee it. heheheheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations my friend. I haven't been to a supermarket for a long time. Yummy. And that food was a brother's favorite. It looks very tasty.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been there lately, and it seems to me that everything has changed a lot, especially the prices, hehehehehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, these prices are always changing, but only to go up. They do not go down. Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is called white rice, with stew and plantain here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How delicious, it really is a very complete dish. In colombia they put pork, fried arepas, and the tray is bigger.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This food is inviting me ooo, can I come and have my part of the food

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course, in my house people are always welcome, the bad thing is that you will like my seasoning so much that you won't want to leave.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwn😇😇😇thats good

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This food looks so yummy, I'm drooling already.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So beautiful. you'll have to go shopping for the ingredients to make it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, seems like so yummm. Can I taste it? Now I know how this pabellon cook.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like to add a few hot peppers, especially to meat, it looks much better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aweee it really taste so yumm. I'm pepper lover also🤤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love is the most important ingredient in cooking, and Pabellon looks fantastic. Now I want to make some beans!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You'll have to invite me when you do, hehehehehe, happy evening.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe this weekend I shall 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would definitely love to have a taste of this delicacy, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You'll have to come to Venezuela then and I'll prepare it for you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I wouldn't mind at all 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hola Carolina! I haven't done Pabellon in a while. I think you've given me a craving, hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How nice to encourage you friend, if you do it invite me, hehehe, I hope it's very good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago